How many will go  

197 members have voted

Posted
2 hours ago, bandicoot said:

I can't see us dropping more than 3 players... 

Michie (r)

newton

terlich

We use the first 2 picks in the draft and the last pick to upgrade white.

cant see Dawes delisted especially if we renegotiate on a lower salary. Grimes might save his career in the last 6 weeks or be trade bait. 

Dunn, garland and JKH are all contract.

we haven't stuck with trengove all these years to boot him out as soon as he gets better. He will get another chance.

pederson might be unlucky if the club believes he has no future.

might be the quietest trade period the club has had in a while. 

Michie's only a rookie list player (upgraded) don't forget, so you've only created two senior list spots. If we want tp promote White & Wagner, plus trade in/use free agency to add another 2 or 3 players and then use at least one draft pick (promoting White & Wagner would give us 3 list changes) then there will have to be others who are shaken loose from our list.

Posted

I reckon Roos will trade out or delist 6-8 in accordance with Goodwins needs.

I have a feeling we are looking for pace pace and more pace .

Of the turtles-only Trengove will survive.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Can't see that Roos will be the decision maker, - is no doubt playing a role in the ongoing considerations but surely his contract finishes by the end of September if not before.

Posted
10 minutes ago, xarronn said:

Can't see that Roos will be the decision maker, - is no doubt playing a role in the ongoing considerations but surely his contract finishes by the end of September if not before.

I'm told they recruit/ delist based solely on repetitive crackpots negative opinions of certain players on Demonland.

The whole staff they employ to do the job is just a smokescreen.

Posted
Just now, Biffen said:

I'm told they recruit/ delist based solely on repetitive crackpots negative opinions of certain players on Demonland.

In that case I stand corrected.

Posted
6 hours ago, Biffen said:

Why would trengove survive? As you have said "A Turtle" What will he bring to the table and in what position?? Nar might still have some currency elsewhere but nup I reckon Cactus!

Posted
1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Why would trengove survive? As you have said "A Turtle" What will he bring to the table and in what position?? Nar might still have some currency elsewhere but nup I reckon Cactus!

The other parts of his game ,are brilliant.

We made him the youngest captain of potentially the worst team ever which was disatrous... yet

He has busted his ring to get back on the park for us.

There's 3 reasons.

Posted
2 hours ago, Biffen said:

The other parts of his game ,are brilliant.

We made him the youngest captain of potentially the worst team ever which was disatrous... yet

There's 3 reasons.

Piont 1 He may well be the most sublime user of the footy in the history of the game, but evolving footy says speed and more speed are the keys!

Point 2 That fact we made him captian in a shizen team means nothing, what is your piont here?

Piont 3  Yes he has but guts alone in this game in this age is sometimes not enough.

I am being realistic and ask again what position and who would he replace in our best 22??

Posted

Mitchell,  Josh Kennedy,  Priddis, Ziebell. 

None are quick but very effective in todays footy.  Tall. Small. Quick. Steady. AFL fits all if you know how to get the footy... and can do some tackling as well !! JT will be in red & blue for at least 2017 and 2018.

Posted (edited)

16 hours ago, Biffen said:

Probably warrants its own thread then. "Are we the greatest supporter group since Norm Smith's era?"

Edited by AmDamDemon

Posted
7 hours ago, picket fence said:

Piont 1 He may well be the most sublime user of the footy in the history of the game, but evolving footy says speed and more speed are the keys!

Point 2 That fact we made him captian in a shizen team means nothing, what is your piont here?

Piont 3  Yes he has but guts alone in this game in this age is sometimes not enough.

I am being realistic and ask again what position and who would he replace in our best 22??

Like it involves zoning structures?

Posted

I can see the dees sticking their hand up as a third party during the trade period. We have been active recently and I can see us using some contracted players to either improve our draft position slightly.

Of the mentioned contracted players, sides like Fremantle, Brisbane are set to lose experienced players at seasons end. Players like Dunn and Garland have immediate value as they once did for us.

Wouldn't be surprised to see jkh sold for 50c on the dollar if a deal comes up. He wants to play and cracking our best team is getting that much harder.

Posted
On 15 July 2016 at 1:39 PM, mauriesy said:

No way would you get rid of Spencer if he wasn't contracted. We'd have no backup to Gawn whatsoever.

Agree totally  

On 15 July 2016 at 5:55 PM, AngryAtCasey said:

Terlich, Newton, Michie, Max King, Grimes i think are all a lock to be off the list at years end.

Big question marks over Dawes, Pedersen, Matt Jones. I expect some will go, some will stay.

Dunn, Garland, JKH could be traded out on the cheap and Neal-Bullen trade bait.

Unknown is Lumumba and how he feels about his body/future.

I frankly couldn't give a stuff about how Lumumba feels about his body/future    IMO he is far too 'precious' and offers very little  

12 hours ago, Biffen said:

The other parts of his [Trengove] game ,are brilliant.

There's 3 reasons.

2 and 3 are not reasons enough IMO. 

Posted
3 hours ago, monoccular said:

I frankly couldn't give a stuff about how Lumumba feels about his body/future    IMO he is far too 'precious' and offers very little  

Given he's contracted i think you'll find it will be how he feels that will dictate whether he stays on the list or not.

Posted (edited)

Anyone here want H across before Jayden Hunt? Pretty sure I don't.

So he has been lapped by youth. I'd be happy to trade out of H.

Edited by Left Field

Posted

What I'd like to see happen during this year's trade period is for us to shop our 2017 1st rounder and possibly 2018 second rounder, as well as maybe a couple or more of our handy depth players (players that can actually still contribute something positive to the team like Grimes, Dunn,Trengrove, JKH and Newton- I think the game has well and truly gone past Dawes, Garland and Terlich which makes them untradable)  to one of the Queensland teams ( preferably Brsbane who'll finish bottom two)  in exchange for their 2016 first draft pick so we can select WA's Sam Petrevski- Seton.

Sam is an Indigenous kid from Hall's Creek in the far north of WA who, as primarily an outside mid, is a player like no other currently on our list.

His strongest attributes currently appear to be:

Clever and accurate kicking with both feet both down and across the ground over short- medium distances, also appears a good longish kick too.

A smart handballer.

Fast, has the ability to run away from opponents with ease.

Great evasive skills.

Defensively, looks amazing, with his very fast closing speed, followed by what I feel based on what I've seen of him so far is his most impressive attribute - his chasedown and brutal tackling. 

The only possible knock on him ( and it's a pretty minor knock in my opinion) is the most recent height/ weight measurement I've seen is he is 181cm and 76kg but he can gain the weight needed to be able to physically compete at senior level quite easily over one or two preseasons. Hopefully he is still growing and ends up being somewhere in the 184 - 186cm range.

He's already already drawing comparisons to Chad Wingard and Ciril Rioli - he personally reminds me quite a bit of the Krakour brothers- especially Jimmy with his chasing down and his amazing tackling ability as well as being a real tough nut.

The prospect of Petrevski - Seton and Hunt being our wingmen from 2018 onwards is a real mouth-watering one in my opinion.

I doubt homesickness will be an issue for him, as a kid from Halls Creek now living about 2500 km away in Perth, he is already  a long way from home but  doesn't seem to have any problems being so far from family and friends. I also think having fellow Indigenous West Aussies in Nev Jetta and Jeff Garlett, as well as Dean Kent and Jesse at the club will really help him to settle into the team and to living in Melbourne.

As I said before there is nobody like him currently on our list - he certainly fills a glaring need. He was an all Australian as a 17 year old and only  an injured hamstring at the beginning  this year's under 18 championship prevented him from repeating the dose. I would absolutely love it if we ended up drafting him but if we want him, we have to trade up and get ahead of Freo who will no doubt take him if he's available. 

It will be great if Mahoney, Taylor and Viney are as aggressive during trade week this year as they were last - getting pick2-3, Hibberd for our 2nd rounder, Nathan Brown/ Eric MacKenzie for our 3rd rounder and a competent, handy player or two, use our 4th rounder ourselves and then upgrade Wagner and White with our 5th and 6th rounders I believe would add up to a very successful draft/ trade period for us.

I don't think that we should be chasing Prestia or Hurley - whilst you can never have too many good mids and we certainly don't, Prestia's injury and price tag rule him out for me and Hurley is overpriced/ overrated as well as a [censored] to boot, so I hope we steer clear from him.

There are a few articles about Petrevski- Seton online as well as some vision of him on you tube - unfortunately I don't know how to link them to here, his highlights of the games he played against Vic Metro and SA from last years championship were particularly impressive, as I've said before, check out his defensive pressure/ tackling, as well as his kicking and ability to run away from his opponent with ease- I really hope  we end up drafting him - get it done Melbourne - go Demons!!!!

Posted

Does anyone know what is up with Dawes? 

Didn't play/emergency vs  Freo last week. Not on injury list.  He was selected to play for Casey this week but spent the game in their coaches box.  (Interesting that it was the Casey box and not the Seniors box...)

I'm guessing he is injured.  If he has missed two weeks already and will need a few weeks at Casey to get match fitness back he may struggle to get back into the team this year. 

So can't see him being offered another contract.

Could he have already hung up his boots?  Does a coaches/development role await him next year?

Totally surmising.   

Posted
On ‎16‎/‎07‎/‎2016 at 0:24 PM, Biffen said:

Glad so see I haven't been posting on here for nothing...

Posted

Trade Neal-Bullen & our 2nd round Pick to the Crows who send their 1st Round Pick to Essendon for Hibberd

Trengove, Garlnd & our 2017 1st Round Pick to Gold Coast for Prestia & their 2016 3rd Round Pick

Zac Clarke as a free agent

Let Grimes walk as a free agent

Delist: Michie, Max King, Terlich, Pedersen

Also delist Dawes but re-rookie him as cover for Hogan/support at VFL level for Weideman & Hulett's development.

Promote Wagner & White

One years deals for Matt Jones & Newton to go with Spencer's.

Allows 2 picks in the national draft (both in the 3rd round) and three picks in the rookie draft (not including Dawes).