Posted

I don't think our situation is anywhere near as bad as it seems. Our aim is to win the Premiership, to do this we need to beat a WCE or Colliingwood in GF, to be able do this we need to to win at least two finals and to do this we need to win at least 12/13 games with healthy percentage.

We can win the next 3 while improving to then take on Richmond for Anzac Eve and then we are 4 - 2 and back on track, with Lever, J Smith, Vanders and Hannan to work back in and establish in our best 22. All is not lost. 

Posted
39 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

And we were still able to generate an absolute bucketload of inside 50s against the Cats, which says that we're headed in the right direction in terms of how we want to play the game.  We just need the connection between the mids and forwards to catch up.

That better happen soon Wise.  At this point the mid field is stuck between a rock and a hard place.  They might have to kick a winning score off their own boot this Friday and flood the backline whenever the OP gets the pill!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

That better happen soon Wise.  At this point the mid field is stuck between a rock and a hard place.  They might have to kick a winning score off their own boot this Friday and flood the backline whenever the OP gets the pill!

I don't disagree.  It does need to happen soon.  I think we'll be able to work it out, but can we do it well enough to make our mark on 2019?  Time will tell.

Posted
27 minutes ago, chookrat said:

I don't think our situation is anywhere near as bad as it seems. Our aim is to win the Premiership, to do this we need to beat a WCE or Colliingwood in GF, to be able do this we need to to win at least two finals and to do this we need to win at least 12/13 games with healthy percentage.

We can win the next 3 while improving to then take on Richmond for Anzac Eve and then we are 4 - 2 and back on track, with Lever, J Smith, Vanders and Hannan to work back in and establish in our best 22. All is not lost. 

24 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Nothing like starting Monday morning with a good dose of demonland to cheer me up.

Chook did you miss Rat's post!??

Posted
23 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

I don't disagree.  It does need to happen soon.  I think we'll be able to work it out, but can we do it well enough to make our mark on 2019?  Time will tell.

Thinking we might be a bridge too far in terms of getting enough quality / match fitness & form back within enough time to make up lost ground Wise.

Stating the obvious but Friday is break through or bust if we are to have any hope of doing a minor Lazarus.

Posted

We had 9 players with less than 10 disposals - that is alarming by any measure. Our backline in particular is slow, loose and full of poor decision makers. Lots to change if any games are to be won.

Posted

I think that like most MFC supporters I am feeling a little like a punch drunk fighter going into the final round. None of us really saw this coming.Losses perhaps but not the haymakers of blows that we have suffered.

Anyway in the spirit of optimisim I have adopted this classic song as my MFC theme song for the season.Let's hope it holds true.

Posted (edited)

Again the AFL depends on us to prop up the rest of the league. Don’t worry, this all part of the master plan and we will eventually win a game. 

Posted
18 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

Home sweet home.

It is an insulting embarrassment that the MFC are the team who cannot do any worse this season. 

Posted
5 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

There are 5 undefeated sides in the league and we're the only one to have played two of them.

Not sure if chicken or egg, but still.

We've been easybeats for the past 2 weeks.  

It will change quickly.    We already started to find some form in individuals at Geelong.   Others will follow this trend, and then team belief will start to rise.

Posted
52 minutes ago, DV8 said:

We've been easybeats for the past 2 weeks.  

It will change quickly.    We already started to find some form in individuals at Geelong.   Others will follow this trend, and then team belief will start to rise.

Why will it change...if our style doesn't.

We will only be competitive against teams with poor defence. Any team with a good one will create the same headache we've started the year with.

Our current plan A not only won't win finals now...it won't get us near them

And remember...we have NO B !!

Posted
49 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Why will it change...if our style doesn't.

We will only be competitive against teams with poor defence. Any team with a good one will create the same headache we've started the year with.

Our current plan A not only won't win finals now...it won't get us near them

And remember...we have NO B !!

Because of our better players returning to form,  and Our coaches are not that set in concrete.  They are more open minded than that, so they will tweak our gamestyle to suit what is happening around us, so far this season.

This combination of things,  plus we will slowly introduce some injured talents back into our lineup.

We are a top 9 team, purely on talent now... and good form will take us into the top 7_   from there, it will depend on our Mix of things, going right.

Posted
6 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Best post in the last 36 hours.  It’s delivery into the forward 50. Smart footy.  We created more chances.  Our conversion was disgraceful.  

And what about the embarrassing ease with how Geelong got their 20 goals in the wet.

Posted

There are better early draft picks down here and it is more familiarly territory. Someone should start a thread on 2019 early draft prospects!

Posted
2 minutes ago, old dee said:

There are better early draft picks down here and it is more familiarly territory. Someone should start a thread on 2019 early draft prospects!

Someone has ?.  WJ knew what was going to happen this year and got in early!!

Posted
10 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Someone has ?.  WJ knew what was going to happen this year and got in early!!

Thanks LH. Should I start thinking bottom four?

Posted
1 hour ago, DV8 said:

Because of our better players returning to form,  and Our coaches are not that set in concrete.  They are more open minded than that, so they will tweak our gamestyle to suit what is happening around us, so far this season.

This combination of things,  plus we will slowly introduce some injured talents back into our lineup.

We are a top 9 team, purely on talent now... and good form will take us into the top 7_   from there, it will depend on our Mix of things, going right.

I must be watching a different team. Our coaches have built a team which is all and only about about the inside contest. It's all gladiatorial stuff. We haven't an outside game. We don't really have the players for that "style's.

So I'm not as convinced as your good self that this FD are particularly open-minded. In fact I'm inclined to think they're the absolute opposite and only budge from their road of thought begrudgingly..

Time will tell.

We might have a bit if talent but I don't see a game plan that's going to win a GF...not now.

We're one way flat track bullies in a way.

We've lost the ability to cover our backsides...and we can't kick a sausage to save ourselves.

Quite frankly we're an embarassing mess at the moment.....and cherry ripe for picking over by any team with aspirations and better coherency.

I concede I often have a very different view from many here.I don't shy from it 

I'm so reminded of Icarus.

Posted (edited)
38 minutes ago, old dee said:

Thanks LH. Should I start thinking bottom four?

Not yet od.  If we go 2-3 after round 5 bottom of the 8 is doable.  Otherwise, I reckon 9-11.

Need to get AVB, Hannan and Lever back but they are unlikely for a few months.   Season may be over by the time they are all back.  If so, then it is tanking time??and yeah, think bottom 4!!? but Goodwin won't let that happen?.

Posted

The 666 rule certainly hasn't helped.
Which is perfect timing for us as usual.
And we've been butchers going into the forward 50 for a hell of alot longer than 12mths.
No goals come easy, its all a rugby scum till someone manages to scrub one through.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Not yet od.  If we go 2-3 after round 5 bottom of the 8 is doable.  Otherwise, I reckon 9-11.

Need to get AVB, Hannan and Lever back but they are unlikely for a few months.   Season may be over by the time they are all back.  If so, then it is tanking time??and yeah, think bottom 4!!?

9-11

Another disastrous season the ?

Posted

I just go back to walking out of the G after we beat Hawthorn to book a prelim all happy along with tousands of other melbourne fans. If someone had said to me then you would start next season 0-2 including losing to port r1 and you would be on the bottom of the ladder, I wouldn't have believed it. 

But I guess the only way is up. Which would be great to start this friday night. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

And what about the embarrassing ease with how Geelong got their 20 goals in the wet.

So as I read it...the forward line is dysfunctional.

The backline undermanned and either ill directed...or clueless.

Then there's the midfield...just the one side of a coin there .

And the fabric that binds it all together...a distinctly one dimension black and white instructional sheet.

Yippee Ki yay fellow Demons... happy days are here again, the skies above are bleak again, let's drown ourselves in beer again, happy days...are.....here again.

Normal services have resumed.