Sam Newman's comments on Mitch Clark

On 10/04/2015 at 04:45, It said:

So you'd rather have kept Scully than get Hogan and Dawes. Time to let go and enjoy the ride.

Yeah, you're right, I will.....but, geez, he shits me.

On 09/04/2015 at 12:46, hogans_heroes said:

its the AFL

Players get sledged for anything and everything,. if he doesnt like he he should hang up the boots

He did or so he told us.

"Have a good cry ya sook!!!"

Can that be said to a player whinging to the umpire about a missed free kick if they have come out about a battle with depression?

Melbourne tested out Abblett's shoulder on Saturday. He took the field, declared himself fit to play and our players put him to the test. Is mental illness different? If so, how blurry is the line? What can and cannot be said to someone who has publicly come out out with depression? Are they just completely off limits to all sledgeing?

This issue is full of grey areas imo.

On 10/04/2015 at 05:24, jumbo returns said:

Yeah, you're right, I will.....but, geez, he shits me.

you are like me...you have half let go.....

On 10/04/2015 at 05:16, Lucifer said:

Saty, it is one thing for you to be defender of the faith when it comes to our players and our club. But please to defend a player that left to go to another club in less than amicable circumstances! Seriously!

...if he let it (the sledging) pass then who the hell told (complained) to his captain? Nah mate at some point Mitch has to be held responsible for what he says and does. At GFC one way or another they will hold him to account if he 'imagined' the 'sledging'. Good on them I say...reap what you sow...

We are all going on second hand information, inflamed by the biggest [censored] in footy (next to Billy Brownless)

Unless you have actually suffered from some sort of depression, NFI how it effects somebody, I find it continually pathetic that some posters on here treat Mitch Clark like he has raped their mother, move on

It is a new season we have 40 odd players who want to play for Melbourne now

Sam's comments and a few others around, included on here, reflect the misunderstanding by society of the condition. That will change though.

Not Mitch's biggest fan but any sledging based on depression is off limits.

For those that don't comprehend it, or think it's fair game... think of it like sledging someone with cancer.

Maybe the Hawks were just asking Mitch how he got on with his new teammates partners?

Maybe it was a bit too close to home, Mitch was upset and used the depression card to complain about it?

Maybe those in the industry know more about MC's story and not afraid to use it to upset him on the field?

So in other words, Frawley told his new teamates why Mitch left Melbourne and what he did (I have been silenced here before so won't divulge more) and they had a crack at him for exaggerating his depression. I said the last time this came up, the truth is out there and it will surface and Clark will look like a [censored]. Point is, because he used depression, the media are treading carefully around the issue. It's pathetic

On 10/04/2015 at 05:33, The Devil Inside said:

We are all going on 1. second hand information, inflamed by the biggest [censored] in footy (next to Billy Brownless)

Unless 2. you have actually suffered from some sort of depression, NFI how it effects somebody, I find it continually pathetic that some posters on here 3. treat Mitch Clark like he has raped their mother, move on

1. Not 2nd hand - described by his captain

2. I have

3. Hyperbole is always a good red-herring as is insulting other posters.

On 10/04/2015 at 04:50, chook fowler said:

There are exceptions to every rule, and Clark and Scully are those exceptions.

By the way I gather you don't mind sledging Saty.

you'll have to refresh my memory, chook

got a link of me sledging saty?

btw i don't consider posting on demonland as a sport, but your mileage may vary

On 10/04/2015 at 02:57, It said:

Mitch Clark, Scully, Chris Judd, Robbie Warnock..... Have all taught me a lesson. They all rejected MFC and the result was often better for

Brent Prismall.....

Anyone that thinkls they said "how's the depression going" is way off and that's not a basis for sledging someone...but a line such as "met selwoods missus yet mate?, she goes alright" would probably ruffle the feathers and be more on point. suck it up Clarky, exposure is nigh

I don't watch rubbish but from reading this thread it appears that the man who continually drops his knees to get free kicks (or has the longest neck on the planet) is complaining about the sledging MC received.

The cheat defending the liar.

Apt

On 10/04/2015 at 05:52, Leoncelli_36 said:

So in other words, Frawley told his new teamates why Mitch left Melbourne and what he did (I have been silenced here before so won't divulge more) and they had a crack at him for exaggerating his depression. I said the last time this came up, the truth is out there and it will surface and Clark will look like a [censored]. Point is, because he used depression, the media are treading carefully around the issue. It's pathetic

If the stories are true then you are on the money. He will be a pariah.

Best he is not with us and go Heritier.....

Funnily enough there are a lot of ex Melbourne people working at Hawthorn, reckon they knew what really went on? you bet ya...reckon the word went round the Hwwks, I reckon you are on to it

On 10/04/2015 at 05:33, The Devil Inside said:

We are all going on second hand information, inflamed by the biggest [censored] in footy (next to Billy Brownless)

Unless you have actually suffered from some sort of depression, NFI how it effects somebody, I find it continually pathetic that some posters on here treat Mitch Clark like he has raped their mother, move on

There's a few on that show 'TDI', you've ruled out Billy so who could it be? Sam or Purple perhaps?

From AFL.com

'AFL operations manager Mark Evans says the League has received no official complaint from Geelong or Clark about the reports.

Evans told Melbourne radio station 3AW the AFL had been in contact with the Cats.

"There's been no complaint raised," he said.

"It can be trapped under the League's vilification policy - we don't like people being put down for their race, religion, sexuality, or any impairment or handicap - but it's hard to act without a complaint.

"And even when we do get a complaint, it's best solved via mediation.'

I'd say the AFL knows the full story, and knows that it's not in anyone's best interest for it to be made public. That statement about it being hard to act without a complaint isn't the kind of language i'd imagine they'd be using if a player had been racially vilified. They'd be investigating. It sounds as if they are egging Geelong on for a complaint - because they know they won't come forward. Wonder why?

Apparently it was Brian Lake who did the sledging. denies it was about depression.

edit* actually I'm wrong here, denies he said anything at all. but has been accused.

On 10/04/2015 at 06:02, Leoncelli_36 said:

Funnily enough there are a lot of ex Melbourne people working at Hawthorn, reckon they knew what really went on? you bet ya...reckon the word went round the Hwwks, I reckon you are on to it

Wish I knew this rumour... :)

On 10/04/2015 at 06:34, Gorgoroth said:

Wish I knew this rumour... :)

i can make up some stuff if you like.

On 10/04/2015 at 01:19, ProDee said:

Try this:

http://www.cchrint.org/psychiatric-disorders/psychiatristsphysicians-on-lack-of-any-medicalscientific-tests/

According to experts within the industry depression isn't a disease or illness. Medical "evidence" is merely supported by a checklist of behaviours.

There's no diagnosis in psychiatry.

Maybe before quoting organisations as fact you should check out their credentials and agendas.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citizens_Commission_on_Human_Rights

Scientology organisations are not usually noted for their scientific credentials

On 10/04/2015 at 02:25, Elusive Tunbridge said:

The CCHR link is very dodgy material - akin to anti-vaccination stuff. Severe depression is a well acknowledged medical condition.

Depression may be a reason for taking poor decisions, but it's not an excuse. The black dog bites dogs, too. We boo the dog, not the bite.

Indeed.