Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 05 vs Essendon

6 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Why when Iโ€™m watching hawthorn and bulldogs do all of their entries into 50 look dangerous, and ours are bloody rubbish and donโ€™t look dangerous at all.

This was the 1st game they looked poor, because our mids were very poor today

ย 
54 minutes ago, red and blue forever said:

Luckily it was my boss who put on that silly bet not me )

I warned him we would be inconsistent this year too

He had just listened to me waffle how good the game was and randomly decided to take the punt on us.... did not think of asking me "hey I'm thinking of putting money on the Dees to win the granny, what do you think?" because i would have told him don't be stupid...

That said, as Clausewitz said, "All partial decisions are merely decisions in suspense, and may be negated or entirely reversed in the final outcome".

Our grand final win is still a live bet.

had we won today, we'd have been equal top of the ladder on points. just say'in . . .

ย 
1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

I donโ€™t know about a spray but I talked with Salo at the airport and he was really fired up, saying (among other things) theyโ€™re gonna โ€œcome out and [censored] smash the Lions next week.โ€ My first impression was heโ€™s fresh off a Kingy postgame address.

Oh yeah, in fairytale land is Salo who is slow of pace and almost done and injured yeah raddi rahh rah.

Well tell u something else Brisveggas will tear us another one

What is most frustrating is how predictable it all was. TMac needs to go, leave Petty in defence and bring in Kentfield or Heath up forward. JVR was terrible again, has played half a good game in 5 weeks. Petty was poor though took a few decent contested marks in the 2nd half.

Steele one of the few who stood up early but still had a few moments he'd like back, particularly that missed goal in the 3rd.

Way too many passengers, Melksham, Windsor, Latrelle, Mihocek, Petty, JVR, Culley all 10 or less touches. Lindsay, Chandler, Langford, Fritsch largely ineffective though Fritsch and Langford did kick a ripper each. Tholsyeup was poor.

Steele, Kozzie, Turner probably the only ones who can hold their heads up after that one. Max had some good periods and some poor as well, how many times did he win a clean tap and it went to an unmanned Bombers player?

They just turned up thinking they'd win an easy one, they worked the Bombers over in the 2nd after getting caught off guard in the 1st and then thought the job was done and let the Bombers back in. 1 goal the difference at halftime meant the winless Dons could sniff a chance at a win and would be tough to beat after that.

Big head syndrome, been a problem with the MFC for decades. They don't respect the opposition and think they can just turn up and bank the points. King will earn his pay this week, let's see how they respond against the back to back Lions.

I thought we played alright in the first half but we gave them a sniff leading by 3 goals just before half time and it was the lead we needed and we gave them the next 2 goals and gave them a sniff and in the second half they ran all over us pathetic last half. NO PRESSURE unlike last week. No pressure and then we started to turn it over. GAME OVER. We are the most mentally weak team in the comp. Wouldn't surprise me if we beat Brisbane and then lose to Richmond.

Lever said didnโ€™t bring the same level of effort, very frustrating considering the experienced players in the team, effort isnโ€™t a skill itโ€™s a thought process!

36 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

This was the 1st game they looked poor, because our mids were very poor today

Whole team was poor. Still not over how bad we were. Looked like a proper bottom 2 team.

ย 
6 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

had we won today, we'd have been equal top of the ladder on points. just say'in . . .

Q, had I won lotto tonight I would be a millionaire but I didnโ€™t and I am not and we didnโ€™t win.

Thinking of what could have been if we won is painful just sayin so stop it ha ha.

We were listless and lethargic, and we didnโ€™t get out of second gear all day. Iโ€™m gutted by the result (especially vs Essendon), but not despondent about our future.

Effort is NON NEGOTIABLE regardless of ability or if u r a senior or young player.

Looks like it was missing today in spades and the result followed.

Edited by DemonOX

The Dons upped the ante and we could not match it today.

We looked slow with ball movement, uncertain, made poor position, disposed poorly etc.

Our forwards had a quite day.

Next week is another chance to get our 'mojo' working.

I know it sucks but what's the difference in the suprise win against the ladder leaders and the surprise loss to the bottom feeders? Not much except the emotion. Win against the top when it's not expected YAY! Lose against what you should beat comfortably OUCH.

These are the sorts of ups and downs that we've all spoken about, not valent losses but soul bruising heartache and absolute giddy joy.

Wonder which it will be next week against the lions? ๐Ÿ’™โค๏ธ

Found Kings press conference a bit odd.

He looked a bit out of answers and almost bewildered about the outcome.

Not sure if it was such a raw loss but he looked flat and defeated. Hopefully he shakes that quick as the boys need to respond, and respond well.

Just finished watching.

I was confident we'd win today and so were the players.

Was North Melbourne, now Essendon.

Weirdos

1 minute ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Not sure if it was such a raw loss but he looked flat and defeated. Hopefully he shakes that quick as the boys need to respond, and respond well.

Itโ€™s heโ€™s 5th game as senior coach with the 1st poor loss, holding back what he was really thinking & trying to be measured not to burn player etc better than hearing learnings, he did say players need to be ruthless with each otherโ€ฆ

I knew going into this season that we were going to have bad games. I accept that we are going to have bad games, and we'll have more before the season's done.

But I can't accept losing by 45 points to the worst side in the competition on a 17-game losing streak. A side who had only won 4 out of 16 quarters before today. Not when just six days ago we played finals-quality football against a flag-contending side.

So whilst I can stomach losing, and 3-2 after Round 5 exceeds most Demonlanders' pre-season expectations of where we'd be at this stage, today has to be seen for what it really was - a stinking failure, not just a standard bump in the road.

We won't compete with probably any of the 17 other sides if we can't/don't run. King mentioned in the presser that we were "lethargic", and that we have to learn to be "unconditionally ruthless, selfless and connected" (his buzzwords). I'm guessing he's seen a bunch of our players who just didn't work hard enough. I'd be surprised if we don't drop a few.

The other thing was him acknowledging the "hunter v hunted" mindset issue. No doubt in my mind he thinks we struggled dealing with the pressure of expectation. Not exactly surprising, as this group of leaders has been struggling with expectation for years. But I appreciate that he raised it.

12 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

Itโ€™s heโ€™s 5th game as senior coach with the 1st poor loss, holding back what he was really thinking & trying to be measured not to burn player etc better than hearing learnings, he did say players need to be ruthless with each otherโ€ฆ

Good point.

I wasnโ€™t sure if he was out of ideas, or just [censored].

Obviously hard to read him from the small sample size of his chats.

PS: @Adam The God see what I meant earlier this week when I said losing today would undo our efforts vs Gold Coast?

On the field we took a massive step backwards.

Off the field, how many do you think we'll get to the Brisbane game next week off the back of that?

5 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

PS: @Adam The God see what I meant earlier this week when I said losing today would undo our efforts vs Gold Coast?

On the field we took a massive step backwards.

Off the field, how many do you think we'll get to the Brisbane game next week off the back of that?

I'd say 22k tops with a 50-50 split, Dees and Lions of Old.

24 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

just watched his presser

i thought it was very instructive

Kingy questioned whether we were being unconditional in our approach. said some of our players not mature enough to deal with the demands of being a true professional

He'll let the players know whats what during the week i reckon

we'll be a different team against the Lions. we won't dish up that rubbish again i'm sure

22 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

We all understand that we were going to have good and bad days, but to lose in that manner against a team on a 17 game losing streak who have been diabolical to say the least is an absolute culture killer.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

9 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

I'll be there

if supporters can't handle one poor performance from a devloping team then they're just as pathetic as our performance today

ย 
19 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Yeah he's come from Geelong where there is an underlying culture of competing. Coaches don't need to spend too much time wondering what attitude the players will turn up with week to week. He'll quickly learn that it's a big part of the job here and he can trust nothing. People will rubbish that comment but anyone who thinks the MFC generally competes with high intensity week in week out is watching with rose coloured glasses. And that's not just now but most of the last 30 years.

I suspect despite Petracca not playing last week, given how unpopular he was with the other players they were probably fired up to give it to the Suns physically and kind of send a message to him. It is back to normal service resumed with the players inexplicably leaving the intensity at home this week.

Pressure ratings pretty much decide every game of football played at AFL level. IF pressure is even, then talent and execution decide it. Our guys again seemed to think they have the talent to overcome bringing low intensity. They don't and nor do most other teams.

3 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

Yeah I'm giving him some time as it's early days but I'd expect him to show a bit more anger at the lack of intensity and performance in general than that

A bit more time???? HE sold himself as senior coach... none of this "SHELLSHOCKED" [censored], Just deliver?? Shellshocked [censored] me!!