Grimes steps down as co-captain

Posted

Wow Grimes has stepped down as Captain. Wants to concentrate on his playing. The healing of the Neeld era continues. Poor kid should never have been appointed. Let's hope this means he'll fulfil his potential and get his decision making right.

Jumped or pushed? Either way, it's a good decision.

Looks like Jonesy will run solo for a while. Any suggestions on who might be elevated if they decide on another co Captain. I don't think they will.

Edited by It's Time

Reported on MFC website.

A good choice. Now he can focus on his footy.

Nathan Jones step up.

I have just been passed on this rumour. Can anyone confirm. It's not on any of the websites at this stage.

Confirmed on the MFC site (sorry on iPhone and can't post link)

I have just been passed on this rumour. Can anyone confirm. It's not on any of the websites at this stage.

Reported on sen - no reason given.

It must be hard for him to take that step as he was so dedicated to the role and by all accounts did it admirably. Hope this allows him to improve his own game and fulfill his potential. Make himself a starter in the 22 each week. Wishing him the best for 2015.

Good move

Needed to concentrate on footy and footy only

hopefully he can get back to some good form

This will make some very happy.

And some not so much.

I still think he's a great leader and has a lot of good traits as a player to be an on field leader.

I'm very glad that Jack and/or the coaches have seen that there is a problem with his form though. First step to fixing a problem is acknowledging it. I hope we see a faster, stronger and more skillful Jack Grimes out on the field next year.

Needs to guarantee himself a spot in the first 22 before he worries about captaincy duties. Good move.

Thanks Jack for your leadership in such dark times.

You showed maturity beyond your years, shouldering a burden that no-one your age or experience should have been given.

Hopefully with having the pressure of captaincy relieved you can grow into an even better footballer.

Needs to guarantee himself a spot in the first 22 before he worries about captaincy duties. Good move.

I reckon he's been told as much. Hope its a positive step for him.

amazing posts.

Some of us who said he wasnt a captain got pasted on this site for saying so.

Now its a great decision that hes pulled the pin.

Yeeeeeeeesh,nearly finished with the old order.

Refreshment time has begun and been intrenched for over 12 months now.

Blocks slowly falling into position.

Actuall a good player and i hope this suits him for the next 5 years

noticed i put some sayings in there that everybody hates.

Edited by jazza

Would love to see him wear the number 16 again

The appointment of Grimes & Trengove as co captains was a ludicrous decision made by desperate people.

Glad it's now officially history.

Jack now has to concentrate on making the senior 22

I like Grimesy - a good character who has borne an unfair burden of leadership responsibility at too young an age.

A good time to fully focus on being as good as he can be on field.

All the best to him.

Edited by chook fowler

Reported on MFC website.

A good choice. Now he can focus on his footy.

Nathan Jones step up.

step up? has been the only one doing so for years now.

Can I triple like a post?

Somewhat disappointed that there was no statement of appreciation for Jack's work as co-captain, by the Club. He couldn't have performed the role any better under very trying circumstances. Hope the Club issues something to say 'thanks and it looks forward to his contribution as a senior member of the team on and off the field.' or something like that.

He deserves it!

in dd's defence, he must mean 'step up to elite/a-grade/superstar whatever level you want to call it'

in which case it is a fair point

Somewhat disappointed that there was no statement of appreciation for Jack's work as co-captain, by the Club. He couldn't have performed the role any better under very trying circumstances. Hope the Club issues something to say 'thanks and it looks forward to his contribution as a senior member of the team on and off the field.' or something like that.

He deserves it!

Let's not rewrite history. 13th and 14th place in our last two Blueys.. not all that great in our rabble and as one of the more mature players

the moment in my signature was a pearler though!

Let's not rewrite history. 13th and 14th place in our last two Blueys.. not all that great in our rabble and as one of the more mature players

the moment in my signature was a pearler though!

I was referring to the work he did as captain, work for which he deserves acknowledgement from the club, IMO anyway.

We are now free to pick the 22 each week on merit, and although I liked the move at the time it has no doubt impeded on Trengove and Grimes' natural development.

Looking forward to better things from both these boys. We are going places