Posted

I'm surprised this hasn't got more attention:

We didn't see it coming.

What exactly did they not see coming? An AFL-level game? Newsflash, gents: YOU'RE PLAYING IN THE AFL.

Posted

There ain't a whole lot they can say that hasn't been said over the last six years unfortunately. But as they can't make their actions on the field talk either there is nothing really can be done for us fans except wallowing in our own bitterness and wondering why the club tortures us so.

Then it's on to next week - I see my feelings rise to a peak on Saturday arvo and I already know I'll be full of unfounded optimism for the Bombers game. Next thing I know I'll wake up in a gutter somewhere on Sunday morning asking where the hell I am but knowing what happened the night before was what I knew deep down was always going to happen.

Just an extract from my diary, the life of a demon supporter. Depressing really.

Posted

Extremely disappointed that they just came out with the same old cliches and I've heard NOTHING about the coaches doing anything innovative to change up this week.

Posted

Everyone needs to move on.....This is round 1 not round 22. Oh sure they were woeful. You can wallow yourself in self pity or concentrate to rectify a pitiful performance next week. My support is for Mark Neeld and the players atleast till the end of the year. Make an assessment then where they are at, not over 1 game.

Posted

The way I see it we have two choices

1 It was just one of those days

2 This club is in big big trouble and the players don't want to play for the jumper

For now I going to believe in number one.

Posted

Bent leith, I appreciate your sentiment but you also need to understand that people are frustrated at the moment and can't see a way forward. This is exacerbated when you consider many of us thought a corner had been turned.

Posted

I'm surprised this hasn't got more attention:

What exactly did they not see coming? An AFL-level game? Newsflash, gents: YOU'RE PLAYING IN THE AFL.

EXACTLY!!!

Posted

Sorry, Bentleigh! By no means a guess at your preferences.

Posted

Everyone needs to move on.....This is round 1 not round 22. Oh sure they were woeful. You can wallow yourself in self pity or concentrate to rectify a pitiful performance next week. My support is for Mark Neeld and the players atleast till the end of the year. Make an assessment then where they are at, not over 1 game.

End of the year? You're kidding mate. A year of performances like that and the club will have 15,000 members and play to empty stadiums in 2014.

Posted

Said it a million times. It's not 1 game. It's now been 23 games.

Posted

Said it a million times. It's not 1 game. It's now been 23 games.

Should I be concerned that I'm agreeing with you Stuie?

Posted

Just watched Mark Neeld's commencement dinner speech...................he's not lying, he didn't see that loss coming!!!

Posted

Understand the frustration, but really, what do you want them to say?

'Look, we're all useless AFL footballers, and we're wondering whether Neeldy even knows what the f**k he's doing'. Sure.

Who cares what they say? They can say whatever they want, provided they try on Saturday.

Posted

Trouble is it ain't one game. Its 7 years.

We havent won in rd 1 since 2005 and 3 of the last 4 years we have been flogged.

Its a broken record. And we are over it.

Posted

As a Melbourne member for many years, I have finally found a voice in response to the game yesterday.

That was undeniably the most shattering football experience that I have encountered over the many years that I have been to the footy and followed this once great club.

It seems by the response of both the head coach and his players, that no one knows the reason nor the answer to our pathetic performance.

The rot has been forming for a while now. It is my opinion that the treatment of a great leader in junior McDonald was the real beginning of the end. The man was a true leader who led by example each and every time he represented this club. His treatment, at the end of his career was unacceptable. It left a gaping hole that has not been filled.

The club has no real leadership, no one of the ilk of Nietz or junior. It's only round one but if the performances of Byrnes And Rodan are anything to go by the team is in real trouble.they both appeared to be happy with just going through the motions. Not good enough! The glimpse of Ny real leadership came in the guise of Mitch Clarke and already, J. Viney. He will be great, but he is still a Kid.

Where to from now. Will a better performance next week really achieve anything?! The answer is of course, no.

This club is in dire straights. We all want to watch a contest week in week out. It appears that, yet again, this will be a hit and miss affair.

Any way you look at it, this is unnacceptable. I really thought that I would never ever say this, but I am afraid that I will not renew my membership for the first time in many years as a consequence of the players total lack of commitment to its club and its members, the lack of any real integrity and leadership by its coaches and the CEO.

At some point in time you have take some sort of stand. It seems my time is now.

Posted

(re)Watching AFL 360. Both of them just drilled Melbourne. Gerard has put all the pressure on Cameron Schwab.

There is a virus, and we need to quarantine in the club. simple.

Posted

Regardless of what people think about Cameron Schwab, he has nothing to do with Saturday's performance. Does 360 also have an anti-Schwab agenda?

Posted

Regardless of what people think about Cameron Schwab, he has nothing to do with Saturday's performance. Does 360 also have an anti-Schwab agenda?

They were arguing about who takes responsibility. They said, that you cannot sack the coach first. The CEO and President need to go first.

Posted

They were arguing about who takes responsibility. They said, that you cannot sack the coach first. The CEO and President need to go first.

What a load of rubbish. If we sack them we may still have a bad coach.