Posted

Start worrying if he doesn't sign by start of next season.

We have more players out of contract this year than in contract

Nothing to worry about yet

Posted
1 minute ago, SaberFang said:

I'm sick of all this media exposure already, and he's signed until next September. You wonder if it'll start affecting his performance if he remains under so much scrutiny, to the point where the media are starting to question if an interstate family visit could be a visit to Fremantle FC.

Maybe if they keep bringing it up he'll just re-sign to get the camel off his back? :)

To be fair it is just ridiculous. It was on SEN (I know but it puts the kid to sleep) as driving home. They said something along the lines of big news coming out of the  West and it also says hold onto your seats Melbourne fans... Gosage did say "those comments are a fair bit of mayo" on the story but then proceeded to pump it up.

Posted
45 minutes ago, Curry & Beer said:

it's definitely not 'nothing'. There are hundreds of players at clubs outside their home state. How many of them just take off during the middle of a regularly fixtured round for a visit? The answer is one.

...that you know of

...that the media pumps up.

God, you post some nonsense from time to time.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Curry & Beer said:

well substantiated

Martin, Rockliff, Schache already, Oliver already, these are off the top of my head and I've heard plenty of others over the years. 

Do you always have to be so argumentative? Especially when your matter of fact post was garbage. 

Posted
39 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Righto Curry.  Go ahead and get your knickers in a twist.

I'm impressed that you know the comings and goings of each player from every club in the competition.  Must take up plenty of your time.

you just reckon you know everything don't you. So condescending. Go on then prove it to me that players just taking off in the middle of the week to fly across the country is commonplace behaviour. Obviously it isn't. They live their lives in a strict regiment of activity during the week and you're just a fool living in denial if you claim this is 'nothing'

he'd be spotted at Ross Lyon's house trying on a guernsey and you'd say 'nothing mate, nothing' with your bloody hands over your ears and your eyes shut

Posted

He'll either stay or go. The important fact is that the #farceshambles days appear to be behind us. We have good people making good decisions both in our administration and our footy department. Trading next years first rounder to ensure we could get both Oliver and Weidemann is indicative of that.

Posted
1 minute ago, Deestroy All said:

Martin, Rockliff, Schache already, Oliver already, these are off the top of my head and I've heard plenty of others over the years. 

Do you always have to be so argumentative? Especially when your matter of fact post was garbage. 

4 players off the top of your head, well i said there were hundreds to choose from. So youve gone and proven my point. See the post above, it is nowhere near commonplace and you damn well know it

Posted
1 minute ago, Curry & Beer said:

4 players off the top of your head, well i said there were hundreds to choose from. So youve gone and proven my point. See the post above, it is nowhere near commonplace and you damn well know it

Your point was an underlined one. 

You were wrong. 

Posted
Just now, Curry & Beer said:

you just reckon you know everything don't you. So condescending. Go on then prove it to me that players just taking off in the middle of the week to fly across the country is commonplace behaviour. Obviously it isn't. They live their lives in a strict regiment of activity during the week and you're just a fool living in denial if you claim this is 'nothing'

he'd be spotted at Ross Lyon's house trying on a guernsey and you'd say 'nothing mate, nothing' with your bloody hands over your ears and your eyes shut

You made an outlandish claim, which is your strength, that only ONE player visits their family during the season.  Can you back that up?  Of course you can't, because it's not true.  As others have said, some of our own draftees and younger players have done this already during the season.

It's nothing.  Even Roos mentioned it in his press conference yesterday.  I don't claim to know everything, I just don't go over the top about something that is nothing to worry about.

Posted (edited)

I believe as a rule of thumb, with the exception of Cloke,  that these moving rumours that never seem to die down usually turn out to be true.  FFS what interest does Hogan have to not kill it now?  I don't think it is all about money like with Cloke.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

You were wrong. 

yeah well you are familiar with the concept of hyperbole I reckon. Answer the question, is it commonplace or unusual. Is it nothing or something.

Posted
Just now, Deestroy All said:

You were wrong. 

It's like banging your head against a wall with Curry.  You gave more than one example, yet you've somehow proven his point.  The steam will be coming out of his ears in a minute...

Posted
1 minute ago, Curry & Beer said:

yeah well you are familiar with the concept of hyperbole I reckon. Answer the question, is it commonplace or unusual. Is it nothing or something.

It is common that clubs with a well run player welfare program let players visit home (should it be interstate) during the year. 

Relax. 

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

It's like banging your head against a wall with Curry.  You gave more than one example, yet you've somehow proven his point.  The steam will be coming out of his ears in a minute...

That's not the only orifice Curry and Beer will blow steam out of. 

Edited by Demi Dee
Auto correct

Posted
4 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

ok sorry for saying 1. I forgot the level of pedantry that goes on around here and the inability to detect hyperbole I'll go with DA's huge quantity of 4 out of several hundred - and obviously it doesn't matter for the majority of others where there is no question of some go home factor. I mean seriously, comparing Oliver to Hogan? What he's a chance of returning to his town of population 1000 to play on the ball there is he? You know DAMN WELL there is a REASON it makes the news when Hogan does it because for most others it is not an issue, so stop playing dumb, as natural as it may come to you

" Even Roos mentioned it " oh you should have said that in the first place, now I'm convinced. FMD.

the problem is deep down you know what's going to happen and you're finding it very painful to deal with. Don't take it out on me

Posted
2 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

It is common that clubs with a well run player welfare program let players visit home (should it be interstate) during the year. 

Relax. 

Plus the 8 day break makes it an ideal time to do this

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Petraccattack said:

He really is in Perth wtf

I don't know whether you guys got the segment in Vic but I just watched it here in Perf.

Said that his contract is not about money but rather team success, J Browns comments are no more than a little love for his fellow key forwards and Ross Lyons missus cooks a wicked lamb roast.

Also, Lachie Reid who interviewed is a passionate Dee's fan who I've had the pleasure of chatting to a couple of times at functions. Apparently Hogan was sitting in cattle class (a sure sign MFC know he's going) but Lachie pulled some strings (ch10 budget strings I'd say) and managed to get Hoges upgraded to Business class.

Oh, almost forgot... He also donated some bone to Nat Fyfes leg injury.

Edited by McQueen
Posted
5 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

Relax. 

yeah yeah relax

i will be bumping this one when the day comes and you can apologise then