The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted
On 2017-6-15 at 7:07 PM, Dappa Dan said:

http://demonwiki.org/Most+Contested+Possessions+in+a+season

Just found this on demonwiki. This is some pretty great reading. Or terrible reading if you consider how bad we've been since 1999.

So our top ten record holders for contested possessions in a season... and 7 of the records are held by current starting midfielders. Viney (2nd), Jones (3rd, 4th, 6th and =9th X2) and Tyson (8th).

Why do I bring this link here? After 11 rounds Clarry is on 161... The current record holder (Moloney) is on 271.

In other words, if Oliver averages 10 contested possessions in the last half of the season he'll break the record by an absolute mile.

After 12 games hes averaging 30.3 disposals.

This is the highest average in the history of the MFC, in fact we have never had a player average 30+ in a season.

Posted

This is what I was saying a couple weeks back. We've never had a player putting up these sorts of numbers (figures mitigated somewhat by changes in football) and yet he's barely got a look-in in the Demonland votes lately. We're either complacent as fans or we're becoming a seriously good footy team.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Skuit said:

This is what I was saying a couple weeks back. We've never had a player putting up these sorts of numbers (figures mitigated somewhat by changes in football) and yet he's barely got a look-in in the Demonland votes lately. We're either complacent as fans or we're becoming a seriously good footy team.

The second one.

A top 5 players this week was near impossible. Only really Hibberd a definite.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Skuit said:

Oliver seemed to fly under the radar this week despite getting high numbers. I think there were quite a few stand out performances that probably lessened his light slightly. 

Hibberd, Watts, OMac, Pedders, and TMac for me were the stars of the day. Even Lewis with an excellent 31 possie game didn't shine all that brightly. 

Edited by Pates
Posted
6 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

This is the highest average in the history of the MFC, in fact we have never had a player average 30+ in a season.

...unprecedented.

Posted
6 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

23 minutes ago, Chook said:

...unprecedented.

and, furthermore, hasn't happened before either.  

Posted
1 hour ago, Chook said:

...unprecedented.

Oh can we please make it a thing on D'land as well?

In the match-day thread some Cats supporter said he hasn't seen inside hands like Olly's in his life... this meme is actually starting to not look so silly.

Posted
1 hour ago, Pates said:

Oliver seemed to fly under the radar this week despite getting high numbers. I think there were quite a few stand out performances that probably lessened his light slightly. 

Hibberd, Watts, OMac, Pedders, and TMac for me were the stars of the day. Even Lewis with an excellent 31 possie game didn't shine all that brightly. 

The timing of the good games as well. In most, if not all, games this year, when the game's up for grabs, Clarry would have 15 minutes of unbelievable footy. This week his big second half came when the game was done. I reckon that's the reason for the Salem and Hibberd love. And rightly so, too, I guess.

• 1 month later...
Posted

That idiot Treadway from Adelaide on MMM gave his votes to 2 PA players and Hibberd.  Did not even rate Clarry!  One of the true dumb brainless airhead to come out of Adelaide.

Posted

The "football world" can go and get [censored].

This bloke is the exact type of bloke you want standing next to you if you were in the trenches.

Posted
1 hour ago, Dees_In_October said:

20 years old today!

Thought that was a big ol' blunt in the birthday-boy's hand there for a brief second.

Posted
5 hours ago, Soidee said:

That idiot Treadway from Adelaide on MMM gave his votes to 2 PA players and Hibberd.  Did not even rate Clarry!  One of the true dumb brainless airhead to come out of Adelaide.

He can give them all the votes he wants. Hell, he can give the whole team 10 votes each. I reckon our boys would rather the 4 points than the dribblings of the simple minded.

Posted
8 hours ago, Soidee said:

Its still a bit like we're going under the radar. pisses me off a bit but I think these days are passing. 

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, Soidee said:

What a one eyed piece of %#^* 

Triple m should sack him from their panel

ive just gone onto twitter to give him an earful. Everyone should do the same 

Edited by bandicoot
Posted
2 hours ago, bandicoot said:

Who were your best 3 on the ground?

Robbie Gray changed the game when moved into the middle.

Hibberd played 4 good quarters.

Boak was very damaging.

If that was his top 3, that's fair enough.

Posted
1 hour ago, Watts the matter said:

Who were your best 3 on the ground?

Robbie Gray changed the game when moved into the middle.

Hibberd played 4 good quarters.

Boak was very damaging.

If that was his top 3, that's fair enough.

Agreed. They were clearly the 3 best on. Hibberd 3, Boak 2, Gray 1. Port had a lot of passengers, whereas we had a much more even team performance where pretty much everyone had a decent game except Watts

Posted
10 minutes ago, godees said:

Agreed. They were clearly the 3 best on. Hibberd 3, Boak 2, Gray 1. Port had a lot of passengers, whereas we had a much more even team performance where pretty much everyone had a decent game except Watts

Gray had a terrible 1st qtr and wasn't at all influential in the last. In such a dominant performance the 1 vote should go to the winning team. Take your pick of viney, Oliver, Tyson and even hunt. 

Posted
1 minute ago, bandicoot said:

Gray had a terrible 1st qtr and wasn't at all influential in the last. In such a dominant performance the 1 vote should go to the winning team. Take your pick of viney, Oliver, Tyson and even hunt. 

He was stuck in a forward pocket with the ball barely coming down in the 1st quarter. Moved into the midfield and had 28 touches in the next 3 quarters, generated a lot of run and caused all sorts of problems for our midfield.

Viney was great early, but faded badly, he was opposed to Gray often in the 2nd half.

Oliver was once again too happy to handball and on numerous occasions put teammates under pressure by taking the wrong option. 

Tyson was wasteful, competed hard but butchered the ball.

Hunt's disposal was worse than Tyson's.

Posted

Hibberd, ANB and Oliver......... end of story......

Posted

Saw Clarrie limping pretty heavily after the game. Haven't heard anything about an injury concern so assume it was just a cramp. Anyone able to confirm?

Posted
13 hours ago, DemonAndrew said:

hes going to be  IS a superstar

4 hours ago, bandicoot said:

How does one (oldie) do that?

Posted (edited)
46 minutes ago, willmoy said:

Hibberd, ANB and Oliver......... end of story......

Jetta. Hibberd and Grey ( i refuse to succumb to American spelling) 

Edited by Demon_spurs
Posted
50 minutes ago, Luther said:

Saw Clarrie limping pretty heavily after the game. Haven't heard anything about an injury concern so assume it was just a cramp. Anyone able to confirm?

On SEN they said he spent 1/4 time huddled over throwing up.