Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

GAMEDAY: Rd 05 vs Essendon

A very Melbourne performance. Just trying to show up to get the W. We are being outworked and our attention to detail on basic skills is very mediocre. Some very soft efforts from Windsor and Lindsay, JVR has been invisible and TMac has been putrid. We need to turn up the heat and the work rate.

Lucky to be 6 points ahead

goal kicking very good but outside of Kossie and Gawn we have been very inconsistent

its a 50/50 game now. luckily we are not playing a half decent side

5 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Van Rooyen.... back to Casey, Jeffo or Kentfield time!

Picket I don’t think Jeffo is the answer. I would like to see Batman in the seniors though. He looked really good preseason prior to is injury.

I knew this wouldn’t be a 40+ like most fans are suggesting as Essendon have somewhat been a bogey side over the last few years, but holy [censored] that was weak as [censored]. Essentially with 1 in 2 entries, Essendon are scoring.

This is a team on 62% and 1 of 2 winless sides.

Get [censored]!

Edited by VNightCityLegend

After we got up by 19 I thought we'd bang on a few more and have a 5 goal buffer at the half. Our centre clearance dominance won't last for too much longer and we're just wasting away our opportunities.

The same thing happened last year against Essendon. We dominated centre clearance but we scored 1 pt for the game. If Essendon have a dominant stoppage qtr they might put some serious score on the board as Tmac is looking very vulnerable. Also need to do something about Kako, giving us a bath.

Have to absolutely wake up otherwise we're going to drop this one.

Salem past it if it's not on his terms he is just a plodder that goal by Kaco Salem just let him run on and just jogged behind him, unfortunately we cannot have to many momentum killers in Lever, Salem or McDonald.

1 minute ago, BDA said:

goal kicking very good but outside of Kossie and Gawn we have been very inconsistent

its a 50/50 game now. luckily we are not playing a half decent side

Wow l love your positivity, any chance of Les’s whinging?

JVR is honestly so poor. If any club wants him, take whatever they’ll give. Goody was right to drop him as often as he did, he’s just not getting it.

Every time he doesn’t mark one or gets beaten he swipes at the ball or throws his little tantrums, just embarrassing.

1 minute ago, Bates Mate said:

Our Lack of quality small defender is being shown up.

Our lack of quality with ball in hand is also being shown up.

Hitting a target would be nice. Great having all these young players with plenty of run, but it counts for nothing if you then turn the ball over.

Soft ending.

We actually have 4 of the top 5 rated players on the ground, but the problem is we have 6 of the bottom 8 as well.

If not for Koz, Gawn and Disco, we'd be down a few.

Need to see a lot more from guys like Langford, Culley, Windsor, Lindsay etc - and hopefully Melk/JVR/Fritter can get more involved at the scoring end!

And we lead turnovers 43-35

Culley needs to do more.

Sparrow needs to do more.

Steele needs to be strong in the 2nd half.

Tholstrup needs to play his role.

Gawn needs to play smarter 2nd half. Give the ball to the kickers in play.

Lindsay and Howes need to be solid down back. TMac and Lever need to be strong.

Kozzie needs to remain Kozzie. Star.

Van Rooyen needs to take some responsibility.

It needs to be a collective effort next half.

7 minutes ago, BDA said:

i'm going to have to mute gary lyon. he is too painful to listen to

Yep doesn’t shut up and says the same thing over and over again during a game along with stating the bleeding obvious.

Also shouldn’t do Melbourne games as always endlessly talks up the Dees opposition to appear unbiased.

Gaz, ever heard of the saying “Less is More”.

5 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Picket I don’t think Jeffo is the answer. I would like to see Batman in the seniors though. He looked really good preseason prior to is injury.

I think we should try Roo at centre half back, runs under ball way too much to be a forward.

6 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Agree, Fritta and Melk have never worked in the same team. To tall imo with JVR and Mihocek as well

8 players with 5 disposals or less till half time:

Windsor, JVR, Mihocec, Langford, Melsham, L Pickett, Petty, Culley.

7 minutes ago, Billy said:
  10 minutes ago, BDA said:

Have you watched the game? I can happy clap if you prefer

19 minutes ago, TRIGON said:

A one man veil of negativity.

He would fit in very well on here

OK, here we go! Let's hope they practiced heaps of foot skill stuff in the rooms and psyched each other up to make sure we don't lose to this rabble!

Just play a solid, no-quarter-given half of footy please!!

Max going ok but boy, that lazy kick off HB after the free was a doozy and real sloppy.

He had player on further up the field also in a much better posi.

T-Mac trying hard but struggling

No answer for Kakoa when he gets close to goals?

Lindsay is ok on the receive but just seems to run and kick in straight lines most of the time without connecting much or looking to change angles. Pretty easy to defend.

Players that need to lift...

> Rooh

> Windsor

> Langers

> Lingers

> Steele (disposal)

> Kolt

> Melky

> Howes

> Petty

> T-Mac

Pressure, pressure, run and desperation!!

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Half time 50 to 44

👍🏻goalkicking, 22 inside50s - 8 goals

👍🏻Steele a standout again

👍🏻Howes Gawn Kozzzy Lever Sharp

Passengers - a few here unfortunately.

-JVR. Langford. Culley. Petty. Milkshake

-Tmcd looking slow again !!!

@Demonland -Windsor was poor , only 5 disposals- looking like a lost sheep in that half

X missed tackles through midfield

x ONLY two tackles in forward 50 in 1st half @binman

X poor pressure rating. Barely 190

If we play like this v top teams Cats, Hawks , Freo, Lions or Swans, we’d be 50 points down by now

Love the big fella of course but geez Maxie goes to ground easily sometimes.

Our tackling is really weak.