Posted
6 hours ago, John Demonic said:

Nah I want a fresh Tasmanian team, they would be most peoples affectionate 2nd team we all want to see succeed and rooting for the Roos is just too unpalatable.

My masterplan for the comp includes 20 teams, 19 round season, 10 team finals series and so North moving to Tassie disrupts that. Fresh Tassie team and another team somewhere else please.

Barnawartha Norf?

Posted
8 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Barnawartha Norf?

Tangambalanga North. Then in two years merge with Upper Kumbucta West and become the ' Who gives a flying f... North.

Posted
On 5/25/2019 at 8:18 AM, Dee Zephyr said:

If they want draft picks, Brown is probably the best trade value in that team. A few experts think he’s only worth a late first round pick at best. Where do you rate him 58? Sorry to sidetrack.

One of the best full forwards going around. Has his weaknesses as best man in man not in  packs but it's all about getting good forwards in the six  positions with the defenders taking the one two and if needed three talls.

Brown is accurate, a good to very good mark, but is not good on the ground. Tommy Mac can still play his role and IMO Weid would still be able  to play most games or Pruess swap to give Maxie some rest.

Its all about options and depth and 3 quick smalls (crumbers and runners) to choose between (Like Tigers or Eagles) plus Trac Melk Hannan Lockhart and ABN if fit gives variety and depth.

Would need to pay Brown $750,000 about to leave but for all of Jesses potential and fluster this would be a quick fix worth looking at plus a new forward Coach mandatory in this plan.

Posted
1 minute ago, 58er said:

One of the best full forwards going around. Has his weaknesses as best man in man not in  packs but it's all about getting good forwards in the six  positions with the defenders taking the one two and if needed three talls.

Brown is accurate, a good to very good mark, but is not good on the ground. Tommy Mac can still play his role and IMO Weid would still be able  to play most games or Pruess swap to give Maxie some rest.

Its all about options and depth and 3 quick smalls (crumbers and runners) to choose between (Like Tigers or Eagles) plus Trac Melk Hannan Lockhart and ABN if fit gives variety and depth.

Would need to pay Brown $750,000 about to leave but for all of Jesses potential and fluster this would be a quick fix worth looking at plus a new forward Coach mandatory in this plan.

Sorry meant AVB  not ANB 

and man on man not man in manMeant!!

Posted
On 5/25/2019 at 8:19 AM, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

I do wounder if Eddie gets his way and Weid wants to follow in the family tradition at the Pies, if something like Collingwoods first round pick and Melbourne's second round one would get Sideshow Bob to the Demons?

Sorry for my ignorance but who is Sideshow Bob a mythical full forward?

Posted
2 minutes ago, 58er said:

so you are the one who doesnt watch the simpsons

Posted
33 minutes ago, 58er said:

Simpsons reference to Ben Brown. Sideshow Bob is this guy: 

yjcE-Yhu9SSd2Anmac2iafgi11zocV1gt135R9k6

Posted
19 hours ago, SPC said:

Would like him as an assistant at Melbourne. He loves his players, is tactically sound, has done okay with some really poor lists. 

Good suggestion.

Posted

Clearly an embarrassing nut.
Wouldn't touch him.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Why's the president of one football club stirring up trouble at another one?

????   E'd,  everywhere again,  'MR'.??? 

He can stiff a stiff,  from upwind.    Is he into Nth again.?   Wants to pick some bones,  before they go Sth.?

Posted

I like Brad Scott as an assistant coach  if there was a chance of luring him to Melbourne he would surely help to toughen the list of young talent that we have not the same as being at the Roos.  Anything to get better. Take it as you like IMO he leaves with dignity and he did his best and now North have to find the right fit again.

Norths loss is someone else's gain. Why not chase him?

Posted
10 hours ago, nosoupforme said:

I like Brad Scott as an assistant coach  if there was a chance of luring him to Melbourne he would surely help to toughen the list of young talent that we have not the same as being at the Roos.  Anything to get better. Take it as you like IMO he leaves with dignity and he did his best and now North have to find the right fit again.

Norths loss is someone else's gain. Why not chase him?

Because he wants to be The senior coach.

Doesn't make sense for him to take an assistant role for 2-4 years.  Better off taking a 'gap' year and see what comes up.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Doesn't make sense for him to take an assistant role for 2-4 years.  Better off taking a 'gap' year and see what comes up.

Agree but he might be interested in a "director of football role."

If we were to appoint one with a meaningful role it could help in improving the coaching standard. At the start of the season I posted that we needed to see improvement and more consistency from the coaching staff. They appear to have gone backwards on so many levels.... selection, 6-6-6, variable gameplans and of course that most important area ... psychological management.

This season has been woeful not because of injuries but because of the drop off in form by so many of the non injured senior players. That strikes me as a systemic issue.

Posted
1 minute ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Agree but he might be interested in a "director of football role."

If we were to appoint one with a meaningful role it could help in improving the coaching standard. At the start of the season I posted that we needed to see improvement and more consistency from the coaching staff. They appear to have gone backwards on so many levels.... selection, 6-6-6, variable gameplans and of course that most important area ... psychological management.

This season has been woeful not because of injuries but because of the drop off in form by so many of the non injured senior players. That strikes me as a systemic issue.

I have long argued on here for a 'Director of Football' ie someone who sits on the Board who has 'football' as their portfolio.  He is the person the Board expect to be across football strategy and performance.  At the moment the responsibility to the Board is shared between Pert and Mahoney. 

The last Director of Football we had was Greg Healy.   GWS have Jimmy Bartel and Carlton have Chris Judd.  Not sure what other clubs do.

From my reading of the Scott situation, he wants another Senior Coaching gig. 

But am totally with you in the need for a Director of Football and/or a Neil Balme type in the Football Department.

Posted

Scott would have to accept that his senior coaching days are over before he came to us or any other club as an assistant. I don't think he's there yet. (And in truth, it's too early to tell either way.)

Do we know he'd be any better as a director of football?  Would prefer someone who has runs on the board from coaching, or managing, at a successful club.

Posted
13 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Scott would have to accept that his senior coaching days are over before he came to us or any other club as an assistant. I don't think he's there yet. (And in truth, it's too early to tell either way.)

Do we know he'd be any better as a director of football?  Would prefer someone who has runs on the board from coaching, or managing, at a successful club.

While I don't know him Balme struck me as the perfect director of football. Smart, able to communicate and good management skills.

Scott's persona as portrayed in the media is perhaps a little more tunnel visioned than I would have wanted for the role but there is no doubt that the right person in the role provides the glue. The role of the CEO is to stay out of the football department unless systemic issues require intervention.

The one role that is becoming less defined as the years go by is that of head coach.

Posted

Brad Scott said over the weekend he wanted to spend more time with his wife and family. 

Does that mean he wants another Senior Coaching job? I would say not for a while, unless he is spinning rubbish, because he already has a gig lined up. 

He would be a great assistant if possible, i get the feeling that Goodwin is struggling big time. Tactically and Stress levels. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Brad Scott said over the weekend he wanted to spend more time with his wife and family. 

Does that mean he wants another Senior Coaching job? I would say not for a while, unless he is spinning rubbish, because he already has a gig lined up. 

He would be a great assistant if possible, i get the feeling that Goodwin is struggling big time. Tactically and Stress levels. 

That's the template for all coach and politician leaving speeches...

He will spend some time for a few months and be back as senior coach somewhere after this season is over for some club if not before.

Posted
2 minutes ago, rjay said:

That's the template for all coach and politician leaving speeches...

He will spend some time for a few months and be back as senior coach somewhere after this season is over for some club if not before.

If he wants another 80 hour a week job

Posted
28 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

If he wants another 80 hour a week job

He's a career coach mate, of course he does.

Posted
5 minutes ago, rjay said:

He's a career coach mate, of course he does.

He has already done 10 years, that is a long job for a coach. It wouldn’t suprise me if he takes an assistant job to dilute  the responsibilities and day to day pressures

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

What if we had him for the year as an assistant.  He would give our young boys some good knowledge about the game and every little bit would help.  It won't stop him applying for a senior position anywhere else LH. Gap year or not someone will have his services sooner rather than later. Senior or assistant. HE IS A COMPETITIVE BEAST.

I just want a touch of that on some of our boys.

Edited by nosoupforme
Posted

The old parting by mutual agreement huh?  Isn't that what you say when your girlfriend dumps you and don't want to admit it?

Brad's PR team are doing well here but if the Club thinks it's time to part ways it doesn't really matter if the coach agrees or not. Scott was sacked after being at the club for 10 years, having a bit of crack of creating an elite team and failing and now having a bottom 4 team to pass on.  If this was really planned and mutually agreed, they would have a successor or replacement ready.  they have traded so many draft picks just to stay around 9th spot, and now you can count the number of good players they have under 24yo on one hand. maybe even on a camel's toe!

Posted

lots of speculation that north will look to ship out mid-level to senior experienced players in order to get draft picks in, but who would you look at?

• luke davies-uniake: no way they're giving up a high pick at this stage, despite how ordinary he looks (20 at start of 2020 season)
  • ben cunnington: workhorse who just wracks up the ball and quietly goes about his business (28)
  • jy simpkin: talented but doesn't work nearly hard enough defensively (22)
  • jared polec: one year in a big money deal, there's no way they'd trade him out (27)
  • tarryn thomas: one of their few young talents on their list, again no way they'd trade him (20)
  • ben brown: key forward who is good in the air and a deadeye [censored] but a liability at ground level (27)

basically i don't think there's much on their list to poach from tbh

it would seem that they'll have a complete changeover in their footy department, but i don't know who of the below may appeal to 'freshen up' our approach?

• brad scott: tactically astute but something about the scott twins has already rubbed me the wrong way
  • gavin brown: senior assistant who has been at collingwood and carlton previously
  • darren crocker: director of coaching and midfield coach, i guess he could be a similar like-for-like with brendan mccartney?
  • aaron greaves: head of player development, literally joined this year along with the two port players he brought with him
  • rhyce shaw: defensive coach, was pretty highly regarded over the previou four years at swans, has just joined the kangas this year
  • jared moore: stoppage coach, they're terrible at stoppages so now way you'd look at him
  • leigh tudor: forwards coach, another senior assistant coach who seems to have been around for ages, having served at swans, saints and cats prior to joining the kangas in 2013

tbh, i think we'll probably be looking for someone to replace mccartney, so i guess from that perspective those such as crocker and tudor may hold some appeal