Patrick McCartin

I hope we can find or develop a ruck who can play like a mid and get his own ball, at the moment for us it is a wasted position on the ground.

Like Stef Martin, for instance.

I know Stef had a real purple patch this year but no I think someone better. A good ruck will take him apart at the centre bounce.

I think if he stays fit then Gawn could offer us this, he does get the footy. He who can't be named now at catland is the ideal for me...

Or even Fitzy!

I know Stef had a real purple patch this year but no I think someone better. A good ruck will take him apart at the centre bounce.

... and if he's got a good midfield, it won't matter much.

On the other hand, he'll take them apart around the ground.

I'd like to know why McCartin is anxious with his sets shots.

Is it a bigger issue? Football is 90% above the shoulders.

This concerns me to be honest.

I like his style, he plays like a man, but is he really just a big boy amongst kids?

I trust Roos will get it right, we buggered this up with Dustin Martin, Wines, Parker, Sloane.

It is time we started taking blokes who do not doubt themselves.

If McCartin is one of those, all good and well, but I hope MFC is asking the tough questions.

Yeah nah. That was no purple patch. 11th placed BnF finish from half a season.

12 games with one being average and the rest ranging from very good to exceptional. His stats for this year don't lie.

The jury is in. Bad decision.

12 games with one being average and the rest ranging from very good to exceptional. His stats for this year don't lie.

He needed to move. It was a good personal decision for him to go.

But, yeah, we didn't get value for that trade. Matt Jones IIRC was drafted with the pick we got.

I have no idea who to take - but what I do know is your description of McCartin as ready made competitive beast looks ok in an under 18 competition but what about next year in the big league ?

As a midfielder I think we need "a class act; a humble, hard-working player able to cut teams up with his skill and scoring ability". That is Emma Quayles description of Jimmy Toumpas. He may well turn out to be that way but hows the description looking two years in ??

If we want versatile big man how about this guy ? " A centre half-forward who can also play key defensive post. Reads ball in the air better than most. Endurance for a big man is first class so covers lots of ground and could be groomed to replace Jonathan Brown" This was description of Lucas Cook!! ( the Brown reference is Jay Clark had him going to the Lions - if only !)

So your description of McCartin well may be right - it well may wrong as well...

Clark said he could be groomed to replace Jono Brown as a CHF, but not that his game style resembled Brown's, it mentions nothing about agression or 1-1 ability etc, things that McCartin seems to be praised for. I'd rather go with that than skinny Laverde or slow as hell knee reco Lever. Quayle's description of Toumpas says nothing about competitive nature/contested ball winning ability either, no doubt Brayshaw's will and that's the kind of player we should go for IMO.

Clark said he could be groomed to replace Jono Brown as a CHF, but not that his game style resembled Brown's, it mentions nothing about agression or 1-1 ability etc, things that McCartin seems to be praised for. I'd rather go with that than skinny Laverde or slow as hell knee reco Lever.

I am not saying you are right or wrong on McCartin what I am saying that the one proven fact is that the ratings pre draft are never right two years down the track and all the descriptions in the world is just guessing. Skinny Laverde or knee reco lever could turn out to be inspired choices.

I just love the way posters are so sure of their favourite picks when experts who watch week in and week out for a living get it soooo wrong with continuous monotony.

Still not sold on this kid

Ill be disappointed if we use pick 3 on him, but will live in hope he can be a player

What did he do in his other season and a half with Brisbane? How many games did he play against quality ruckman and will his style of play (mid level tap ruckman, not a great contested mark, very good at gather possessions around the ground) be effective in big games?

None of that is to mention he was a complete whinge bag at Melbourne who only performed about once a month. He'd have been delisted if he stayed with us.

1/2 a season is a purple patch, let's see him do it consistently. I don't think the jury is in at all.

I am not saying you are right or wrong on McCartin what I am saying that the one proven fact is that the ratings pre draft are never right two years down the track and all the descriptions in the world is just guessing. Skinny Laverde or knee reco lever could turn out to be inspired choices.

I just love the way posters are so sure of their favourite picks when experts who watch week in and week out for a living get it soooo wrong with continuous monotony.

Yeah I get that, you've said it numerous times. What's wrong with having an opinion on a 'favourite pick' though? It's better than saying 'I have no idea who to take'. Anyhow, what is clear is that a 'power midfielder' is more likely to succeed at AFL level than the skinny project types, they have done that research, so if Petracca and Brayshaw are there at 2/3 it's a no brainer.

'.

I think we should all have the same argument about Stefan Martin that we've all already had before, saying all the same stuff as we've all said before. What do you guys reckon?

I really is like Groundhog Day on this forum sometimes!

I hear he did pretty well at school and comes from a basketball background. Anyone know what his work ethic on the track was like?

I think we should all have the same argument about Stefan Martin that we've all already had before, saying all the same stuff as we've all said before. What do you guys reckon?

I really is like Groundhog Day on this forum sometimes!

My bad.

Still not sold on this kid

Ill be disappointed if we use pick 3 on him, but will live in hope he can be a player

There are just as many question marks on Lever and Laverde making it as a mid.

Surely pick 3 will be out of those guys, if Petracca goes at 1 and we select Brayshaw at 2.

All good mate. When I saw the comment you replied to I could see it coming, it was just a matter of which P-nut brought it up :lol:

Why did we clear Brock and Col?

Agree and as I have said before The midfield issues are being addressed ! We also have a better Half Back and Half Forward line to play.

Can I ask this when did we last have a KPF with a bit of Mongrel?? Think probably Nieta and Schwarta! That's it

So we have a chance to grab a kid who has got Mongrel in spades, Takes contested Grabs, Kicks well for goal and is agile!!

PLUS HE MODELS HIS GAME ON TOM HAWKINS AND JON BROWN !!

SHEEIT I'D TAKE HIM JUST FOR HIS AMBITION ALONE!! WHO ELSE IS SO BOLD!?

Forget Lever and Leverde for reasons provided above! we already have enough of these already !

BUT WHAT WE DON'T HAVE IS ENOUGH TRUE KPF

If we overlook this kid and someone else takes him and he makes an immediate impact Then several things will happen

I will hark back to the shizen recruiting that saw Ollie Wines become an overnight sensation

I will seriously question our recruiting staff and

I will struggle to continue to support an administration that has got it wrong YET AGAIN!!

Demonland will also go into a complete meltdown!

McCartin looks like the obvious pick but it's Melbourne we never go for the obvious.

When you look the 3 criteria's that Melbourne choose their players from which are:

You have to be slow.

You have to be skinny.

You have to be injury prone.

I don't think McCartin fits those criteria's while Lever ticks all the boxes.

I think we are heading towards another Toumpas type blunder.

McCartin looks like the obvious pick but it's Melbourne we never go for the obvious.

When you look the 3 criteria's that Melbourne choose their players from which are:

You have to be slow.

You have to be skinny.

You have to be injury prone.

I don't think McCartin fits those criteria's while Lever ticks all the boxes.

I think we are heading towards another Toumpas type blunder.

Collingwood supporter who has good connection to dees says 100% Melbourne will get Mccartin under the assumption that Saints will take Petracca...so don't worry Mccartin fans!

I've seen some pi zz poor and pure [censored] sauces on Dland Mono but that just about wins the prize. ( an engraved alpaca coprolite)

Speak English mate

Was the source wearing a gold lame jacket at the time?