View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Match Preview and Team Selection - Round 19

So now we have a new category to amuse Whispering Jack. Not only do we have a Mystery Injury of the Week (Grimes) but we appear to have a Mystery Recovery of the Week in Cross.

Still, it makes a mockery of the team selection and announcement process if we announce a team on the Thursday which includes three emergencies and then replace someone on the Friday with a player who wasn't in that initial 25.

So now we have a new category to amuse Whispering Jack. Not only do we have a Mystery Injury of the Week (Grimes) but we appear to have a Mystery Recovery of the Week in Cross.

Still, it makes a mockery of the team selection and announcement process if we announce a team on the Thursday which includes three emergencies and then replace someone on the Friday with a player who wasn't in that initial 25.

yes I was wondering if that is 'legal'? Presumaby it is.

Amusing same article has $cully 'tanking'

Mate who is mates with Crossy says he was going to play after break and I believe him, so will be nice to get him back.

Good call by your mate.

Cross listed as emergency.

Along with Gawn and Jones.

Terlich in, bench Kent, Blease, JKH, Riley.

Tapscott and Blease get one more/last chance?

Edited by bing181

Cross listed as emergency.

Along with Gawn and Jones.

Terlich in, bench Kent, Blease, JKH, Riley.

Tapscott and Blease get one more/last chance?

I reckon Roosy will give them every chance to show why they should be retained

Can't help but think we missed a chance to play Strauss instead of Terlich here. He's had two great performances in a row in the VFL and if we are playing Blease and Tapscott then may as well lumped Strauss in for one last look as well.

Blease/Tappy performed well for more than 2 weeks in the VFL, that's why they're in the senior team.

Terlich in....... what the F is the point of replacing one butcher off the ball with another?

praying hes replaced by Cross on Sunday

You'd think Cross would benefit us more than Terls.

Or Grimes.

If it's Terlich for Grimes, it's one butcher for another. Oh, the state of our list.

Edited by AdamFarr

This is twice this year terlich has come straight into the team without setting a standard at VFL level. What happened to putting in strong performance in the VFL?

Strauss is stiff and even michie aswell.

This is twice this year terlich has come straight into the team without setting a standard at VFL level. What happened to putting in strong performance in the VFL?

I think the theory is Terlich's still eligible for selection as he hasn't gone back to the VFL and played badly, he's just jumped in and out of the team and being emergency.

Compare that to Strauss who they've decided just hasn't done enough yet at VFL. So I understand the logic even if I don't agree on it. If Strauss plays a 3rd straight good game and doesn't get picked and Terlich doesn't perform then I'd agree. I still expect Terlich as a better mark, better tackle to be the slightly better player than Strauss, I just want to see something different

Michie at half back, not convinced by that. Especially when Brisbane have their fleet of dangerous smalls who are genuinely quick.

I would have thought if Cross was good to go then you would pick him. I wonder how long Grimes will miss with his hammy.

Interesting Moloney just cant get a game at all.

Edited by dees189227

Grimes out +2 goals

Cross in +3 goals

we got this now

oh wait... terlich

so it's +2-2 back to where we were

unless there is some sort of game being played wtf name cross as an emergency?

Edited by Curry & Beer

Be interesting to know what the story is with Grimes. Seems a bit odd.

Hamstring.

Some would suggest they are not up to it dd and their cards have been marked.

Turdlick ... and giraffe boy. Are you joking!

Regardless of what you think of some players, this is really pushing decency, let alone the Demonland Code of Conduct that says players should be afforded some respect.

So what's the ball going to do? Sit in the centre square all day?

That was precisely my point

Although I find some of the comments on Grimes and Terlich funny, we need to seriously cut them some slack. I have no doubt that despite Grimes [censored] disposal, he still has good intentions. I have faith that he will compensate for all his mistakes next year when were challenging for the 8! Goo dees!

Grimes needs to sit down with Nick Maxwell and pick his brain on how to get the most out of your footy with average skills. Maxwell was ripped on by everyone but he was key to collingwoods defensive rebound.