Longest Kick?

Posted

Now that Lynden Dunn has gone, who's  the longest kick at the club? Not the best kick - the longest.

Just curious.

7 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Bernie

I dunno Petracca seems to have a weapon of a boot

Probably Bernie but if it includes straight up in the air and overall hang time Col G has it covered.

I will miss those torps that landed in the centre......some of them were awesome.

2 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

I will miss those torps that landed in the centre......some of them were awesome.

And the reason why Roos dropped him to Casey, never to be seen again

2 hours ago, Return to Glory said:

Probably Bernie but if it includes straight up in the air and overall hang time Col G has it covered.

Will lead us to a flag.

3 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Darren Bennett

Were you at windy hill when he kicked those 4 or 5 goals in the last 1/4?

Every one a torp from outside 50 that when sailing through more than post high!

Must have been like the 80's. 

I reckon they went 70 metres .....we did have the windy hill wind blowing our end.

Finest example of multiple goal long kicking I ever saw .

Hon. mention for Malcom Blights unbelievable torp goal at Prices Park and that one from G Lyon from inside the square at the G.

2 hours ago, special robert said:

I reckon they went 70 metres .....we did have the windy hill wind blowing our end.

Hon. mention for Malcom Blights unbelievable torp goal at Prices Park and that one from G Lyon from inside the square at the G.

a magnificent afternoon at Windy Pill

4 hours ago, special robert said:

No I wasn't mate, restricted to tv viewing only in those days. 

5 hours ago, special robert said:

Yes it was the day my girlfriend at the time changed from her families team (Collingwood) to become a Dee. We married the next year.

Fred Fanning place kick around 100 yards longest measured in a league game

as well as the most goals in a game 17 I think

hardly ever gets mentioned 

Melbourne legend

6 hours ago, special robert said:

I was there as a little tacker. My Filth supporting Father still says is the best game he's ever been to!

On 04/03/2017 at 9:55 AM, Return to Glory said:

Sam Frost would like to debate this.

16 hours ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

I was there as a little tacker. My Filth supporting Father still says is the best game he's ever been to!

My mom is a filth supporter, mainly cause her grandad played for em, but I hear your pain.

23 hours ago, special robert said:

I was at that game. I think Paul Vander Haar was his direct opponent (maybe wrong, memory fades a bit after 26 years).

Bennett sure could kick 'em long but he kicked 'em so high, if they didn't register a score the defenders had plenty of time to get back and contest. A great attribute in American football, but not so good in our game.

17 hours ago, Demonised said:

Now that Lynden Dunn has gone, who's  the longest kick at the club? Not the best kick - the longest.

Just curious.

I would have to say Bernie. CP5 hasnt got a bad leg also.

From the past to name a few. Bennett, Graham (Geelong) , Blight, Melbournes Wheatley.

Old Dee, may still remember the day Fred Fanning roostered one Drop kick   105.5m (116 yards)

(Melbourne Seconds VFL), v Richmond, Seconds Grand Final, MCG, September 1939.

That's if he wasnt already blind and holding up the bar in the members stand.

On 04/03/2017 at 1:03 PM, Salems Lot said:

hib

I was going to say Hibberd has been known to kick some long bombs as well.

1 hour ago, Wadda We Sing said:

My mom is a filth supporter, mainly cause her grandad played for em, but I hear your pain.

Yeah well, what can I say, I'm a rebel. 

It was a rainy day at the top of the old northern stand at the G, circa 1987. Melbourne were thumping the Filth and as a five year old sensing Dad's discomfort, declared I now barrack for the Dees. 

Fast forward six years and he still hadn't bought me a Melbourne scarf or beanie. I had to go to 'footy day' at primary school wearing black and white, but reassuring everyone "it's ok, I actually go for the Dees". 

To be fair, he took me along to plenty of Dees games, but I suffered many boring afternoons at Victoria Park. I would amuse myself by collecting 'cash-a-cans' and climbing the scoreboard with other kids. 

To this day, I still don't think he's forgiven me.

On 04/03/2017 at 4:24 PM, special robert said:

GLyon also kicked a beauty as I recall at VFL Park in the wet in a final v Carltank to seal or maybe rescue the game.

Tassie Johnson #8 used to drop kick from full back into the centre mud heap on a regular basis.

27 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Yeah well, what can I say, I'm a rebel. 

It was a rainy day at the top of the old northern stand at the G, circa 1987. Melbourne were thumping the Filth and as a five year old sensing Dad's discomfort, declared I now barrack for the Dees. 

Fast forward six years and he still hadn't bought me a Melbourne scarf or beanie. I had to go to 'footy day' at primary school wearing black and white, but reassuring everyone "it's ok, I actually go for the Dees". 

To be fair, he took me along to plenty of Dees games, but I suffered many boring afternoons at Victoria Park. I would amuse myself by collecting 'cash-a-cans' and climbing the scoreboard with other kids. 

To this day, I still don't think he's forgiven me.

Nice one. :)