View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Zac Jones

• 3 months later...

each midfielder we recruit should hopefully have their own differing skill-sets, some quicker, some stronger some great hands inclose, some strong overhead, some elusive up forward, some elite kicks bringing the ball from defence.

we should continue this draft/recruiting method, as we will turn some into flankers & half forwards, some small defenders, etc,

Happy for us to sound out Zac Jones at the appropriate time.

lets also look for some mature key talls, rookie another ruck, & look to maybe pickup a tall forward/ruck prospect such as maybe gorringe or other.

Henderson would be high on my list to chase, a mature frost; can't have too many. who can also swing into the ruck when required.

Henderson would ease our reliance on Dawes marking up forward. ;)

Come home Zac.

Will be very interesting to see who the club looks to trade for at season's end. I reckon Zac might just be up there on the list.

How good is he as a player?

We shouldn't draft him just because he is the Captains brother

He's not bad wyl, goes hard, wins his own ball, uses it well, very similar type player to Nathan but a little quicker.

Stands up in big games, dominated the finals at under age level

He's not bad wyl, goes hard, wins his own ball, uses it well, very similar type player to Nathan but a little quicker.

Stands up in big games, dominated the finals at under age level

Thanks mate. Have not seen him in action

Happy to go hard at him if he can be a great player.

Sentiment is not a part of it

Sydney will have to trade out some talent to land Callum Mills (Academy) and Josh Dunkley (F/S) if the AFL introduces the new points system. Both are rated top 5 picks.

Good. And so it should.

• Author

We should be first in line with Roos connections.

• 3 weeks later...

Had a ripper preseason and is in great condition and bulked up 4 or 5 kgs. Has been among the best in the NEAFL in all bar 1 match this season, including 2 BOGs. Yes their midfield is rock solid and hard to break into but im surprised he has not had a callup....maybe with Heeney injured he will get a chance this weekend.

Or is it possible he is on the outer like Aish at the Lions? I hope so! Surely we will be in his ear by now.

Jones would not be on the outer at the Swans. They just have incredible depth.

Would absolutely love to see him in the red and the blue. For many reasons.

Jones would not be on the outer at the Swans. They just have incredible depth.

Would absolutely love to see him in the red and the blue. For many reasons.

He played quite well in his limited opportunities last year, will be a player thats for sure.

Mods can u change to Zak please, before the spelling nazis get a hold of me....cheers!

Doesn't excite me. Could be a good player, but I get the sense that a lot of the love for him is sentimental.

Zak Jones should be our number 1 recruiting target.

he would be well down the list

Jones, Yarran, Shiel & Prestia would be nice

Doesn't excite me. Could be a good player, but I get the sense that a lot of the love for him is sentimental.

Have to agree. Not enough of him has been seen yet to warrant the excitement by some.

In fact, it seems like he's getting the love that many of our high draft picks have received in the past...

Zak Jones should be our number 1 recruiting target.

Why would that be? Just because his name is Jones doesn't make him an autoselect.Or does it?

He's not on the outer. They just let their kids develop.

True, and they are lucky enough to have the depth to take that option. I'd love to see our kids play the majority of their games in the twos but it just can't happen.

I'd be all for recruiting Jones IF he brought something we need to the table - can he find the footy, have good skills etc. If not then I think we need to look elsewhere.