Brayshaw Self 847 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 According to The Footy Show: Brisbane Lions ruckman Stefan Martin is considering formally telling the Lions of his intentions to return to Victoria for personal reasons.
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 It's time to come home and make things right Stefan. C'mon mate, you know you want to...
Earl Hood 6,167 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Please come home we need you. Neeld is long gone.
rjay 25,434 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Please come home we need you. Neeld is long gone. What position will he play 'Earl'?
chook fowler 19,787 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 What position will he play 'Earl'? Centre half everywhere
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 What position will he play 'Earl'? It's actually a fair point rjay. Stef always plays his best footy as a number 1 ruckman, but if we want Gawn to play that role it makes recruiting him a little silly. We tried him in the role Pedersen and Dawes play now and it never worked and, while he has improved, I can't see that changing much now and would be a waste.
Ron Burgundy 8,588 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Educated, trendy haircut kinda guy. Just wants to be back in Melbourne. For personal reasons. Ie, his own sanity. Get him Dees.
Ron Burgundy 8,588 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 You'd have to think Essendon would be out of the running.
Earl Hood 6,167 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 What position will he play 'Earl'? Rjay perhaps it is Ruck rover and pinch hit in the ruck while Max is fit. If Max goes down then Stef takes over. If we got Steff we could make some decisions on Spencil and Jamar for next year. It Would be interesting experiment as both these guys can cover some ground and get to contests so opposition balls kicked in the air become a problem for them as we have two pretty good aerialists blocking movement forward.
Demon Jack 7,202 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 I wonder if we could trade the players we drafted with the two late draft picks we received from Brisbane for Martin. Matt Jones and Dean Terlich could easily slot into the Lions' team...
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Not a snow flake's chance Stef would come back to the Dees. He left for personal reasons, he won't come back for personal reasons.
Bang Bang Bang 5,875 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Turns 29 at the end of the season. Where did all those years go?
KingDingAling 3,758 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Should mean the Lions will hang onto Leunberger. Can only be a good thing for the draft, one less compo pick.
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Turns 29 at the end of the season. Where did all those years go?I ask myself that everydayI would love to have him back, but he probably isn't what we need right now
RalphiusMaximus 6,112 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Turns 29 at the end of the season. Where did all those years go? He was 21 when we rookied him.
Yossarian 1,820 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 I regret not supporting his terrible moustache effort during movember.
Good Times Grimes 2,396 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Brisbane is in a very sorry state.
JV7 2,375 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 What did we get for him a pick in the 50's & 60's brisbane will get a minimum of a second rounder... Another masterstroke by old neeldy... Just like Brent Moloney was the easiest player in the comp to tag, yet racked up 35 touches against neeld.. Yes, I still hate the man
What 18,810 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 What did we get for him a pick in the 50's & 60's brisbane will get a minimum of a second rounder... Another masterstroke by old neeldy... Just like Brent Moloney was the easiest player in the comp to tag, yet racked up 35 touches against neeld.. Yes, I still hate the man He helped get us Hogan, I think we can forgive him now
praha 11,274 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Average footballer that personifies the Melbourne of 2008-2013: 1 great game in every 10, and always injured. IMO we're better placed with Gawn and Spencer.
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Average footballer that personifies the Melbourne of 2008-2013: 1 great game in every 10, and always injured. IMO we're better placed with Gawn and Spencer. Yes, but he's now close to AA ruckman, as he was last year. Showed considerable promise when Jamar went down for half a season and he rucked solo. The Russian was the ruck we should have got rid of, he had trade value back then. Stef just an average footballer? No. Managed very poorly by the MFC? Definetly.
jumbo returns 6,745 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 There is such a different era about to unfold. Why delve into the past? A flaky one at that? Max Gawn has just signed for three more years.
praha 11,274 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Yes, but he's now close to AA ruckman, as he was last year. Showed considerable promise when Jamar went down for half a season and he rucked solo. The Russian was the ruck we should have got rid of, he had trade value back then. Stef just an average footballer? No. Managed very poorly by the MFC? Definetly. Or maybe he's a contract player, playing for his next contract at a Melbourne team? I suspect he never wanted to be in Brisbane from the start. Yeah, he's lifted quite a bit in Brisbane, but the gap between his best and worst is pretty big. And he's always injured. No thanks. At 29 I'd rather continue to develop Spencer. Gawn is set now.
Demon_JB 1,389 Posted August 13, 2015 Posted August 13, 2015 Spoke to a guy from work whose old man is close friends with Steph Martin and does a lot for the club. The personal reason to come back to VIC is because he doesn't like playing for Brisbane plain and simple. There's about 4 clubs interested in his services with the Doggies being the front runners. Mentioned to him about coming back to the Red & Blue but unfortunately Steph doesn't see it happening.