whatwhat say what 23,872 Posted September 25, 2019 Posted September 25, 2019 jenkins can play he's the tallest small forward i've ever seen 1 1 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,389 Posted September 25, 2019 Posted September 25, 2019 18 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said: jenkins can play he's the tallest small forward i've ever seen Loves the easy goal out the back. 1 Quote
P-man 13,367 Posted September 25, 2019 Posted September 25, 2019 5 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said: Anyone else cringe when they see this thread bumped? I get that feeling when I see the Brandon Ellis thread bumped. 2 1 Quote
loges 6,767 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 TBH he has his detractors, and may be the tallest small forward going around but I'd back him to kick more goals than Weideman every day of the week........and by a fair margin. 1 Quote
Dee tention 619 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 If the Dees have no intention in trading for Ben King. I can see the Dees adding Jenkins to the list as he will come cheapish! I would consider Levi Casboult before Jenkins. 1 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,168 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 21 hours ago, whatwhatsaywhat said: jenkins can play he's the tallest small forward i've ever seen So you're saying he's very much a required player for us then WW? Quote
whatwhat say what 23,872 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 12 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said: So you're saying he's very much a required player for us then WW? As I said to a crows mate: third round pick? They pay his entire salary fourth round pick? We go 50-50 fifth round pick? Whoever gets him pays him Quote
Laughing Goat 308 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 No for me.... $800k per year, thinks he's a star & plays bruise free footy. Looks for the easy kick every time & Goodwin, I presume, wouldn't what his style of game at the Dees. Very athletic & mobile but someone needs to grab him & change the way he plays & he could be effective......backline may suit him. Grossly overated. 1 Quote
Demon3 2,541 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 I think JJ has upside, he reads the play very well for a Fwd and it would allow Tom Mc to do what he does best and get on his bike. I wonder if there were the same reservations about recruiting Garlett when we did. Just for a minute imagine if JJ snags 30 goals for us, Tom gets 45, and Melk gets 25. That's a good spread, plus 20+ for Bailey, and hopefully Weid. 1 Quote
AshleyH30 566 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 8 minutes ago, Demon3 said: I think JJ has upside, he reads the play very well for a Fwd and it would allow Tom Mc to do what he does best and get on his bike. I wonder if there were the same reservations about recruiting Garlett when we did. Just for a minute imagine if JJ snags 30 goals for us, Tom gets 45, and Melk gets 25. That's a good spread, plus 20+ for Bailey, and hopefully Weid. Wouldn't mind him, but he's on a large wage. Unless Adelaide paid more than 50% of his wage, I wouldn't go anywhere near it. 1 Quote
Demon3 2,541 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 5 minutes ago, AshleyH30 said: Wouldn't mind him, but he's on a large wage. Unless Adelaide paid more than 50% of his wage, I wouldn't go anywhere near it. Yep and that's a fair point and a really valid reason to stay away but i dont think its all doom and gloom if he landed and we negotiated a lower pay scale which he said he is willing to take. 2 Quote
BrisbaneDemon 1,575 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-trades-josh-jenkins-future-move-news-whispers-adelaide-crows/news-story/d1d5ecde4a7e84538c037deb91e34cc0?fbclid=IwAR2Lc-8mTEtufpsu10DEdgtakgwBeyqEglgN7kr9sA1Drnfb4izfUC7k_3c Says he would take a pay cut to get out of there!, i'd take him for $500k a year, hes effectively replacing Tim Smith. We need scoring options and this bloke is one. 2 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 I agree that we are in need of another KPF until either Tom's toe gets better, Petty comes on, or Weid's is found after being MIA this whole season. Quote
AaronDaveyChipsAndGravey 390 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 3 hours ago, BrisbaneDemon said: https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-trades-josh-jenkins-future-move-news-whispers-adelaide-crows/news-story/d1d5ecde4a7e84538c037deb91e34cc0?fbclid=IwAR2Lc-8mTEtufpsu10DEdgtakgwBeyqEglgN7kr9sA1Drnfb4izfUC7k_3c Says he would take a pay cut to get out of there!, i'd take him for $500k a year, hes effectively replacing Tim Smith. We need scoring options and this bloke is one. A pricier upgrade on a rookie listed player thats for sure. I'm slightly coming around to the idea of him especially after saying he'd take a massive paycut to play at another club. On a side note though, would we be paying anything in terms of picks for him? Quote
BrisbaneDemon 1,575 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 19 minutes ago, AaronDaveyChipsAndGravey said: A pricier upgrade on a rookie listed player thats for sure. I'm slightly coming around to the idea of him especially after saying he'd take a massive paycut to play at another club. On a side note though, would we be paying anything in terms of picks for him? Adelaide being Adelaide will certainly want pick/s, can’t hurt to ask what they’d let him go for and how much of his salary would they cover? Could be similar to the Watts trade where they cover a part of his wage ??♂️ Quote
AaronDaveyChipsAndGravey 390 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 Just now, BrisbaneDemon said: Adelaide being Adelaide will certainly want pick/s, can’t hurt to ask what they’d let him go for and how much of his salary would they cover? Could be similar to the Watts trade where they cover a part of his wage ??♂️ Agree. Here's hoping we'd be asking the right questions around him re money and any potential picks. Can't imagine Adelaide would have much bargaining power given how bad their relationship is with Jenkins now. 1 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,691 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 He'll be 31, not chasing, not tackling, not crashing packs, bobbing up on twitter and SEN whilst playing for Casey. I don't care if he cost 500k or 5k I don't see the appeal. Take the chance with an athletic junior or state league player and save the cash for a shot at Ben King if Weid or Petty don't work out. 15 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,389 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 (edited) 32 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said: He'll be 31, not chasing, not tackling, not crashing packs, bobbing up on twitter and SEN whilst playing for Casey. I don't care if he cost 500k or 5k I don't see the appeal. Take the chance with an athletic junior or state league player and save the cash for a shot at Ben King if Weid or Petty don't work out. 27-29 maybe but 31 years old, no thank you. Plus he’s a seagull crab. Edited September 26, 2019 by Ethan Tremblay 1 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 Can't believe I'm saying this, but I'd rather Johnno Patten than Jerker Jenkins. Please don't tell Range Rover... ? 1 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,872 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 All the talk has been Geelong as far as I know 1 Quote
BAMF 4,487 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 24 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said: All the talk has been Geelong as far as I know Please be true. 4 2 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 Surely.. we are better off backing Sam Weideman in than chasing JJ He's a million years old and doesn't even play as a key forward. at least Weid has some talent and a future at the level if he can put it together. 4 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 2 hours ago, Patches O’houlihan said: at least Weid has some talent and a future at the level if he can put it together. It might just be me, but i feel that Weids doubts his own ability. Someone at the club needs to sit him down a continually show him his games in the finals last year. He sure as [censored] has the ability, time for him to truly believe in himself, step out of his passive shadow and become the assertive forward we saw in September last year. Quote
old55 23,864 Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 16 hours ago, whatwhatsaywhat said: All the talk has been Geelong as far as I know Baffling when they already have Stanley who is a better player. They need a real ruckman, I guess that's why they went hard after Goldstein. They could actually do worse than Preuss. 1 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,168 Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 18 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: He'll be 31, not chasing, not tackling, not crashing packs, bobbing up on twitter and SEN whilst playing for Casey. I don't care if he cost 500k or 5k I don't see the appeal. Take the chance with an athletic junior or state league player and save the cash for a shot at Ben King if Weid or Petty don't work out. The age factor is there but let's say we got him very cheap DS and Weid (just speculating) is a bust after another 8 games or so of trialling in 2020. No Bull Smith. We are starting to plumb the depths a little in terms of support for T-Mac in the KF stakes. And what if he Tommy doesn't cut the mustard in 2020 or incurs a new injury? Not saying he will and hoping otherwise but need to look at the "what ifs". Especially MFC luck with injuries, anything's possible. If we got two reasonable years and an improvement on what the Weid brings at the moment? All stats point to a fair upgrade in comparison. Might be the difference between a bounce vs a slim finals shot next season? Two years max on small coin and we have some KF depth/insurance. Maybe a win win? Normally i wouldn't even consider JJ but beggars can't be choosers and in JJ's case there's no begging. He wants out!... https://www.afl.com.au/stats/stats-pro#/Compare?playerIds=CD_I294828,CD_I993806&comparisonTab=h2h 2 Quote