Posted

l belive that under a new coach brad miller will find his form of 2 years ago that saw him as vice captain .

And hopefully he'll start hitting the packs hard again .

Posted
l belive that under a new coach that miller will go back to his form of 2 years ago that saw him as vice caption .

And hopefully start hitting the packs hard again .

Why do you think this? Has Bailey said the Miller is a key for us? I hope so to.

Is there any point to possibly pushing Wheatley on to a wing as his kicking is so long and pentrating it may bust a few zones?

Posted
Why do you think this? Has Bailey said the Miller is a key for us? I hope so to.

Is there any point to possibly pushing Wheatley on to a wing as his kicking is so long and pentrating it may bust a few zones?

Yep, Bailey has been explicit in saying that Miller is a required player and that he expects a big turnaround from him. Has been spruiking him quite a bit. It's been so full-on it's brought some incredulous laughs around here, where Miller isn't exactly everyone's hero. Apparently, "2008 is Miller Time"!

I think Chris Johnson will make a big move up the order in 08. He's already a lot stronger now than he was just half a year ago. Possibly to become a Bruce-style utility with a bit of extra strength and a bit less fitness.

Dunn looks a likely step up big time, any minute now.

A number of other players I think will continue their improvement on a 'normal' schedule, ie Frawley, Bartram, Buckley, Garland, Newton. Sylvia is doing a full preseason - that'll help his cause.

I'll be very interested to see what happens to Paul Johnson - I reckon he'll be groomed as the next Ben Holland!

But if I have to name one player who I think will really turn on something we weren't expecting and become a genuine A-Class footballer - Brad Green.

Posted
Yep, Bailey has been explicit in saying that Miller is a required player and that he expects a big turnaround from him. Has been spruiking him quite a bit. It's been so full-on it's brought some incredulous laughs around here, where Miller isn't exactly everyone's hero. Apparently, "2008 is Miller Time"!

Its been one comment made some weeks ago and repeated ad infinitum by those that cant part with the fact that Miller is not the long lost CHF we have been searching for.

I think Chris Johnson will make a big move up the order in 08. He's already a lot stronger now than he was just half a year ago. Possibly to become a Bruce-style utility with a bit of extra strength and a bit less fitness.

Body strength was not his problem last year. It was his heart for AFL and his decision making under pressure

I'll be very interested to see what happens to Paul Johnson - I reckon he'll be groomed as the next Ben Holland!

Pity he cant mark.

But if I have to name one player who I think will really turn on something we weren't expecting and become a genuine A-Class footballer - Brad Green.

Honest but unlikely.

I would expect the following players to step up:

Sylvia -With a good pre season will hopefully apply him to the task and have a greater impact.

Bartram- Sorely missed last year. Will make everyone wonder where was he last year.

McLean- Should have the sting to perform under Bailey.

Posted

Sylvia -With a good pre season will hopefully apply him to the task and have a greater impact.

Bartram- Sorely missed last year. Will make everyone wonder where was he last year.

Don't go thinking I'm declaring PJ a superhero - I did say he was being groomed to replace Ben Holland, who plays in about 50% of our games. You're also right about people not wanting to let go of Miller. He's not starting 22 right now in my book, and younger players are passing him by. But I do believe most of his problem is mental, a confidence issue and an issue of being unsure exactly what he's supposed to be doing out there. That can turn around with a new coach. He's a possible turn up, or a 2008 delisting.

I agree that Sylvia, Bartram and Mclean are all likely to have much improved years in 08, for various reasons. I chose Green because I think he's the one most likely to be greatly affected by the new coach. The coaching change could really help Green shake off the disappointing aspects of his game, the way he so often seems to have less impact than he could have. Similar deal with Bruce, Robertson, and even White. Great players but somehow they just aren't consistently taking control of games the way their ability should allow them.

Posted

I agree with these 3, but also think Dunn will step up as well as the agro tagger in the centre, i think he relished it at the end of last year.

Posted

We can only hope with Sylvia.

Bartram. Valuable Role player and i can see him being in the leadership group.

Mclean. He doesn't need a sting to get motivated. He is self motivated.

Posted
We can only hope with Sylvia.

Bartram. Valuable Role player and i can see him being in the leadership group.

Mclean. He doesn't need a sting to get motivated. He is self motivated.

After 2007 I would have thought "everyone" with apologies to Jnr and Jonesy. Lets hope the ftness staff also step up in 2008!

Perhaps an alterantive discussion could be who wont and will leave at end of 2008. The DB coaching regime will need to follow through at end of 2008 toadd to the List further to enable MFC to have tilt in 2010

Posted
I wanted Chris Johnson to be delisted at the end of the seaon but now I have a funny fealing that he'll stand up under Bailey.

I wanted Chris Johnson to be traded at the end of the season but now have a funny feeling he'll be delisted at the end of 2008.

Guest redandbluethruandthru
Posted

jones will dominate the competition and step up to recieve a brownlow

Posted

i tell you who will step up...one or two of bode, pettard, buckley or the juice....however, i think atleast two of these players will not have a big impact next year unless there are many injuries to our starting 22...i dont know about warnock, garland or frawley.....just cant tell...

C. Johnson, Miller???????????????????No idea---could be a fairtale story, could be a disaster

Expect a bigger season from Bate aswell....Jones and Brock will be consistent, however i dont really see them as baileys new light because they have already proven themselves..

Posted
jones will dominate the competition and step up to recieve a brownlow

It would be an awesome effort for the 20yo to do given he is going to be given alot of respect by opposition coaches this year especially with TJ gone.

Posted

bartram was sorely missed - especially when whelan also went down.. can we expect a season like his debut?

lynden dunn is an interesting one - needs to be more damaging with and without the footy.. not sure he is a tagger but an aggressive wingman type...

newton - showed last year what a bit of confidence can do.. the night against the Pies - could not get a sniff, the coahc moves him and he was the catalyst for the comeback...

cameron bruce - had a poor season and would expec thim to bounce back and be that james hird type player he threatened to be.. hopefully his kicking is back!!

Posted

I dont think any of our players are short enough to stand up under the new coach

Maybe if we recruit a midget

Posted

I think every player needs to stand up. I dont think we can be even in the 8 unless everyone stands up. im looking for vast improvements in CJ. The guy should have been delisted and now has to show the community he has tallant. Miller obviously but hey i could name about 30 players