Cards13 9,117 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 13 minutes ago, olisik said: Like most AFL players why doesn’t he prioritise his AFL career over a side business? Seems he has his priorities mixed up if he wants to move state to run the family business instead of focusing on his AFL career? Maybe his priorities are in better perspective than the majority of AFL players? 3 Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 Hope he stays, understand if he goes. 4 Quote
Bonkers 994 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 14 minutes ago, olisik said: Like most AFL players why doesn’t he prioritise his AFL career over a side business? Seems he has his priorities mixed up if he wants to move state to run the family business instead of focusing on his AFL career? In all fairness we have no idea if it is indeed a side business or not. For all we know the business could be the only thing bringing in money for his Mother/Family, or it could be a multi-million dollar business etc etc. His priorities are his family and his long term employment prospects (football and private sector). The Swans may offer him 3 years and the MFC only offer 1, he can move close to his family and business. What would you do? It's not that hard to understand really. 2 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 Would be looking at getting Buddy in return /s Quote
Superunknown 4,246 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 5 minutes ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said: Would be looking at getting Buddy in return /s Yep, Package him up in a trade for ol' mate "Shoulders Oliver" to Adelaide for Tex Walker. Quote
Jibroni 5,057 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 Tough call to make if he needs to leave for family reasons. No qualms he if needs to go. Quote
Mach5 4,768 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 Welcome to the new AFL. You gain a good reputation on the outside and maintain a good culture on the inside if you genuinely care about your players and try to facilitate trades to meet their needs, but also prepare to ensure you get maximum return. It’s simply smart business and I feel we are ahead of plenty of clubs in this regard. We won’t have many players moving on who harbour resentment, and that is good for future business. 12 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 1 hour ago, Demons11 said: [censored] weak if he leaves. Looked after him for 2 years whilst on the sidelines I reckon your post is [ censored ] weak. 8 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 The bloke can tackle and that's about it. Couldn't hit a handball target if he tried and is an ordinary kick. If we can get a 3rd or 2nd rounder, do the deal and run. Quote
pitmaster 3,592 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 Clearly not enough people read the papers regularly. This story about him running the family business from Melbourne was explained before our first final. Totally understandable conflict here. Hope he stays. 2 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 33 minutes ago, olisik said: Like most AFL players why doesn’t he prioritise his AFL career over a side business? Seems he has his priorities mixed up if he wants to move state to run the family business instead of focusing on his AFL career? Like most football supporters why don't you prioritise being smart over a dumbar*e. 1 Quote
Mach5 4,768 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 4 minutes ago, A F said: The bloke can tackle and that's about it. Couldn't hit a handball target if he tried and is an ordinary kick. If we can get a 3rd or 2nd rounder, do the deal and run. Harsh, but a bit of truth in there. 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,333 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 1 hour ago, Demons11 said: [censored] weak if he leaves. Looked after him for 2 years whilst on the sidelines [censored] weak response. Doubt you have an ounce of balls and tell that to the man himself. 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 i understand vanders is from the nsw south coast (not canberra), so about equidistant melb, syd (or a long drive from either) so i don't see how a move to sydney helps the family business much, assuming the family business is based in south coast 4 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said: could it be the precursor to the Apocalypse... Did I hear those horses being saddled up ? Now that would be a Revelation 2 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 Straight swap for Heeney 4 Quote
Rogue 585 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 Not at all a surprise, given the articles published during the second half of the season about his plight . Quote
corowa 216 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 57 minutes ago, ProDee said: List your best 20 in order. I won't rank our 'best 20' as, in my opinion, 'best 20' is meaningless. Best at what? How do you judge 'best'? Is Tom McDonald better than Neville Jetta? Do we down grade a brilliant tackler because he turns the ball over more by foot than someone who kicks accurately but rarely tackles? We need all types with a range of skills. My comments supporting AVB were regarding his ferocious attack on the ball, including 'hurting' opposition players and intimidating them. We haven't done this as a team for years. Now we are as tough as any other team and tougher than most. AVB is in our top group of players who do this regularly. In my opinion this increased pressure has contributed significantly to our success this season. As such, AVB is better value than 'bottom 6'. 3 Quote
Gator 18,053 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 3 minutes ago, corowa said: I won't rank our 'best 20' as, in my opinion, 'best 20' is meaningless. Best at what? How do you judge 'best'? Is Tom McDonald better than Neville Jetta? Do we down grade a brilliant tackler because he turns the ball over more by foot than someone who kicks accurately but rarely tackles? We need all types with a range of skills. My comments supporting AVB were regarding his ferocious attack on the ball, including 'hurting' opposition players and intimidating them. We haven't done this as a team for years. Now we are as tough as any other team and tougher than most. AVB is in our top group of players who do this regularly. In my opinion this increased pressure has contributed significantly to our success this season. As such, AVB is better value than 'bottom 6'. I'm aware of his attributes. Clubs rank their list all of the time. Just like they rank all drafts. I said he was bottom 6 in our best 22. You disagreed. Not surprisingly when asked to rank our best 20 you come up short. Quote
samcantstandya 1,079 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 1 hour ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said: Would be looking at getting Buddy in return /s Plus their first round pick. Quote
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 1 hour ago, Nasher said: Hope he stays, understand if he goes. Sums it up perfectly for me. Clearly many who've posted in this thread didn't read the article, as there are obvious non-MFC related reasons why he might be considering moving to Sydney. I'll be disappointed if he goes, particularly given we invested time into him this year in an effort to entrench him in the best 22, but will completely understand it if it happens. 2 Quote
Red and Blue realist 2,063 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 If he does go back for family reasons, I hope we are taking to both the Swans and GWS, understand we are helping him out but we've got to get the best return which might still be the Swans but may as well see what the Giants have to offer Quote
Demons11 7,148 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 1 hour ago, drysdale demon said: I reckon your post is [ censored ] weak. Actually didn’t realise his old man had passed away, fair call picking me up on it. 2 Quote
Demons11 7,148 Posted September 28, 2018 Posted September 28, 2018 1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said: [censored] weak response. Doubt you have an ounce of balls and tell that to the man himself. Actually didn’t realise his old man had passed away, fair call picking me up on it. I just read the headline. 1 Quote