Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 04 vs Gold Coast

1 hour ago, deegirl said:

I wasnโ€™t a hater but was very disappointed by his stalled development. The last two weeks have been fantastic, hereโ€™s to Spaz holding that form

Amazing what a new coach can do for a player and their confidence. Great to c.

ย 
6 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Amazing what a new coach can do for a player and their confidence.

So far, King good.

What a win really proud of the boys. Gawn is the best ever Melbourne player by a mile never plays a bad game and Steele is the recruit of the year been fantastic. I haven't seen many better performances by the dees in this game. We have a winnable 3 game patch, Essendon, Brisbane at home and Richmond. We could be 6 and 1 I didn't think we would be this good, most people had us bottom 4.

ย 

13 tackles inside 50. Haven't seen us that fierce with the tackling in the forward line for a while.

Kade Chandler 3 tackles inside 50, Harry Sharp 2, Mihochek 2, Laurie 2.

Makes a difference, makes a massive difference.

If King it attempting to somewhat channel Geelong's method with us, then Tom Sparrow is our version of Tom Atkins.

Some of his pressure work in contest was bonkers in that last quarter.

Gee a sliding doors moment. King misses the wc job because he had a medical episode but a season later lands the Melbourne gig

2 hours ago, Abyssal said:

So was I, stayed right to the Final siren.

Thanks for the memories.

Me too. What a [censored] day, at a [censored] ground with a [censored] public transport system.

Loving Tom Sparrowโ€™s and Jack Steeleโ€™s work in the clinches turning into 2 genuine brutes, tough tackling and quick hands to release Kozi, Caleb etc

ย 
3 hours ago, Demon_JB said:

Unreal game! I was worried Kozzie was going to have a down game but absolutely lit it up. We are playing so much fast fun footy, absolutely loving it.

He did!!! :-)

I have one significant gripe from Kayo/Fox.

We just won probably one of the biggest upsets this season will see and then they went to the bounce or whatever that rubbish show is.

Didnโ€™t get to see the boys run off, spend time with fans, go down the races, or the pressers.

Huge pet peeve.

I really like when petty does the ruck. Leaves van rooyen free & he does have a leap.

At one point he just smashed it forward

Could it be the Krakouer bros. all over again with Kozzie & Latrelle? When both of them are involved in the play, good things happen

Almost impossible to coach against too as a lot of what we see is pure instinct. Electrifying!

Today we got a glimpse of how good Latrelle could be whilst we already know how good Kozzie is

This was my first time going to a game in over a year (Torn Achilles, I do not recommend). First thing to say is the Melbourne faithful were LOUD. And the love for Latrel is very real. Any time he touches the ball they go wild, and when he got his goal it was deafening.

For me the big takeaway from this game is how much scope there still is to improve. Seeing the whole ground made it obvious that they were outspreading us all game. They moved the ball from defence to attack effortlessly, but with all the flaws and rough spots in our game we thrashed them in almost every key stat. Imagine what this team will look like when they've ironed out the rough patches.

1 hour ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Did somebody tell CP5 this when he wanted out to GC17.

Ah well he got an extra year at $1.4 mil.

Nepo babies team?

Probably #5 Prime example of Nepo baby (I.e. Prima Donna).

How good is this. So exciting to have a revitalised team under a new coach and new gameplan.

It really seems like King and the coaches have different levers to pull now and reacting more to the game. We have more strings to our bow than before and I love to see it.

During the week Matthew Lloyd commented that โ€œMax Gawn and Kozzie Pickett are great players in a poor teamโ€. So Matthew, eat your words!

Thank you Greenyโ€ฆ

ca2cc672-c4e9-40d5-9f71-53bf36b03e77.jpeg

Edited by Ghostwriter

So listening to gawn on abc after the game, it seems king has just given free reign to the players on how they use the ball.

Gawn made comments about what he does & if he stuffs up king won'tyell at him.

Also said towards the end they wanted to slow the play down & control the ball but the picketts had other ideas

3 hours ago, Garbo said:

Media refusing to give us credit still what will it take before we get taken seriously, saying itโ€™s due to gc having an off game not because we made them play 4qtrs

Watching broadcast (Ch7) their commentators came into the match with a prepared script and, especially in the first half, were unable to comprehend what was going on, other than wait for the inevitable GC comeback.

(Fair to say, the GC players seemed to be of a similar mindset... and if I was one for getting stuck into the officials (I most certainly am not!) I might suggest they also had an expectation of how the game would play out and who were the players and team they should 'get behind'.)

Edited by Alex No Fancy-name

If you don't have the pieces to the puzzle i would tend to agree.

But a excellent coach only needs a pre season to embed his ideas, thoughts, game plan, beliefs and team/player morale.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

2 hours ago, Pates said:

What I'm enjoying over the course of our three wins is that there isn't a reliance on one forward to do the damage. Round one it was Roo and Checkers, Round 3 Fritta bobbed up, today it was Melksham.

While I would love to see JVR take a step towards consistency, having a combination of dangerous forwards makes life hard for the opposition defence.

In terms of inconsistencies of our forward line, I think a lot comes down to who the opponents aim to lock down.

Certainly that was my impression last week (which I could watch live), Carlton made the decision to put work into Roo and Mihocek, which made room for Fritz.

We won't get one player kicking 100 goals, but a team regularly scoring 100 points is sinething to watch too!

Edited by Alex No Fancy-name

28 minutes ago, Macca said:

Could it be the Krakouer bros. all over again with Kozzie & Latrelle? When both of them are involved in the play, good things happen

Almost impossible to coach against too as a lot of what we see is pure instinct. Electrifying!

Today we got a glimpse of how good Latrelle could be whilst we already know how good Kozzie is

That Kozzie kick to Latrelle off half back on the Warne stand side had me thinking just that.

They find each other easily.

Edited by layzie

44 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Gee a sliding doors moment. King misses the wc job because he had a medical episode but a season later lands the Melbourne gig

Whoa-whoa-whoa, can't be going around using that reference accurately. What will Damien Barrett think!

ย 
3 minutes ago, Chook said:

Whoa-whoa-whoa, can't be going around using that reference accurately. What will Damien Barrett think!

He'd think it was used incorrectly

4 hours ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

So many positives but Sparrow was an absolute maniac in that last quarter. Like an out of control boulder with vices for arms .

If you watch him closely he doesn't let much get past.

This game was a great midfield performance but I reckon it was an even better defensive midfield performance that that we nullified their midfield by tackling the hell out of them.