12 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Good for Andrew. I think he had all but decided to go to North but seeing his team mates win a premiership and the love he got from Adam Simpson after his terrible mistake meant he was willing to take less money and stay in Perth away from his family. I think the delay in making the decision was probably related to his fathers health. Heart scares can often resolve themselves after a couple of months.

Anyway, I'll enjoy laughing at North a bit and hope they spend all their money keeping our competition honest by upping bids for their players and not ours!

This. Plus the Eagles increased their offer. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

You may all want to laugh at Norf, but it's just made this years premiers that much sronger.

Worst possible decision from our perspective.

7 minutes ago, faultydet said:

You may all want to laugh at Norf, but it's just made this years premiers that much sronger.

Worst possible decision from our perspective.

Agree with this but we also need less teams challenging for the 8. North with Gaff could have made it next season. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

North can't get an uber eats to come to Arden Street

3 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Kelly has turned down North once already, I have a feeling they’ll chase Scully. 

Tom $cully would make a great fit at Arden Street.

They could also get his old man in to replace the gasometer.

1 hour ago, Demon from Sydney said:

Same as why any player up until this year has chosen to come to us or why a player like Judd goes to Carlton,Ablett to Suns etc.They were never going to win flags or even play finals but at the end of the day retiring from Footy with a little medallion but half the wage you could of made changes lots of things.$750k with us & still no guarantee of a flag or 1.2mill with North but with a less chance of a flag would be an easy choice in my eyes.I work for money & thats the case with these guys in the current AFL climate.

Agree but I suspect WCE upped their offer dramatically from the reported $800k which was earlier bandied around.

My guess is they offered the magical 7 figure number and perhaps hinted at something in life after football. Would be surprised if the latter does not figure highly in a two team town such as Perth.

Edited by Diamond_Jim

1 hour ago, ProDee said:

There was zero reason for him not to be honest in the forum he was in. 

But look mate, believe what you want. 

I will & you can believe lies.Everyone in the media knew yet you believe a leader at our club had no idea....seriously?

Im kinda glad he has stayed, Loyalty over moola and he has copped his just deserts and will hopefully move on.

Suck on a half chewed minty Norf!

I wonder if Gaff regrets selling his properties over here and if his girlfriend regrets quitting her nursing/teacher job. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Hahah lololololololololol norf. 

I confess I didn't see this coming.  Was sure he was gone when he didn't announce he was staying pre GF.

Then not announcing he was leaving pre BnF made sense.

But staying is a big surprise.

Like others have said, big  picture I prefer he went to North because it makes WC weaker and North not better than them and out of the market - sort of a leveller.

Now North are in the market against us going forward.

Still there is #lollNorf compensation.

2 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Agree but I suspect WCE upped their offer dramatically from the reported $800k which was earlier bandied around.

My guess is they offered the magical 7 figure number and perhaps hinted at something in life after football. Would be surprised if the latter does not figure highly in a two team town such as Perth.

Funny you should say that.  McGovern signed up as a Sales Director for a building company a few weeks before he re-signed with the Eagles.  According to its website, said building company is only two years old and doesn't have a lot of projects - one being building an investment project for Jack Redden.

If you want to know more Google is your friend.

30 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Funny you should say that.  McGovern signed up as a Sales Director for a building company a few weeks before he re-signed with the Eagles.  According to its website, said building company is only two years old and doesn't have a lot of projects - one being building an investment project for Jack Redden.

What a ridiculous salary cap rort. 

6 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Sleuthifer's Hero...

7 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Nice way to beat the salary cap rules and being so far away from Victoria, Gil would surely never investigate let alone suspect.

28 minutes ago, Spirit of the Demon said:

Nice way to beat the salary cap rules and being so far away from Victoria, Gil would surely never investigate let alone suspect.

Who is responsible for financial auditing relating to salary cap matters? If they cared about it, the AFL would have a team inside the integrity unit, but I doubt it.

1 hour ago, Demon from Sydney said:

I will & you can believe lies.Everyone in the media knew yet you believe a leader at our club had no idea....seriously?

You're either confused or unhinged.

What lies ?  And what leader at our club had no idea about what ?

Everything I reported was true.  Even down to it being a 50/50 decision between Gaff staying or going to North.  The Dees were ruled out weeks ago.

Edited by ProDee

20 hours ago, DV8 said:

Not good news IMO... North still have plenty of cap space to spend now. and next year.  I was hoping they would cough up a little too much.

If true then Norf do now have unexpected cap space. About 8.4 million over 7 years of space.

But at the same time I cannot figure how they can be spending even the minimum amount now (95% of TPP?) and free up additional space by clearing out one name player (Waite) and a bunch of low end talent and have space for big deals for Polec, Gaff, Aaron Hall, Newman and Finlayson. All while keeping enough in the bank to go for GWS Kelly next year.

Norf is trying very hard not to bottom out but imo they would be best served to. Build up and trade for draft picks, and manage that cap space accordingly. Throwing money at every single free agent is getting embarrassing for them. Imagine having your $200k p.a. better offer rejected.

North....so much money

And NO-ONE wants it ...lol

32 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

North....so much money

And NO-ONE wants it ...lol

images (10).jpeg