The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

The Callum Sinclair Thread

Inner Demon

Posted

Twenty-one year old 201 cm, 96 kg forward.

Played VFL for Port Melbourne this year, apparently very quick on the lead and a nice kick. Essentially a Tippett/Kosi type.

Rather than reach for a tall player in the first round I'd prefer to see us take another quality mid and pick up this guy later in the draft.

VFL+Rd+12+Port+Melbourne+v+Bombers+jyMIE9t73s0l.jpg

• Replies 78
Posted

Would be a very late selection IMO. Dean Galea was the main forward at Port kicking 46, not sure how many Cal kicked.

Some likely types at Port that have been around. I am pretty sure Brett Deledio's brother is there. Very well run VFL club The Borough.

Posted

Was he with Collingwood ?

I think he was on Collingwood's VFL list but didn't play due to injury. Iv'e seen him a few times this year and he is very raw but has silky skills for a big man. I would prefer us to pick up a young underdeveloped forward/ruck from the VFL whose playing against men, than an early developed tall kid dominating against boys. Sinclair looks like he has heaps of upside if he can develop his body. It would be great if we could get him as a second or third round pick.

Posted

He was with the Collingwood VFL side, and had stress fractures through his foot last year so didn't play at all.

He's a mate of mine and is a tall but lanky unit, put on about 8 kgs this year though. I reckon he needs to put on another 10 and he will be unstoppable. His hands are terrific and has a pretty good engine

Posted

He was with the Collingwood VFL side, and had stress fractures through his foot last year so didn't play at all.

He's a mate of mine and is a tall but lanky unit, put on about 8 kgs this year though. I reckon he needs to put on another 10 and he will be unstoppable. His hands are terrific and has a pretty good engine

If he bulked up he would fit in well as a second or third string forward taking pressure off the likes of Jurrah and Pettard.

Posted

If he bulked up he would fit in well as a second or third string forward taking pressure off the likes of Jurrah and Pettard.

If he bulked up a bit mate he would be the focal target... at 200cms at least and 100kgs

Posted

Maybe you could keep us updated on any clubs that have a chat with him?

Posted

Have heard good things about him on SEN, wouldn't be disappointed if we took him. They said that he would possibly get taken in the rookie draft,

Posted

That's the type of player that if available later in the draft i would be happy if they took a punt on him. Similar situation to Fitzpatrick and Gawn with long term views.

Posted

Jack Darling has also played a fair bit of senior football with West Perth this year and although a few centimetres shorter than a traditional forward/ruckman, appears to be highly skilled in a number of areas, is versatile, has very good endurance seeing as he's been used in a midfield role and he can also take centre ruck contests- i'd be interested to see how he goes at the vertical leap at draft camp.

Not to mention that he seems to enjoy and welcome a physical contest- if he's willing to do this when he's only 18- I can't wait to see him doing it at 22 when our premiership window will be wide open.

Posted

Have heard good things about him on SEN, wouldn't be disappointed if we took him. They said that he would possibly get taken in the rookie draft,

rookie draft ? OP says 2nd or 3rd rounder - which is it ?

anyone have any stats on this guy from his VFL season at Port ? goals, etc.

Posted

Was he with Collingwood ?

Yep- he is the tall forward I mentoned several weeks ago as a likely type.

• 4 weeks later...
Posted

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/102369/default.aspx

Saw on a guys twitter that seems to be getting things right more than not say the Demons are very keen on this kid for the draft.

Great size and very mobile.

Would rather take the risk with him than Hale.

Footage of him is a bit raw and one or two clangers but you get the idea, i think he did test top 10 in kicking at the combine also!

CALLUM SINCLAIR...

Posted

Saw on a guys twitter that seems to be getting things right more than not say the Demons are very keen on this kid for the draft.

Footage of him is a bit raw and one or two clangers but you get the idea, i think he did test top 10 in kicking at the combine also!

CALLUM SINCLAIR...

hmmm, interesting.

Might take a year to develop though?

Anyone know more about him?

Posted

CALLUM SINCLAIR...

Who's the bloke on twitter, if you don't mind me asking?

Posted

I mentioned at least four weeks ago under the thread talls that he would be an ideal pick up for us. A beanpole whom has played CHF & FF with brief ruckwork. Formally played with Collingwood but definately shows promise. Would be an ideal 3rd round or fourth round pick up but rumours afloat we may even try to gain him with our second pick.Do not know how this will fit in if we trade and take Hale whom is around same height with Sinclair(around 200 cms- 89 kls just turned 21 last week..shows promise no doubt.

Posted

Who's the bloke on twitter, if you don't mind me asking?

deepthroat

@SpyandSource

Posted

That's the type of player that if available later in the draft i would be happy if they took a punt on him. Similar situation to Fitzpatrick and Gawn with long term views.

I agree. Would make for a great mature-aged rookie selection.

Posted

Haven't had much time to keep up to date with all this, but if we are keen on him, are we able to do what Freo has done with the Suns (for another VFL player) and get the Suns to nominate him and then on trade him to us with a swap of late picks involved?

He looks a likely type and just by going off his highlights and profile, could be worth a shot I think. Seems to fill the exact need we have

Posted

I was just wondering if we can sign him up during trade week? Can we do a deal with Gold Goast like Freo did today with Peter Faulks?

Does everyone think he would be better then Hale?

I think he would.