Saints a chance to play finals?

Posted

I noticed Shane Warne spruiking the Saints chances of playing finals this year so had a look at their draw.

They have Gold Coast, Essendon, Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, North, Carlton, Sydney, Richmond, and Brisbane.

Given they're on 6 wins, I'd say they're a good chance to win 12, a fair chance of 13 and a sneaky shot at 14.

Shane Warne could spin a ball at right angles on a pane of glass... that's kinda where his talent ends.

I would think you'd need 13-14 to make the 8 this year and StKilda are too hot'n'cold to make confident predictions about any of those games.  

They're building, but they're not there yet.

In theory we can still make it too

But we still don't know which team shows up each week...

I'll be shattered if they make finals before us.

But they certainly have the fixture to do it. They could easily be 9-7 as they have GC, Essendon and us over the next 3 weeks.

6 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

In theory we can still make it too

But we still don't know which team shows up each week...

We know which defence turns up each week

No one outside the top 8 can make finals.. the bottom 3 sides of the top 8 have an easy run home. The end.

1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I'll be shattered if they make finals before us.

But they certainly have the fixture to do it. They could easily be 9-7 as they have GC, Essendon and us over the next 3 weeks.

If they beat us in 2 weeks for the 14th? straight win then they deserve a finals berth ahead of us

The MFC is still all talk, we are still not hungry enough as a whole club. 

We have a good draw this year, but it depends whether the bus is parked after Queens Birthday...

Sometimes i wish we didn't have that game...

5 minutes ago, johndemons said:

It doesn't. 

So un Paul Roos. I don't get it

but i just have to watch and see what unfolds...

Just now, johndemons said:

Ours turns up more than theirs.  We haven't been flogged by 100 and 88 points this year.

3 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Ours turns up more than theirs.  We haven't been flogged by 100 and 88 points this year.

Yeah, but we got done by 'you know who' who won't win another game all year.

We'll become a trivia pursuit answer in 10 years' time.....

13 minutes ago, Die Hard Demon said:

No one outside the top 8 can make finals.. the bottom 3 sides of the top 8 have an easy run home. The end.

Have you seen Norths draw? They may not win too many more based on their current inability to beat other top 8 sides.

4 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

Yeah, but we got done by 'you know who' who won't win another game all year.

We'll become a trivia pursuit answer in 10 years' time.....

Already being asked in pub quiz's now. 

20 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Have you seen Norths draw? They may not win too many more based on their current inability to beat other top 8 sides.

This will be the years highlight if Nought continue to plummet like a Malaysian Airlines flight on a bad day...

Boomer Harvey in tears after Round 23

I wouldn't know what to feel if St Kilda made the top 8 and North dropped out of the 8. I think I'd laugh then cry then laugh while crying.

Can't see North falling out of the 8 but won't make top 4.

Wishing them to go out in the first final :cool:

9 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Can't see North falling out of the 8 but won't make top 4.

Wishing them to go out in the first final :cool:

If they play Richmond in the first final, they won't go out. 

1 minute ago, Sir Why You Little said:

This will be the years highlight if Nought continue to plummet like aMalaysian Airlines flight on a bad day...

Boomer Harvey in tears after Round 23

That would be a sight.

If anyone is interested....

Eagles over there (loss)

Port ES (win)

Pies ES (win)

Saints ES (50/50 based on their last meeting and Saints win over the Cats)

Bulldogs ES (loss)

Hawks MCG (loss)

Swans Blundstone (loss)

Giants ES (loss)

They could end up with 12 wins, (and yes they could end up with 18). There form against other top 8 sides has been ordinary, if this continues they may finish as los as 8th and be bundled straight out.

I think the Melbourne's and Saints of the world are still a year off. 

2 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

That would be a sight.

Eagles over there (loss)

Port ES (win)

Pies ES (win)

Saints ES (50/50 based on their last meeting and Saints win over the Cats)

Bulldogs ES (loss)

Hawks MCG (loss)

Swans Blundstone (loss)

Giants ES (loss)

They could end up with 12 wins, (and yes they could end up with 18). There form against other top 8 sides has been ordinary, if this continues they may finish as los as 8th and be bundled straight out.

I think the Melbourne's and Saints of the world are still a year off. 

Be superb if Port beat them...

1 hour ago, WAClark said:

I noticed Shane Warne spruiking the Saints chances of playing finals this year so had a look at their draw.

They have Gold Coast, Essendon, Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, North, Carlton, Sydney, Richmond, and Brisbane.

Given they're on 6 wins, I'd say they're a good chance to win 12, a fair chance of 13 and a sneaky shot at 14.

Who cares? What's it got to do with us?

1 hour ago, WAClark said:

Because Warnie is the font of all knowledge and intelligent comment...

I don't mind the Saints, but I'd very much enjoy finally breaking this [censored] drought against them and stuffing their finals chances at the same time.

34 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Be superb if Port beat them...

Port could also be added to the list of Jeykll and Hyde sides.

1 hour ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

That would be a sight.

Eagles over there (loss)

Speaking of that match mate and if the Kangas can get up for it, let's have a look at the Eagles run.

HOME V ESSENDON (WIN)

HOME V NTH MELB (WIN, But maybe UPSET)

AWAY V CARLTON (WIN, BUT MAYBE AWAY GAME "UPSET")

HOME V MELB (WIN, BUT IF WE'RE TALKING THE 8, THIS IS OUR MUST WIN )

AWAY V CWOOD (WIN)

AWAY V FREO (WIN)

AWAY V GWS (LOSS)

HOME V HAWKS (WIN, BUT MAYBE UPSET LOSS?)

AWAY V ADEL (LOSS, UNLESS ADEL ARE RESTING)

(Scuse the caps, i was excited)

We are in it. There's a reason people have been doubting the Eagles and Kangas over the past month, they're in danger of falling out if they don't step up and play finals type footy to earn their spot, assuming the teams outside the 8 also step up another notch and play consistently good footy.

Even if they win all of their expected wins, that still leave 2 losses. It only takes one or two upsets on top of those 2 losses and any team outside the 8 on 24 points has a chance to leap frog them if they can hit 7 or 8 out of 9 (or all 9) Slim chance but who knows. Richmond did it in 2013