Posted
5 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

As did GCS.  They demanded a top 5 ish pick because they knew they would get it this year as an FA comp pick when he left. 

Ignoring his fitness and injury issues, without that FA comp pick there is no way he would have been valued a top 5 pick by clubs.  I reckon it would be more like mid teens pick at best.  We fell for it or were desperate or both.  Sure we needed a big defender but we surely over compensated GCS.

I guess it is easy in hind sight LH but YES!

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, old dee said:

I guess it is easy in hind sight LH but YES!

tbh, I and others on DL thought it at the time when no other clubs were in the frame at anywhere near a top 5 pick.

Posted
3 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Or one of the worst at doing our due dilligence?

Need to apply the Edgar test on any potential trade...

True 

Posted

Kade Kolodjashnij | Concussion – TBA

“We’re taking it pretty slowly with Kade because he’s obviously had a pretty solid history with these types of concussions. He’s still not out running just yet but he’s doing some work in the gym on the spin bike. He’s going to be a little bit longer than we hoped but he’s going OK.”

I know he was steak knives in the May trade but seriously, it was an obvious history yet we chose to ignore this red flag and continue with the deal!????

Every club is only a few very poor decisions away from tipping themselves into a boiling cauldron of Brussels sprouts!  With decision making like this (and the May fiasco) we might already be tumbling in....head first (AGAIN!).

Mr Pert .... you're up mate!

Posted

Credit to RG on another forum for a very funny comment:

“At least we only have another 2-4 weeks of Misson. I’m not explaining that to people who don’t understand it”

Posted
3 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Kade Kolodjashnij | Concussion – TBA

“We’re taking it pretty slowly with Kade because he’s obviously had a pretty solid history with these types of concussions. He’s still not out running just yet but he’s doing some work in the gym on the spin bike. He’s going to be a little bit longer than we hoped but he’s going OK.”

I know he was steak knives in the May trade but seriously, it was an obvious history yet we chose to ignore this red flag and continue with the deal!????

Every club is only a few very poor decisions away from tipping themselves into a boiling cauldron of Brussels sprouts!  With decision making like this (and the May fiasco) we might already be tumbling in....head first (AGAIN!).

Mr Pert .... you're up mate!

He’s got problems with concussion. He could come good, like Angus B or he might never come back. It’s really up to how motivated he is and how serious the brain injury is.

Posted
10 hours ago, Cranky Franky said:

Wrong - JKH gets s#1t because he has barely improved after several years on the list and heaps of chances.  Have a look at the second half of the 2018 VFL Grand Final - he was woeful & barely got a touch.

He’s not as bad as you.

Posted
2 hours ago, Nelo said:

Code for “ won’t play again this year”

18 minutes ago, Stormy Dee said:

Translation: he’s finished.

I don't read it with mfcss glasses.

I read it as...  he'll be roaring to go, ready in about 6weeks,  for seniors.

Posted
16 hours ago, Stormy Dee said:

He’s not as bad as you.

Look he was actually one of my favourites in his first 2 years but you have to be a bit hard nosed & objective if you want to be a successful Club.  He is ok if he is left on his own but as soon as he has to do anything under any sort of pressure he goes to pieces, falls over, misses his targets & generally panics.

The Box Hill smalls (who are VFL standard) destroyed him in the last half of the GF.

Posted

FML the Joel Smith injury is a fuckup of epic proportions. How and why, knowing how long groins can take, would you keep someone out there in a friggin practice match? He literally limped for a half. I know I keep banging on about this, but I mean if we can’t even help the things we can control, then what the [censored] are we even doing?

KK and Vanders’ careers seem to he hanging by a thread. Again, why did KK play out the game if he got a head knock? How is May’s prognosis getting worse each week? Why in God’s name would you keep playing injured guys only to make their injury worse? Preuss anyone? 

I give up with this club sometimes. Ludicrous management. 

Posted
15 minutes ago, Jaded said:

FML the Joel Smith injury is a fuckup of epic proportions. How and why, knowing how long groins can take, would you keep someone out there in a friggin practice match? He literally limped for a half. I know I keep banging on about this, but I mean if we can’t even help the things we can control, then what the [censored] are we even doing?

KK and Vanders’ careers seem to he hanging by a thread. Again, why did KK play out the game if he got a head knock? How is May’s prognosis getting worse each week? Why in God’s name would you keep playing injured guys only to make their injury worse? Preuss anyone? 

Thought about  paying the FD a visit and giving them a piece of your mind Jaded?? ...

tenor.gif

Posted
1 hour ago, Jaded said:

It’s about fitness team hitting KPIs to get their yearly bonus most likely. 

Posted
On 5/1/2019 at 4:26 PM, Lucifer's Hero said:

As did GCS.  They demanded a top 5 ish pick because they knew they would get it this year as an FA comp pick when he left. 

Ignoring his fitness and injury issues, without that FA comp pick there is no way he would have been valued a top 5 pick by clubs.  No other club could offer anything like it.  I reckon it would be more like mid teens pick at best.  We fell for it or were desperate or both.  Sure we needed a big defender but we surely over compensated GCS.

yep...under compensated by Freo and we over compensated the Wandering Suns.

Great trade

Posted
23 hours ago, DV8 said:

I don't read it with mfcss glasses.

I read it as...  he'll be roaring to go, ready in about 6weeks,  for seniors.

Gee I hope your right. Would be more than happy to be proven wrong. 

Posted

Probably the most unlucky trade haul in AFL history from an injury standpoint. KK, May and Preuss all banged up and on the sidelines. Can't think of a time where a club has brought in 3 players at the trade period only to see them all head to the sidelines injured. It's madness.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Adzman said:

Probably the most unlucky trade haul in AFL history from an injury standpoint. KK, May and Preuss all banged up and on the sidelines. Can't think of a time where a club has brought in 3 players at the trade period only to see them all head to the sidelines injured. It's madness.

Was not going to let go but decide that it was time. There is a problem at MFC but what, who knows?

I think we got ahead of ourselves hoping to be a hawks of 2008, but unfortunately we will not.

I firmly believe that the year has gone to [censored]. We will win 8-10 games and miss the 8 but for the first time in a long time, couldn’t give a fluff.

Next year I see a fresh MFC. A new plan, rejuvenated playing group, a new coaching team and the soul back.

I have been guilty of bagging this club, wrote letters and email to the club and even thought that horrible thought of moving on. This year certainly has not helped but I do think 2020 will be the year.

flFor those that purchase GF ticket guarantees, sorry. This is not the year. 

Hogan went! He will stuff up at freo, give it time. I wish him well but a fact is a fact and Jesse is what he is!

Our injury list is long but know that Lever, May, Jets and the Vine will be ready to rock next year. A good draft and trade will further enhance this group.

Happy to wait till next year.

Edited by Dirts
Posted
7 hours ago, Adzman said:

The MFC is like getting toys as a kid at Christmas only to encounter the dreaded 'batteries not included'. And then all the shops are shut. Hogan, Petracca, Salem, Lever - the list goes on. Every time we get a shiny new toy.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Skuit said:

The MFC is like getting toys as a kid at Christmas only to encounter the dreaded 'batteries not included'. And then all the shops are shut. Hogan, Petracca, Salem, Lever - the list goes on. Every time we get a shiny new toy.

Lol. Yep... and add in some xmas’ past . Schwartz, Charles, jakovich, Tingay. 

I would add tho that Salem’s batteries were def included. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Wells 11 said:

Lol. Yep... and add in some xmas’ past . Schwartz, Charles, jakovich, Tingay. 

I would add tho that Salem’s batteries were def included. 

Actually I think we bought the batteries for Salem.

Didn't he have a thyroid problem the first couple of years and missed a lot of footy?

Posted
8 hours ago, Dirts said:

I firmly believe that the year has gone to [censored]. We will win 8-10 games and miss the 8 but for the first time in a long time, couldn’t give a fluff.

You really think this current rabble is capable of 9 wins?