View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

7 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

Nah I reckon it was Kingy knowing what everyone in the industry could see - we cannot kick and were carrying 3 of the worst 8/9 kicks in the AFL in our top line midfield.

Goody was absolutely kidding himself last two seasons, which is why this drastic change had to be made.

Let’s assume Trac and Oliver were ‘21-23 form. I still think it wouldn’t have mattered - we probably still have just played finals last 2 years , but wouldn’t have contended. So ultimately we would have had to trade one or both out anyway IMV. The issue is that we would have been much better off pick / player wise, which would have accelerated our rebound. This is where we weren’t ruthless enough and still believed we had what it takes.

I’m with you, King has come in and told them Geelong were not at all concerned with Oliver and Trac getting the footy, they just give it straight back or you can torch them the other way.

I am in the Clarry fan club, at his best I was more than happy to say he was the number 1 player in the league. His work in close, even when unfit, was simply a thing of beauty.

I hope a fresh start re-energises him and he finds some peace.

40 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Love that they're doing the hard sell with the boat trip on the harbour. Greater WESTERN Sydney is nowhere near the harbour!

3 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Rubbish I'd take pick 12 and run. Oliver is cooked.

Yep, he’s wasted alright, destroyed our dynasty.

2 hours ago, Bobby McKenzie 2 said:

MFC has basically given Clarry his marching orders. They have done it in a DECEITFUL way knowing that he would not accept playing elsewhere than as a midfielder. Poor show and at the moment I have no desire to renew my membership next season. Mr King has made a poor start to his coaching career. Just hope he can justify this decision. I fear that if they let Petracca go we are only going to have West Coast behind us on the final AFL ladder. Hardly a recipe for playing finals Mr King.

2 hours ago, Bobby McKenzie 2 said:

MFC has basically given Clarry his marching orders. They have done it in a DECEITFUL way knowing that he would not accept playing elsewhere than as a midfielder. Poor show and at the moment I have no desire to renew my membership next season. Mr King has made a poor start to his coaching career. Just hope he can justify this decision. I fear that if they let Petracca go we are only going to have West Coast behind us on the final AFL ladder. Hardly a recipe for playing finals Mr King.

Seriously Bobby, Clarry is a legend of the footy club & my favourite Dee, but if you can’t see the problems he’s caused this club in the last two & years you’re still looking at 2021 & 2022 Clarry

I’m sick of the likes of Petracca, May & Clarry running the club, a classic case of the tail wagging the dog, King has done the right thing

13 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Looks like a nice day in Sydney.

I absolutely love that the next sub-heading on the AFL.com.au article is 'Rivals monitoring sun'.

I had just thought 'Geez, I hope he used properly tested SPF'.

4 hours ago, Random Task said:

Sounds like GWS is main club linked to him at this stage.

Wonder what a deal would look like given we are allegedly prepared to pay a decent chunk of his wage.

GWS have picks 12, 32 and 34.

Could we get 12 with intention to package that to the Suns for Humphries?

Or perhaps there's a decent fringe player we could acquire, of which there are plenty.

We aren’t getting 12 unless we picked up his entire contract, 32 or 34 or a future 2nd round is more in line with us paying a smaller portion of his contract. Dogs effectively paid 14 for Adam Trelour in 2020 in similar circumstances but he was held in much higher regard at the time

Edited by Garbo

46 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Looks like a nice day in Sydney.

Relax, he's just going up for a look...

I dont really think we told Clarry to march, maybe they challenged him to go outside of his comfort zone? he may still end up at the dees on a nice wicket going through the motions at Casey.

I actually rate Clarry as a pretty funny and open guy but I am always reminded that he wouldnt have gone as off the rails if he was a fringe player not on an endless contract.

But our 2021 Era was over that fateful final when Brayshaw was concussed for mine.

43 minutes ago, Dee Boys said:

Mate Wade Derksen is free to a good home. He’s been on an AFL list for 4 years and hasn’t been good enough to crack the senior team. Whoever wants him can have him. Saying Oliver for Derksen is a fair trade is one of the more extraordinary things I’ve read on the internet, ever.

Maybe, but Bedford was on our list for 3 years, then exploded for GWS.

Similaly, Adams has been on our list for 3 years of what 1 or 2 games - key position players take longer to mature.

From what I understand, there are some fair raps on Derksen and if he was no good, why were we chasing him in the first place.

If we are telling Clarry that he'll potentialy playing alot of footy at Casey in the years ahead, what should we expect in return? I'd rather get something we need than another average mid sized fringe player, which is also a real possibility.

That all said, I also hope there is a chance that Clarry gets going, gets back to top form and reinvents himself as a footballer in the red and blue.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

19 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

To be honest. Awesome seeing him smiling.

counting his dollars

1 minute ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Similaly, Adams has been on our list for 3 years of what 1 or 2 games - key position players take longer to mature.

From what I understand, there are some fair raps on Derksen and if he was no good, why were we chasing him in the first place.

If we are telling Clarry that he'll potentialy playing alot of footy at Casey in the years ahead, what should we expect in return? I'd rather get something we need than another average mid sized player.

That all said, I also hope there is a chance that Clarry gets going, gets back to top form and reinvents himself as a footballer in the red and blue.

There were fair raps on McAdam and Toumpas

4 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Pick 32 or 34 for Clarry sounds like an easy transaction.

Might get done week 1 of trade week.

Although the way they played hard ball on 0 gamer Wade Derksen last year, perhaps pick 34 will be seen as too expensive for GWS.

If we are paying half his wage, I think it will be a pick in the teens

4 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

If we are telling Clarry that he'll potentialy playing alot of footy at Casey in the years ahead, what should we expect in return? I'd rather get something we need than another average mid sized fringe player, which is also a real possibility.

Bedford is a tagger and that’s it at GWS, I hardly say he has exploded. He has very average foot skills and does not find enough footy

33 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Bedford is a tagger and that’s it at GWS, I hardly say he has exploded. He has very average foot skills and does not find enough footy

He went from the default medical sub with us in 2022 to being best 22 in a team that has made finals the past 2 years and also leads their all time tackle average.

Exploded, ok, maybe that could be seen as being generous, but I think GWS would be far happier with the value they got from Toby than I am from what we got out of the Ben Kennedy when Howe left for that scummy team. That's the point I started trying to make. Good fringe (Bedford), bad fringe (Kennedy); Derksen?

I shouldn't be on this site at all. It makes me sick in my stomach to think of Clarrie playing against us - and I am CERTAIN that next year (unless the present mess wrecks his mental health and who should blame him if it did?) he will be a champion again - but the thought that we might be PAYING him to do it is beyond my comprehension. Steven King has got a lot of work to do for me to forgive him or back him. He got the job saying that CP5 and Clarrie were in our best team. So much for honesty and transparency.

3 hours ago, bing181 said:

We don't. Though at the moment, the presumption is that Mihocek comes in, Petty takes May's place, which leaves Adams is still knocking on the door - well, at least while Tom Mac is there.

Perhaps. But if May isn't getting opportunities ahead of Adams, then T Mac isn't either though (which I think he'd be fully ok with and aware of).

The interesting part will be can Lever get back to his best next year? I sure hope so and it's funny how his name hasn't been mentioned much as trade/wants out material much lately, when not so long ago it was (which personally I think is a good thing). Didn't see much of it this year, but I think the Lever/Disco combo could work really well.

53 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

If we are paying half his wage, I think it will be a pick in the teens

Perhaps half his wage and pick 23 For pick 12 or maybe a F1?

1 hour ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Maybe cause Goodwin only gave him a game here and there to come on as a sub.
We were crying out for genuine speed yet he kept playing Spargo.
He hobbled us and blew a chance at least 1 more flag being stubborn and boring.
Shoulda got rid of him 2yrs ago.

Edited by Fork 'em

5 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

But if May isn't getting opportunities ahead of Adams ...

I suspect the club was being polite in terms of why they want May gone.

8 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

Steven King has got a lot of work to do for me to forgive him or back him. He got the job saying that CP5 and Clarrie were in our best team. So much for honesty and transparency.

Fully agree with the sentiment of the rest of your post and would rather Clarry stays, but did King get the job saying Clarry would be playing on the ball every week?

I know the reports the 'club' (i.e. not just King) is willing to pay a massive portion of his salary at another team is sending something of a message, but conversely it's still open to Clarry to accept a different role, get back to his personal best in another capasity and be a contributor.

1 hour ago, Dee Boys said:

Mate Wade Derksen is free to a good home. He’s been on an AFL list for 4 years and hasn’t been good enough to crack the senior team. Whoever wants him can have him. Saying Oliver for Derksen is a fair trade is one of the more extraordinary things I’ve read on the internet, ever.

If anything, taking Derksen probably helps GWS pay for a greater portion of Olivers salary and we get some good depth.