Posted
1 minute ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Or the AFL is holding back the 'juicy' trades to create 'drama'.

They will love Treloar, Cameron, Stevenson, Cox, Phillips, Dunkley, Brown announcements being delayed.  That is a lot of fans hanging on (click baiting) for news.

Posted

So there can only be one reasonable assumption why this has not already been completed, North are digging in, they see us as weak and going to try and bend us over. This should have been done by now, the posturing and the theater really is pathetic at times. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

They will love Treloar, Cameron, Stevenson, Cox, Phillips, Dunkley, Brown announcements being delayed.  That is a lot of fans hanging on (click baiting) for news.

Did they do this last year? I have this vague recollection they tried to make an Americanised style show on the AFL website at 7.30pm to showcase the big last minute trades 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

True

Posted
4 minutes ago, drdrake said:

Only time will tell, will the rose coloured glass wearers have the "I  told you so" rights in 12 months or will it be the nah-sayers which I am one on this trade. 

May I was all for, bloody good player and more importantly is the general not afraid of telling his team mates how it is

But a pick in 20’s or 2 in 30’s is going to help us get to the next level now or in 2yrs more than BB Is is it? Uneducated football opinions really annoy me and remind me why I rarely engage you ppl. 

go support someone else, you and your chook mate. Seriously. 

Posted (edited)
31 minutes ago, KysaiahMessiah said:

HS and other AFL websites love it.  The ratio of clicks is far higher during trade time then during the season.  Each click gets them some money. 

Orchestrated for max media interests.

Edit:  Forgot to add Fantasia, Caldwell and Jack Higgins to list of 'juicy' trades.  Nearly every Vic club affected by potential trades.

Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, Nudge said:

But a pick in 20’s or 2 in 30’s is going to help us get to the next level now or in 2yrs more than BB Is is it? Uneducated football opinions really annoy me and remind me why I rarely engage you ppl. 

go support someone else, you and your chook mate. Seriously. 

This is a forum that people will have differing opinions on players, on trades, on the club if we all had the same opinion this site wouldn't exist as we would know what everyone is thinking.  You also don't know what people's Football knowledge is, what level they have played or coached at, the connections they may have at the club or with in AFL circles.  Just because someone has a different opinion to you doesn't make them less a supporter or you better than them. 

You think offering 2 picks for Brown is a good idea, others don't, we will wait and see what the deal is and then be judged by our opinion once we see what Brown puts on the park, not on what he has done but what he will actually do.  I'm happy to be proven totally wrong and you are welcome to bump this thread late next year and I will cop my whack and will happy to do so because if I am we are playing finals with a dominant forward 

Edited by drdrake

Posted
2 minutes ago, KysaiahMessiah said:

You have to click the “see more” button, it’s mentioned in last paragraph 

Posted
Just now, Nudge said:

You have to click the “see more” button, it’s mentioned in last paragraph 

So it is, apologies 

Still, I would have thought it deserved a bit more than a passing mention...

Posted
1 minute ago, drdrake said:

This is a forum that people will have differing opinions on players, on trades, on the club if we all had the same opinion this site wouldn't exist as we would know what everyone is thinking.  You also don't know what people's Football knowledge is, what level they have played or coaches at, the connections they may have at the club or with in AFL circles.  Just because someone has a different opinion to you doesn't make them less a supporter or you better than them. 

You think offering 2 picks for Brown is a good idea, others don't, we will wait and see what the deal is and then be judged by our opinion once we see what Brown puts on the park, not on what he has done but what he will actually do.  I'm happy to be proven totally wrong and you are welcome to bump this thread late next year and I will cop my whack and will happy to do so because if I am we are playing finals with a dominant forward 

It’s just a classic case of wanting to be a contrarian, that’s not debate it’s child-ish!!! If you think BB is less value than two picks in 30’s in compromised draft when scouting data is at an all-time low the You’re insane. Even in SPEC it’s a no brainer, ie what your asking to SEE is ridiculous based on what we are giving up. This a the EXACT issue with contrarians not fully understanding what they are saying.

The return on what we’re giving up is FAR from BB needing to be a goal-kicking machine in a side playing finals, that’s just hogwash, champ! The mere potential ceiling even if never remotely reached outweighs the risk of the cost, so your logic doesn’t hold weight so waiting 12mths won’t suffice, that’s my point.

Posted
3 minutes ago, KysaiahMessiah said:

So it is, apologies 

Still, I would have thought it deserved a bit more than a passing mention...

It’s more I suggest due to fact they know it’ll go through so thus only gets passing mention opposed to deals that are genuinely “at-risk”

Posted
9 minutes ago, drdrake said:

This is a forum that people will have differing opinions on players, on trades, on the club if we all had the same opinion this site wouldn't exist as we would know what everyone is thinking.  You also don't know what people's Football knowledge is, what level they have played or coached at, the connections they may have at the club or with in AFL circles.  Just because someone has a different opinion to you doesn't make them less a supporter or you better than them. 

So I’m not saying I’m ‘better’ I’m saying your logic is flawed and that saying things just to say them is a waste of time and energy. You can say you think BB won’t impact or that your view is he won’t help us etc but that’s not what you said, you referenced the entire attempt as though it were misguided which is adversely against what the club is doing ie TRYING something, trying to fix a hole, what would you have them do? Sit on their hands? That’s not how premierships are won. So in my view barracking against the club is indeed a hangable offence. It’s poor form and it irks me greatly!!!

Posted
21 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

TV Shows Starring Garry Lyon - Next Episode

Christian Petracca?

Posted
57 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

97 pages.  Games of chess between grand masters are quicker than this.  Push the Kangas now to take our offer.  We will then look to grab the Bulldogs pick with pick swaps.  

The pick swap can be done any time up to Draft night and actually on Draft night - I don't expect that to happen in the Trade period.

Posted
1 hour ago, Nudge said:

It’s the rainy days that make us better appreciate the sunshine. A demon/Saints flag as a result will mean a [censored]-load more than a flag for anyone else, no matter when it comes or indeed if.. I love my club and refuse to be one f those red-seat flogs that’s always bagging our own players or shouting “kick the bloody thing”

calm down Nudge

we all have an opinion.Who are the red seat floggs you are referring.MCC members? Redleg members MFC members

I think  there is a great diversity of opinion amongst our supporters What makes you so special?

Posted
43 minutes ago, Nudge said:

So I’m not saying I’m ‘better’ I’m saying your logic is flawed and that saying things just to say them is a waste of time and energy. You can say you think BB won’t impact or that your view is he won’t help us etc but that’s not what you said, you referenced the entire attempt as though it were misguided which is adversely against what the club is doing ie TRYING something, trying to fix a hole, what would you have them do? Sit on their hands? That’s not how premierships are won. So in my view barracking against the club is indeed a hangable offence. It’s poor form and it irks me greatly!!!

so be irked who really cares

ignore!!

Posted
50 minutes ago, Kent said:

calm down Nudge

we all have an opinion.Who are the red seat floggs you are referring.MCC members? Redleg members MFC members

I think  there is a great diversity of opinion amongst our supporters What makes you so special?

I’m not special and I love a varied opinion maybe I’m sounding a little more harsh than I intend for I’m as calm as can be.. however it is my opinion that negging posters that barrack for the club to fail shouldn’t be considered all-weather supporters that’s all.. but you’re now Your own argument by saying that I myself and not allowed to express my own individual to opinion which is perhaps a little confounding to try and decipher for me anyway.

But there’s a fist amount of joviality in the specific post you are taking issue with. Even though you are 100% now acting in direct opponent to you’re clearly passionate opinion that we’re all inherently entitled to express our own opinion, as I have. 

Posted (edited)
55 minutes ago, Kent said:

so be irked who really cares

ignore!!

You're not supposed to care, I’m the one irked—not sure where I date that I also requested you to be? Perhaps you need to calm down a little, friend.

Edited by Nudge
Posted

I feel the need to post and let some random know that you’ve ‘ignored’ them fairly hilarious. As though the thought of someone ignoring me (as I’m sure there are plenty) should upset me, particularly as I have never met them. 

***it’s also valuable trade content that I’d rather not read, but then again, on second thoughts, trade time is really about 3-5pm on a Thursday for the ? appeal from the delivers of ‘content’. 

So I revise it, everyones soap operas just help me get though my meaningless life as a Melbourne Supporter 

Posted
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

Del Santo also said breaking out of centre, Brown was a great presence and you couldn’t help be drawn to kicking towards him, gave Brown significant praise!

Craig Jennings the strategist another to really rate Brown and how much time Melbourne spent on trying to stop him.
Brown is a huge get for the Demons, getting him for a draft pick or picks in 2nd round is a big win!

Posted

Hopefully this trade gets sorted out tomorrow morning.

It will be good to have another tall forward.

The only challenge is having Demons players with kicking ability who can hit Ben Brown on the chest lace out.