Posted (edited)

Looking like Tyson for Pruess straight swap.

Alot will argue about the number of games played etc and that we are getting unders but I think it's good for us.

Our 5-6th best mid out for the best available ruckman. If Pruess went in the draft he would go in the 20-30 range minimum which is about right for Tyson and fills a much bigger need for our list. 

Edited by Bates Mate
spelling

Posted
5 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

Looking like Tyson for Pruess straight swap.

Alot will argue about the number of games played etc and that we are getting unders but I think it's good for us.

Our 5-6th best mid out for the best available ruckman. If Pruess went in the draft he would go in the 20-30 range minimum which is about right for Tyson and fills a much bigger need for our list. 

Of course this is good for us. Tyson was taking up 500K and lets be honest would be sitting in the VFL most of the year. We now have insurance for Big Maxy & the ability to play two ruckmen should we see fit to give us a different look. 

Posted

It is my belief that Tyson is at least a second round pick ,The North Nelbourne back up player is a 3rd round pick up at best seeing Tom Hickey has gone to West Coast fir a second round pick.Your thoughts, please ?

Posted
4 minutes ago, jayceebee31 said:

It is my belief that Tyson is at least a second round pick ,The North Nelbourne back up player is a 3rd round pick up at best seeing Tom Hickey has gone to West Coast fir a second round pick.Your thoughts, please ?

Tyson is a late fourth to early third round pick at best.

A straight swap from Preuss would be a great result.

Posted
24 minutes ago, jayceebee31 said:

I rate Pruess above Hickey, bigger stronger more upside. average to better than average midfielders are are dime a dozen ruckmen have more currency proven by 2nd rounder for Hickey in an open draft Pruess would get selected before Hickey so as I mentioned before a straight swap is a win for us 

Posted
23 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

It's been speculated about 400K a year. Slightly above the average wage.

There's North flogs on BigFooty saying it is $600-650k. Same flogs thought they had Gaff and went the very early crow. Losers.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

There's North flogs on BigFooty saying it is $600-650k. Same flogs thought they had Gaff and went the very early crow. Losers.

Groin Guru and Snake Baker?

Posted
4 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

Groin Guru and Snake Baker?

Those two are the biggest flogs going around.

Posted
13 minutes ago, GCDee said:

Those two are the biggest flogs going around.

I wondered if the Guru was a troll account, but too many North supporters seem to be special in that kind of way.

Posted

We're getting the raw end if it's a straight swap for Preuss. Up to the wrist. Not quite the elbow.

Somewhere along the way the rhetoric around Tyson changed to him becoming a no hoper. The reality is that as an inside mid he is a starter in the vast majority of teams.

Posted
2 hours ago, P-man said:

We're getting the raw end if it's a straight swap for Preuss. Up to the wrist. Not quite the elbow.

Somewhere along the way the rhetoric around Tyson changed to him becoming a no hoper. The reality is that as an inside mid he is a starter in the vast majority of teams.

...but not ours.

Posted
1 minute ago, rpfc said:

...but not ours.

Yep. A back up Ruckman is far more important. 

Good Luck to Dom

Playing Footy with a broken arm is a gutsy move...

Posted
2 hours ago, P-man said:

We get cap relief for later when we really will need it

Posted

An ex Norf player when Barassi was de Bwana rang me this morning and said, Oh, shite, we're getting Tyson.

We spoke about him earlier in the season. He said, Tyson is useless: he keeps turning the ball over. And it takes him forever to make a decision about which opposition player is going to hurt Melbourne the most...

Posted
7 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

It's been speculated about 400K a year. Slightly above the average wage.

I’ve heard $300k but the enticer was the job security of a 4 year deal.

Tyson for Preuss seems a fair trade.

Posted
4 minutes ago, the rolling fog said:

Do we think that AVB signing on means Tyson's papers are stamped? At least from a cap perspective...?

Or are the two unrelated?

My view is unrelated as VDB wouldn’t be on big $, bbuuttt Tyson is a twofold operation.

They don’t think he is good enough for that midfield (not many are) so take the opportunity to get some value, plus he is a salary dump. He would have been signed to some ok $ last time around, let’s move it on so we can go for May. 

Posted
24 minutes ago, the rolling fog said:

Do we think that AVB signing on means Tyson's papers are stamped? At least from a cap perspective...?

Or are the two unrelated?

I'd say only partially related. Certainly it pushed Tyson another spot lower on the depth chart and surely increases the desire to get away from his salary. I expect we would've done it anyway.

Posted

Tyson for Preuss as a direct swap reminds me of the Gysberts for Pedo swap a few years ago. 

We traded a slow inside midfielder who was a high pick for a mature age tall and everyone here was up in arms saying we got a bad deal.

Turns out the club got it right.

Let's have a little faith.

Posted
9 hours ago, P-man said:

Yeah look the 4th rounder 62 that we might get back to balance the trade could be useful since we're turning quite a few players over and may still be picking then.  But the competition for players is thin at that point in the draft.   Don't sweat the small stuff.

Posted
11 hours ago, P-man said:

It looks to me like the list management team have a firm goal which is build a list that has depth of types of players who are fit role types of roles - and there are some types of players that are missing key attributes for the broader playing style brand of contested footy.

The strategy looks like:

A) value relatively known quantity players that fit a need higher than haggling over draft pick positions give or take (within reason, I’m sure Taylor’s view on likely available talent is part of the picture and it’s a different in the top 10 where elite juniors are)

B) if a player is surplus to depth, or there are equivalent other options (e.g. state league prospects) instead that are cheaper, extract value for those players by trading them

C) if a player is not quite right because they aren’t contested enough or have other fatal flaws for the “brand” or there are personality issues, delist or trade them and give an opportunity to someone else

Preuss is an A) as were Melksham and Hibberd.

Tyson is a B) and you could argue they have decided Hogan is also a B.

Watts and Bugg are C) and in hindsight re-signing Garlett might have been a departure from strategy and an error.

And of course Melbourne’s don’t hold all the cards so a St. Kilda can upset things by offering Kent more security, and surprise opportunities may present themselves and need consideration (e.g. Lewis, move up the draft order near the start by helping a club with volume of lower draft picks for academy or father-son prospects).

Obvious gaps we as fans could identify prior to trade period are a ruckman, reliable 1on1 tall defender, and outside pace and polish. Every rumoured move Melbourne are initiating appears to be driving towards those things and is giving up something that can be covered through existing players, or not much perceived value (e.g. some mid to later order draft picks or pick downgrades).

I’m not saying the goal or strategy is correct, but for the most part their actions have been consistently aligned with this.

So we might look at a deal and think “We got unders and gave overs” but I doubt the Demons are thinking that if it fits with their strategy.