M_9 2,216 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 Not sure that you can access this article if you're not a HUN subscriber: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/melbourne-considering-shifting-its-base-to-mcg-on-back-of-aflsponsored-plan/story-fni5f91a-1227075709610 2
Sir Why You Little 37,457 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 Awesome Dude. Home to Mama.. 2 1
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 Great news..we'll see what happens.
PaulRB 6,435 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 Pre-election BS, pollies handing out cash to buy votes. interesting mention of a new sponsor, any idea who it is? 1
beelzebub 23,392 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 We're going HOME boys and girls... The curse will lift...Go Dees Bodes well Id have thought 5
Sir Why You Little 37,457 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 Don't tell Deeluded...They might build a Social Club in the Northern Stand!! In the immortal words of E.T....."Home..." 4
Tyson_Viney_Toumpas 269 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 We're going HOME boys and girls... The curse will lift...Go Dees Bodes well Id have thought You could well be onto something here. #liftthecurse
dee-luded 2,959 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 (edited) Not sure that you can access this article if you're not a HUN subscriber: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/melbourne-considering-shifting-its-base-to-mcg-on-back-of-aflsponsored-plan/story-fni5f91a-1227075709610 love your avatar M_9 thank goodness for this news Re Lacale` of our true home base. Happy Re the 'G' news of alignment of our clubs departments; & dare I say?, maybe a possible Thursday-Night training session & team announcement on the home-ground of the Melbourne Demons??? ........ & very happy to develop things at Elsternwick-Park which has abundant connections Re Public Transport access, & the Footy Ground, & other sporting facilities to entertain our supporters of all ages.. and now with the recently announced proposed building of the Deck over the Richmond Rail-yards & I think, Brunton Avenue as well ? I hope we could end up with a Social Hub up on the Deck between the Richmond Station-the MCG-and the Swan St Oval, immediately East of AAMI Park... If they relocated the Hammer-Throw area to the Alber-Park Athletics Complex, then built the Deck over the current hammer throw area (adjacent to the Richmond station) & across Swan St at this section, it would then Link the Station & the MCG, & the AAMI-Park complex, at an easy access height to the Station & On-Deck facilities... we could have our Social Facility, still overlooking the Training Oval in-between AAMI Park & Gosch's Paddock. https://www.google.com/maps?t=k&output=classic ( copy & paste > {135 olympic boulevard MELBOURNE} into map) I hope this is a plan Our people are thinking Of. # Edit: I have just found that it appears the hammer throw area has already gone. Edited October 1, 2014 by dee-luded 1
Red and Bluebeard 2,101 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 Pardon me for being a pedant, but could someone change the thread title to "Melbourne considering shifting its base BACK to the MCG"? 1 1
ILLDieADemon 804 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 So docklands isn't happening anymore? 1
Earl Hood 6,167 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 I don't get it. We move all the admin in together at the G but where do the players train? If it was on the G I say great. But if they still have to run over to Gosch's what is the gain? Or do the players stay at AAMI?
rjay 25,424 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 I don't get it. We move all the admin in together at the G but where do the players train? If it was on the G I say great. But if they still have to run over to Gosch's what is the gain? Or do the players stay at AAMI? 'Hood', you might remember back in Box Hill in the days when the rail crossing was on Station Street just before every State election the tractors rolled in. Of course it was a con job on the electorate who thought that finally the crossing was being removed and the line going under the street. Then after the election the tractors disappeared but the crossing didn't. Ever since then I use the word "tractors" when ever I hear about the airport rail link and many other great ideas that seem to miraculously come up around election time and just as miraculously disappear after. This sounds like tractors to me. 1
SaberFang 7,151 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 Imagine that.. our so called "home" ground actually being our home ground. 1
Adam The God 30,731 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 Pre-election BS, pollies handing out cash to buy votes. interesting mention of a new sponsor, any idea who it is? If you mean the line "The Demons are set to announce a small profit this year, thanks in part to the signing of new sponsors", I think it is referencing signings such as AHG and Southern China Airlines. Could be wrong though. I heard a couple of weeks ago that we were going to post a modest profit and none of that came from AFL handouts.
Chook 15,069 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 (edited) Does this mean that if Mitch Clark stays he'll get a change of environment anyway? Edited September 30, 2014 by Chook 5
Pates 9,697 Posted September 30, 2014 Posted September 30, 2014 Moving back to the MCG definitely appears be a positive, but I have the same concerns as Earl Hood. If we're still having to train at our same outdoor location then what benefit is there to the players? AAMI park is an elite facility so whatever we do, or wherever we go it must be to give the players the best opportunity to improve themselves and not just be a fluff story designed to give us good press and perception.
george_on_the_outer 7,875 Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Moving back to the MCG definitely appears be a positive, but I have the same concerns as Earl Hood. If we're still having to train at our same outdoor location then what benefit is there to the players? AAMI park is an elite facility so whatever we do, or wherever we go it must be to give the players the best opportunity to improve themselves and not just be a fluff story designed to give us good press and perception. I don't get it. We move all the admin in together at the G but where do the players train? If it was on the G I say great. But if they still have to run over to Gosch's what is the gain? Or do the players stay at AAMI? Yes we have an election coming up in November.......more fluff from the politicians I suspect. We can't train on the MCG, ( and before the 15 year olds respond ), cricket is played there during the pre-season!! And during the season use is limited due to games being played there with the grass needing recovery afterward. Why would you locate the football department to the MCG and run training sessions across the rail and road tracks? Why would you have your weights, physio, medical and recovery areas located 500 metres away? Why would you put the coaches away from where the players are? 2
beelzebub 23,392 Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 A small side show Am starting to wonder though, whats in it for someone else. We may be a result, but i sense someone/something ELSE is the reason.
old dee 24,083 Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Am starting to wonder though, whats in it for someone else. We may be a result, but i sense someone/something ELSE is the reason. I really dont see it altering anything bb will it gives us an extra win? I doubt the answer is yes! Will it give us a warm and fuzzy feeling? Probably yes I am happy for those wanting a warm and fuzzy feeling
daisycutter 30,021 Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 sounds like another blue sky distraction btw with modern turf management i don't see why a team couldn't train at least twice a week on the mcg 2
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 I really dont see it altering anything bb will it gives us an extra win? I doubt the answer is yes! Will it give us a warm and fuzzy feeling? Probably yes I am happy for those wanting a warm and fuzzy feeling Maybe so Old Dee but for too long it's felt like we've invited strangers to our house and somehow we're sleeping in the spare bedroom with the shite mattress. 2