Posted

I believe Mick Malthouse comments were something along the lines of 'Melbourne are the 3rd start up club, its going to be a couple of years before they see some real improvement." Not a direct quote but interesting none the less.

Posted

One of my questions is how people on here can be talking about us finishing second last or even 3rd last? To put it simply, we are far and away the worst team in the comp and there is no chance of us winning a game this year. People should take their money and get on that, its still paying pretty good odds...for now, won't after GWS give us a pasting on the G.

On saying that, I will keep going each week as I do, continue to punish myself for some unknown reason. One other positive is that at least it doesn't take long to get out of the ground when we are playing due to the fact that no-one watches us (was there more than 5000 melbourne supporters there on friday night? All I saw was brown and gold!). Come the GWS game they might even let me park up on the concourse!!

You can put your money on us winning a game this year. To suggest otherwise is ludicrous.

Exactly the same crap was said about Richmond when they were 0-11 and they ended up winning 6 or so games. Same about Gold Coast when they were 0-7 or whatever.

We won 8.5 games last year, we have too much talent to finish 0-22.

We'll improve second half of the year and end up with about 6 wins i reckon. If you look at our draw last 11 games, it's possible. We'll also have had a half a season to get used to the game plan.

Posted (edited)

It's amazing that in round 7, 2011 we beat Adelaide by 96 points at the MCG.

Moloney got 3 votes in this one. Now the bloke has the sooks.

Sylvia kicked 4 goals V Crows. Now he can't be arsed doing anything.

Petterd also kicked 4 goals and looked super dangerous and dynamic. Now he doesn't look AFL standard.

All 3 could and should (bar maybe Moloney) be dropped this week. All 3 are supposed to be in our top 10 players.

Something seriously stinks at this club.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell
Posted

It's amazing that in round 7, 2011 we beat Adelaide by 96 points at the MCG.

Moloney got 3 votes in this one. Now the bloke has the sooks.

Sylvia kicked 4 goals V Crows. Now he can't be arsed doing anything.

Petterd also kicked 4 goals and looked super dangerous and dynamic. Now he doesn't look AFL standard.

All 3 could and should (bar maybe Moloney) be dropped this week. All 3 are supposed to be in our top 10 players.

Something seriously stinks at this club.

I agree. The clean out within the club is still not completed. 186 is still in a cupboard or office somewhere.
Posted

You can put your money on us winning a game this year. To suggest otherwise is ludicrous.

Exactly the same crap was said about Richmond when they were 0-11 and they ended up winning 6 or so games. Same about Gold Coast when they were 0-7 or whatever.

We won 8.5 games last year, we have too much talent to finish 0-22.

We'll improve second half of the year and end up with about 6 wins i reckon. If you look at our draw last 11 games, it's possible. We'll also have had a half a season to get used to the game plan.

Sylvinator have you noticed we are last at present with a percentage of 56.8

I think 2 - 20 is a real possibility.

We have a chance vs GCS and a chance of a split against GWS.

The rest requires a doubling of our scoring ability to win.

Seems fanciful to me that we will win six games.

On performances in 2011 and so far this season our talent level looks 2- 20 to me

Posted (edited)

I don't think the players are enjoying their footy at the moment no matter what they get paid, everyone plays footy because they love playing.......Are we so confused and befuddled and it looks like we have no clue how to play anymore ??.....So many zones,presses,kick it long to the boundry....Instructions.......I'm confused sitting in the stands....can't imagine what the players feel....Maybe just let them play and enjoy playing....Win ,lose or draw.....I reckon we couldn't do any worse....The KISS principle(Keep it simple stupid)

Edited by Bossdog
Posted

I don't think the players are enjoying their footy at the moment no matter what they get paid, everyone plays footy because they love playing.......Are we so confused and befuddled and it looks like we have no clue how to play anymore ??.....So many zones,presses,kick it long to the boundry....Instructions.......I'm confused sitting in the stands....can't imagine what the players feel....Maybe just let them play and enjoy playing....Win ,lose or draw.....I reckon we couldn't do any worse....The KISS principle(Keep it simple stupid)

Bd I think you are correct but the vision after the game did not suggest that to me.

I know they cannot wallow in self pity but can someone tell them to look like they are in as much pain as us.

Fake it because they lost me with that vision from Friday night

Posted

Same year as me Bossdog but after the last five years mate I am struggling to "stay Strong"

The pain is getting to much to bare.

Much more of this and I will retire to the Amateurs.

It is much more fun and the I don't have to keep putting my hand in my pocket to sustain generations of poor performance.

Last Friday's performance was as low as it gets. Fair dinkum, Mitch Clark ( & to be fair, Clint Bartram ) aside, I saw nothing to hang my hat on. Meek, mild, awful.

How do you keep kids interested when rubbish like that is served up.

Posted

Bd I think you are correct but the vision after the game did not suggest that to me.

I know they cannot wallow in self pity but can someone tell them to look like they are in as much pain as us.

Fake it because they lost me with that vision from Friday night

I agree, didn't look good or the vision of Watts and Martin having a joke in the stands during the game....
Posted (edited)

We also lost the possession count (Cont and Uncont) by 165 You can't kick a winning score if you don't get the ball.....

Edited by Bossdog

Posted (edited)

I agree, didn't look good or the vision of Watts and Martin having a joke in the stands during the game....

I did not see that, but you have to wonder what they are thinking?

My first reaction is "well they cannot blame us"

But don't they understand how it looks to the Fans?

I want players who spit chips after 9 straight losses not these smiling over paid under performers

Posted

We also lost the possession count (Cont and Uncont) by 165 You can't kick a winning score if you don't get the ball.....

Fairly basic tenant that one

Posted
It's amazing that in round 7, 2011 we beat Adelaide by 96 points at the MCG. Moloney got 3 votes in this one. Now the bloke has the sooks. Sylvia kicked 4 goals V Crows. Now he can't be arsed doing anything. Petterd also kicked 4 goals and looked super dangerous and dynamic. Now he doesn't look AFL standard. All 3 could and should (bar maybe Moloney) be dropped this week. All 3 are supposed to be in our top 10 players. Something seriously stinks at this club.

Petterd is absolutely nowhere near a top 10 player at our club. Not even close.

Posted

I don't think we'll win more than 2-4 games this year. There is a far too big a discrepancy in statistics for us to be anywhere near a win at the moment.

I think we'll beat GWS comfortably because our backline and forward is far too experienced, but anything can happen.

I've given up on this year and next. I just want to see improvement from here.

Posted

the thing that makes it hard to take is that for many of us we had hoped bailey was the entire issue. Once we appointed a new coach we were all hoping we'd transform into a great side overnight.

Looks like we need to be patient for another season or two yet, and thats only to be in the mix for finals!

Posted

the thing that makes it hard to take is that for many of us we had hoped bailey was the entire issue. Once we appointed a new coach we were all hoping we'd transform into a great side overnight.

Looks like we need to be patient for another season or two yet, and thats only to be in the mix for finals!

Being in the mix for finals....Bring that on. It is a feeling i have forgotten.
Posted

Robbie I think that it actually has very little to do with the game plan.

Our team is low on quality.

We are now 18th

We do not have the skill level necessary to cut it as an AFL side.

IMO The Team that played last night had six "A" class players

Clark, Frawley, Jamar, Grimes, Jones and Perhaps Howe.

Then Five Battlers

Rivers, Bartram, Magner,Mckenzie and Morton.

Not sure what is going on with Trengove!

Fitzpatrick is in his second game so I will reserve judgement

The rest are either below AFL standard

or has beens who are well past it.

Whatever way I look at it 11 goers out of 22 is not going to get you very far.

In fact it is going to get you 18th.

In my humble opinion it is that simple, we have half a team.

I said to my fellow demon friends who I attend each week with and named 11 players who shouldnt be on the list

But that was 2 years ago so what do i know?

Guest Jackie
Posted

I am now of the opinion and 100% convinced there are outstanding serious grievances by the players that have not been addressed. Nothing to do with game plan, fitness or any other football issues. Bailey was an opportune scapegoat by unfortunate timing of 186 which let the real culprits escape. As long as they remain at the club we are doomed and destined to wallow at the bottom of the ladder for a very long time or till when this issue is addressed.

Posted

Gary Lyon has had to much involvment without any responsibilty at melbourne.

How on earth can you blame Garry for the inept performances of most of the team. The only way you can link Garry with our performance is with being part of the group who chose Neeld. So you are saying that it is the Coach's fault that we have a few sooky la la's in the team and a few players who are just not up to AFL level. Get a grip - stop making excuses for a very poor playing team. Look a bit further back to why our No.1 picks have just not come on like other teams top picks. I am as shattered as anyone else but dont seek blame where non is due.

Posted

Agree with those that have been watching the club since the 70s and agree that we are at rock bottom right now and with the least light at the end of the tunnel. Infact currently the lights are Mitch Clark and a 17 year old.

Posted

I am now of the opinion and 100% convinced there are outstanding serious grievances by the players that have not been addressed. Nothing to do with game plan, fitness or any other football issues. Bailey was an opportune scapegoat by unfortunate timing of 186 which let the real culprits escape. As long as they remain at the club we are doomed and destined to wallow at the bottom of the ladder for a very long time or till when this issue is addressed.

for what its worth all dockers members that i know are convinced Schwab and Connelly are the root of all evil
Posted

I was at the GWS game in Manuka, and both teams right now wouldn't just beat us, they'd do it comfortably.

In Neeld we trust? Hm...a baptism of fire yes, but the early signs of his tenure aren't good. I'm more worried about the club this season than I ever have been. The feeling of powerlessness makes it worse. I've written to the club and signed up for additional memberships to show faith, but at the end of the day you just have to sit back and watch the trainwreck unfold.

Guest Jackie
Posted

for what its worth all dockers members that i know are convinced Schwab and Connelly are the root of all evil

they don't need to convince me any further.

Posted

We haven't really looked like winning a game yet, and both GWS and Gold Coast have pressed games right up to the line against 'much better' opponents.

I had a long think about it and I can only really see one thing that definitely separates the performances.

GWS and Gold Coast have both been keeping up a 'no passengers' attitude.

We haven't.

And yeah, we really do face the prospect of finishing last over the whole season. In any given week GWS/Gold Coast can look like they mght pop up with a big surprise win. We don't. We look like we pack it in once we've been 'adequately competitive' and aren't really to concerned about winning.

I really didn't want to have thoughts in my head like 'if we finish last, we get 1+2 (compo), and Viney at '22ish' in the draft. It could be like getting the Judd-Ball-Hodge (Whitfield, Viney, Stringer) draft all to ourselves.

Sigh, not a healthy way to be thnking in round 7.