Posted
On 11/24/2017 at 8:06 PM, Whispering_Jack said:

Huge upside ~ an Under 18 All Australian.

ESPN’s Chris Doerre (aka Knightmare) had him at 16 in his October power rankings:-

Harrison Petty (VIC)

Best position: Key defender
Height, weight: 195cm, 82kg
Recruited from: Norwood
Projected draft range: Second round
Similar to: Robbie Tarrant
October Ranking: 16
Rationale: Named South Australia's MVP during the Under-18 Championships. Petty is a relatively untapped talent who has improved significantly this season and is still growing, having shot up 5cm this season. Petty's potential as a still growing key defender with a late-year birthday sees him hold firm despite others rising.
Strengths:
Intercept marking
Reads the flight of the ball early
Takes marks at highest point
Clean at ground level
Effective ball user
Composure with ball in hand
Rate of improvement
Strong performances from limited exposure
Weaknesses: 
Keeping balance in one-on-one contests
Strength solid but not as advanced as some of his peers
Capable but not a freakish athlete

According to Snoop Dog:-

HARRISON PETTY – NORWOOD / KEY DEFENDER / 195cm

Tall defender from SA that wasn’t really on my radar leading into Champs but was super impressed with him through them and in the subsequent games I saw. Just reads the footy so well and happy to peel off and intercept. His hands are assured and his ball skills are very good to. Seems to play the game with a lot of composure and could be a steal this late.”

Never seen him play but Strengths are exactly what we need and weaknesses can all be irradicated by training/experience.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Do you think they'll release the spycam footage when Frost is told he's off to the Gold Coast? Hopefully we learnt a few tricks from Masterchef so as to capture the full emotional weight of his personal devastation. 

? very good.

poor sod, gifted athlete but not the nous. Mind, his goal coming off the bench v. Collingwood was a beauty...

Posted
7 minutes ago, Danelska said:

? very good.

poor sod, gifted athlete but not the nous. Mind, his goal coming off the bench v. Collingwood was a beauty...

I'm actually a fan and believe he still has plenty of development left in him. Maybe Masterchef can also give us some tips on how best to prepare a headless chook. 

Posted (edited)

Unfortunately the worst debut since Glenn Giles in 1980! 

No PACE, in fact he is Slower than Oscar ! That embarrassing left foot kick which went nowhere was cringeworthy.

Those that have been singing his praise better think again.  Frost is clearly Clearly a much better player and demands inclusion this week. Petty was today a heartbreaker! Sorry to say!

Posted
On 11/24/2017 at 8:08 PM, Clint Bizkit said:

I trust Taylor but we have a lot of key defenders now.

too many [censored] key defenders 

Posted (edited)
14 hours ago, picket fence said:

Those that have been singing his praise better think again.  Frost is clearly Clearly a much better player and demands inclusion this week. Petty was today a heartbreaker! Sorry to say!

I’m embarrassed to say that’s me. But to baldly state Frost is a much better player is a bit rough (or obvious)! It was the kids first game and naturally Frost with a few seasons behind him knows the ropes somewhat better. Petty looked all at sea and appeared very nervous.. Back to the VFL with him to further learn the craft and probably play in a finals campaign.

Edited by Dee Dee
Posted (edited)

I did not have much to say about him as I had not seen him play. It was like asking a toddler to crawl across Hoddle St at 1pm on a red light.The kid is no way near ready and was criminal to play him.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Dee Dee said:

I’m embarrassed to say that’s me. But to baldly state Frost is a much better player is a bit rough (or obvious)! It was the kids first game and naturally Frost with a few seasons behind him knows the ropes somewhat better. Petty looked all at sea and appeared very nervous.. Back to the VFL with him to further learn the craft and probably play in a finals campaign.

You're Glenn Giles? 

Posted

Feel for the kid and I just hope he isn't ruined by yesterday. Going by people who watch VFL, match day reports and Goodwins comments, I thought he was ready, but it may take a year or two. Sounds like he works hard but just hope his mind holds up, coaches should have recognised very early he was getting isolated, but didn't seem to help him out.

Posted
26 minutes ago, SFebey said:

Feel for the kid and I just hope he isn't ruined by yesterday. Going by people who watch VFL, match day reports and Goodwins comments, I thought he was ready, but it may take a year or two. Sounds like he works hard but just hope his mind holds up, coaches should have recognised very early he was getting isolated, but didn't seem to help him out.

Exactly right and this from the coaching staff was extremely poor support. Gee he looked so slow!

Posted
1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Exactly right and this from the coaching staff was extremely poor support. Gee he looked so slow!

why do the recruiters draft so many slow players? the modern game is built around speed

Posted
18 hours ago, picket fence said:

No PACE, in fact he is Slower than Oscar ! That embarrassing left foot kick which went nowhere was cringeworthy.

3 hours ago, america de cali said:

I did not have much to say about him as I had not seen him play. It was like asking a toddler to crawl across Hoddle St at 1pm on a red light.The kid is no way near ready and was criminal to play him.

Yes, the poor guy had a shocker by all accounts - I saw only brief glimpses of the farce  

But at this time he needs support and encouragement from us all (though not more senior game time in the immediate future).  Relentless bagging could shatter him for a long time.  Positive feedback is always more constructive than total negativity. 

Posted
3 hours ago, picket fence said:

Agree, we are a slow side but gee, Harry was incredibly slow both in movement and decision making. 

Perhaps, this could be partly due to nerves and struggling with the faster pace and intensity of the game, but even so, he appeared to be moving in quick sand.

Like Oscar, he seemed to lack energy and intensity, a bit of a relaxed walk in the paddock as if playing school or park footy. 

He is miles off playing senior footy. 

Posted
58 minutes ago, hemingway said:

Agree, we are a slow side but gee, Harry was incredibly slow both in movement and decision making. 

Perhaps, this could be partly due to nerves and struggling with the faster pace and intensity of the game, but even so, he appeared to be moving in quick sand.

Like Oscar, he seemed to lack energy and intensity, a bit of a relaxed walk in the paddock as if playing school or park footy. 

He is miles off playing senior footy. 

he will not make it. I know it's his first game but zero urgency no pace and poor positioning.

Posted

One problem with playing young players is that they can't play their natural game, the one that got them to where they are. They're trying their hardest to follow team rules, to play the role spelled out to them by the coaching staff, to position themselves where they're told ... I think they're second guessing themselves all the time and consequently don't play with confidence. The ones that do are rare beasts indeed.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Elegt said:

he will not make it. I know it's his first game but zero urgency no pace and poor positioning.

FMD.

Bet Carlton are happy they didn't flick Kade Simpson after his first 3 games which were all zero possessions.

Edited by ProperDee
Posted
5 minutes ago, ProperDee said:

FMD.

Yeah I agree.

Dear Harry, I'm sorry you were thrown in the deep end and you had no support.

As you can see from the fans, we wish you all the best.

Posted
11 minutes ago, ProperDee said:

FMD.

Bet Carlton are happy they didn't flick Kade Simpson after his first 3 games which were all zero possessions.

Simpson at least showed heart. petty trotted around making Mccartin look like usain bolt.

Posted

Mate, you are a legend. You remember the first three performances of a then unknown Carlton kid from 15 years ago and that he showed “heart”? Gimme a break FCS.

Posted
3 hours ago, Elegt said:

2 minutes ago, Is Dom Is Good said:

This thread is dumb. So what a 18 year old key position player had a poor first game. Wow that must've never happened before...... 

Exactly, Dom.  You beat me to the punch.

Still, there are those who just love to see the negatives and just make their judgements on a single poor team performance.  It is not as if the mids applied a lot of pressure to those delivering into their forward line.

Posted
12 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Exactly, Dom.  You beat me to the punch.

Still, there are those who just love to see the negatives and just make their judgements on a single poor team performance.  It is not as if the mids applied a lot of pressure to those delivering into their forward line.

I think most would blame the coaches for picking him and we have every right to question that.

You could see from his first involvement he was way off the pace. Was just jogging back into the defensive 50 with no idea where to go, then moments later a panic kick. If he was able to give us the equivalent of StKildas 1st gamer we would have won. As simple as that.

Smith and Petty can not play together again this season.

Posted

Only Melbourne could debut a young key defender against a team that can't score, allow 119 points against and have said kid be a key standout contributor that was the team's defensive ineptness on the day.

Bravo, Melbourne. Bravo. 

Posted

Anyone would think Petty was our worst player on the ground - but have you checked out Hannan's stats? If Hannan plays next week, I give up...