Posted
On 6/6/2016 at 1:20 PM, Buzzy said:

The key part where this theory breaks down is how poorly O Mac (his main competition) is playing.  

Interesting when you don't go in a particular thread and go back a bit when you do. The many DL critics of Omac are clearly of completely divergent thinking to the coaching panel who clearly rate him as both a keyt part of our future and a key part of the now.

His selection this week is clearly not just about getting game time into him. This is a critical match for us to win and they really wanted omac in the side because with him we are a better chance of winning. With his injury it would have been very easy to rest him and replace him with Dunn or Garland. But they didn't. To be clear i am a big fan of both Dunn and Garland but this is an excellent decision. 

Posted
25 minutes ago, binman said:

Interesting when you don't go in a particular thread and go back a bit when you do. The many DL critics of Omac are clearly of completely divergent thinking to the coaching panel who clearly rate him as both a keyt part of our future and a key part of the now.

His selection this week is clearly not just about getting game time into him. This is a critical match for us to win and they really wanted omac in the side because with him we are a better chance of winning. With his injury it would have been very easy to rest him and replace him with Dunn or Garland. But they didn't. To be clear i am a big fan of both Dunn and Garland but this is an excellent decision. 

you would think they know what they are doing, but you do wonder just a little

Posted
2 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Look at the date of my post before you reply mate. I was talking about Dunn.

I know. Just a light hearted (but unfortunately poor) attempt to apply a very loose double entendre on your description being capable of applying to either of Mr Dunn, Frost and Oscar Moon. A failed attempt to add a little humor. No offence intended sir

• 1 year later...
Posted

There are reports that hes done an ACL and which is potentially season ending. Which is a huge blow for Dunn who was playing great footy and on the verge of playing his first ever finals series..

Which also leads me to my next question.. did we get rid of Dunn too easily? My opinion is yes we did! We put all our basket into developing Oscar as our number 1 defender, but yet got rid of a experience and hardened defender who could have guided him and helped with his development.

I'm still unsure on Oscar.. said this yesterday but he made McCartin look like Wayne Carey at times.. just seems slow to react and once the ball hits the ground hes Ben Holland paced.

All the best to Dunny btw, was always a favorite of mine and still is.

• Sad 2
Posted
4 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

There are reports that hes done an ACL and which is potentially season ending. Which is a huge blow for Dunn who was playing great footy and on the verge of playing his first ever finals series..

Which also leads me to my next question.. did we get rid of Dunn too easily? My opinion is yes we did! We put all our basket into developing Oscar as our number 1 defender, but yet got rid of a experience and hardened defender who could have guided him and helped with his development.

I'm still unsure on Oscar.. said this yesterday but he made McCartin look like Wayne Carey at times.. just seems slow to react and once the ball hits the ground hes Ben Holland paced.

that's shattering for the bloke. not very talented but always gave his all which our defenders refuse to do now. deserved to play finals more than anyone.

Posted

Shocking news for Lynden

he was having a great season, our backline could have done with his experience, more than once...

all the best mate

Posted (edited)

Dunny chose to break Roosy's defensive set plays by kicking a torp down the guts after a behind, only too watch it sail back over his head for a goal. He didn't play again for us. If you're going to defy the coach's instructions you'd better get something special out of it. 

He is a battling servant and by all accounts a ripping bloke. But I always thought he played the percentages to cover his man only, which suits another era of AFL. I recall him doing this repeatedly at Docklands vs Saints. It hung teammates out to dry everytime because he wouldn't leave his man to help.

Different team and coach, different game plan, different player.

Hope he recovers quickly.

Long term I'd much rather have Omac, Lever and eventually, Petty. Small, skilled defenders with pace are what we need going forward. 

Edited by Moonshadow

Posted

Admire Dunny, would love him at the Dees still, always gave his best for the club and I can't thank him enough for that especially his passion. All the best

Posted (edited)
40 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I liked Dunn, thought he was pretty hard done by in his last year for us. For his sake, I hope it's not an ACL.  But looking back is a pointless hypothetical, if he has done his ACL, then we probably did offload him at the right time.

I'm more interested in them giving Frost a go now as I think he is the answer to some of our issues down back with his height and pace.  Smith does a few good gutsy and hard things, but overall, I haven't been overly impressed with his performances to date (though everyones performance look worse in a loosing side).  Oscar's form was excellent earlier in the season, but has probably slumped in recient weeks and I don't think is helped by him being about the only genuine tall down there.  When we let go Dunn, we were also still using T Mac as our number 1 key defender.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

Posted
14 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Dunny chose to break Roosy's defensive set plays by kicking a torp down the guts after a behind, only too watch it sail back over his head for a goal. He didn't play again for us. If you're going to defy the coach's instructions you'd better get something special out of it. 

He is a battling servant and by all accounts a ripping bloke. But I always thought he played the percentages to cover his man only, which suits another era of AFL. I recall him doing this repeatedly at Docklands vs Saints. It hung teammates out to dry everytime because he wouldn't leave his man to help.

Different team and coach, different game plan, different player.

Hope he recovers quickly.

Long term I'd much rather have Omac, Lever and eventually, Petty. Small, skilled defenders with pace are what we need going forward. 

How bout right now?

Long term many of us in here could be all dead!!

Posted
5 minutes ago, SFebey said:

It'd be devastating for him if they win the flag, I hope they don't and definitely more so now. 

Even a taste of a final would have been some reward for years of toil, but I can't imagine what missing a GF would feel like for him.  You're right , hope they bomb out !

Posted
7 minutes ago, SFebey said:

It'd be devastating for him if they win the flag, I hope they don't and definitely more so now. 

They've got a tough run home. Still are yet to beat anyone credible. With Treloar and now Dunn out I'm expecting their world to come crashing down. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, SFebey said:

I can think of lots of other reasons for them not to win a flag unrelated to Dunn, chief amongst them, because it's Collingwood

I will disavow that comment if ever revealed to Mrs Timbo.

But it's never nice to see a player injured at all.

Posted

After seeing Dunn completely go over the top in celebration after round 23 last year, I hold no respect/care for him and either should the club. Sure, be happy about winning a game, don’t rub it in your exteammates faces.

He is now just another pie player who I couldn’t care less for..

Posted
2 hours ago, GawnWithTheWind said:

After seeing Dunn completely go over the top in celebration after round 23 last year, I hold no respect/care for him and either should the club. Sure, be happy about winning a game, don’t rub it in your exteammates faces.

He is now just another pie player who I couldn’t care less for..

Ditto

Posted

Poor guy. What awful luck!

Dunn didn’t fit Roos’ defensive set up. But we got Frost to essentially replace Dunn and he can’t get a game while Dunn is flourishing. Never did get that one. 

Posted

And now he’s done his knee .. 

I feel so sorry for him , he’s going to miss out on finals. 

He gave great service to us through wretched times and doesn’t deserve to end his career in the this way.