View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

13 hours ago, Cranky Franky said:

Not sure how my statement could annoy anyone. I was simply pointing out our woeful efforts to recruit young rucks.

I could have added a few more.

Two category B rookies and one A rookie. Yes they were misses but the cost was negligible. I think you “make an effort” when you invest draft or trade capital in a player.

All three were basically free swings.

Pleased we've been able to get him, but I think he's the most speculative and long-term of our additions this year. I'll definitely be interested to see where he slots in during training and what line-group he's seemingly training with.

I'm agnostic at this stage on whether he'll become a success story like Jack Viney, or if he'll be relegated to the Kynan Brown and Taj Woewodin pile. He's got some great attributes but we'll need to be patient with this one, though I think for Kalani's sake he's come in at an ideal time to learn and develop.

3 minutes ago, layzie said:

I still want to see what his run and jump is like and if it's the same as Jeff's.

From footage I've seen it's pretty spectacular, but I'd contextualise this against the backdrop of it occurring against other schoolboys, so it can be hard to get a good read.

From memory he was a state combine attendee, I'd be interested to see his results against others (may have a quick Google later).

I know it’s all part of the “industry” but I find it a little sad that there’s so much attention paid to Kalani’s build. He’s painfully aware of it. He knows he is “too skinny” (his words, not mine). I think it’s harsh that this is something powerful enough to erode his confidence and I reckon that’s what’s happening right now. The pressure on him is real. He’s still a kid 😕

Could someone help me - so White is drafted as a rookie. Does that mean he was not good enough to be considered for the draft? or is this a different pathway? I realise he is a F/S

If so, our expectations of him should be fairly low?

10 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

I know it’s all part of the “industry” but I find it a little sad that there’s so much attention paid to Kalani’s build. He’s painfully aware of it. He knows he is “too skinny” (his words, not mine). I think it’s harsh that this is something powerful enough to erode his confidence and I reckon that’s what’s happening right now. The pressure on him is real. He’s still a kid 😕

It’s weird isn’t it. being skinny as a bloke and copping heaps of [censored] for it seems socially acceptable whereas similar things aren’t. I was painfully skinny as a teen and copped years of ‘jokes’ from my mates. killed my confidence for years and I still think it about sometimes these days even though i’m fat now

I showed them 😂

12 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

It would have an effect on him mentally which isn't ideal.

To be honest his build is the least of my worries. Will Darcy is a beanpole but do you reckon they won't be giving him a fair crack at this AFL thing? Not bloody likely.

The upside is enough to warrant being a project player and Kalani will get the best guidance in order to build his frame and learn the ropes. I think these new ruck rules might actually help him with the ability to jump early etc.

1 minute ago, DubDee said:

Could someone help me - so White is drafted as a rookie. Does that mean he was not good enough to be considered for the draft? or is this a different pathway? I realise he is a F/S

If so, our expectations of him should be fairly low?

Multitude of reasoning can go into it, but there are list management benefits including being able to be placed on a one year contract and the payments being significantly lower for a rookie listed player. We're in a pretty precarious position regarding financials, so that may have been a partial consideration given Kalani was tipped by most to be a rookie selection and he's probably more of a 'project' at the moment, or at least a selection based on potential rather than a hard baseline of performance (i.e., think the majority of first and second round selections).

I would definitely temper expectations; I think a few on here may have gotten ahead of themselves and some of it is due to the romance of the White name that's synonymous with Jeff.

17 hours ago, Cranky Franky said:

Fully agree. Shows good footy smarts & positioning. Seems to have much better footy instincts than Farris-White, Bradtke & Verrall had.

You have set a low bar there CF.

23 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

Multitude of reasoning can go into it, but there are list management benefits including being able to be placed on a one year contract and the payments being significantly lower for a rookie listed player. We're in a pretty precarious position regarding financials, so that may have been a partial consideration given Kalani was tipped by most to be a rookie selection and he's probably more of a 'project' at the moment, or at least a selection based on potential rather than a hard baseline of performance (i.e., think the majority of first and second round selections).

I would definitely temper expectations; I think a few on here may have gotten ahead of themselves and some of it is due to the romance of the White name that's synonymous with Jeff.

Spot on BLWNBA.

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

I don't think so. He is a a professional athlete that needs to build body size, which he will do over a few seasons, both naturally and with hard work.

It's no different to a young player building endurance capability.

He knows it, the coaches know it, and we know it. And everyone knows that will take time and require patience, which if anything takes the pressure off him.

2 minutes ago, Robbie On Skates said:

I don't think so. He is a a professional athlete that needs to build body size, which he will do over a few seasons, both naturally and with hard work.

It's no different to a young player building endurance capability.

He knows it, the coaches know it, and we know it. And everyone knows that will take time and require patience, which if anything takes the pressure off him.

Yeah he knows it in theory but that doesn’t mean he’s regarding it in the same way as the coaches do and we do and everyone does (as you said).

Again, he’s 18yo.

23 hours ago, Big Gun said:

Very good with ground balls too. Clean below his knees. New ruck rule will suit him to a tee. Won’t be many able to match his jump, if any. Future is bright I believe. Confident he will be developed the right way too and not rushed. Max a huge bonus.

Good luck and welcome Kalani.

Jeff his dad really rates his work below the knees. He looks a natural in those highlights. just need experience and a bigger body.

Will be interesting where he is played at Casey.

We have a surplus of tall forwards and he's not up to a full time ruck spot against the men as yet.

Perhaps CHB with an occasional run in the ruck

8 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

I think something that is really good is Jeff has been fantastic at pumping up his tyres while also being honest in that he would be a project player.

Given he's been picked up as a rookie, I think most fans will recognise that he will take time.