View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

5 minutes ago, Jjrogan said:

All good !! You're totally right tho thats how rumours start or things get remembered differently.

Even now there's a suggestion he liked the Pies facilities better than Melbourne but at that point he hadnt even seen them (or any point). More likely, he was just wearing his heart on his sleeve. I personally dont fault him for that.

Agree. He strikes me as very much heart on sleeve kind of guy. Think he'll say whatever comes to mind if he's hurt.

16 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

If you listened to the interview RBMB they asked Clayton about the Facilities he said that Giants were good/ great and Collingwood’s were better than Melbourne’s. That was my take anyway. He is very sketchy at best and appears to have a deep seated disregard for the press.

To be fair, I don't begrudge his sentiments re the press haha. And those other statements may well be facts.

I am obviously biased, I want us to keep our club champion and see him having a big 2026 - and I LOVE a redemption story.

Would love him to win the brownlow next year, in the red and blue.

I wouldn’t read too much into Lamb saying that we didn’t tell him to find a club. The intent was to spur his actions - he has just done it in a chaotic fashion.

It has meant that the club will find it difficult to get the kind of pick they wanted to get I would say.

Does anyone believe what Tim Lamb said about not speaking to Clarry or GWS yet?? Astounding if true, I think Collingwood might be more in the van than we think! Has he come out and definitively stated that he wants to go the GWS??

4 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Does anyone believe what Tim Lamb said about not speaking to Clarry or GWS yet?? Astounding if true, I think Collingwood might be more in the van than we think! Has he come out and definitively stated that he wants to go the GWS??

I took that to mean he’s off the reservation and not communicating with anybody

14 minutes ago, rpfc said:

I wouldn’t read too much into Lamb saying that we didn’t tell him to find a club.

Fits with my own view that Clarrie was told in no uncertain terms he has to get fitter and run both ways; he may not get midfield time; and, he has to pull his finger out otherwise he'll be playing in a Casey jumper.

20 minutes ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

All good mate, and appreciate the follow-up. My hearing ain't the best - years of listening to loud bands, irresponsibly at times, and two young kids at home keeping me dizzy enough (in the best ways possible) that I am not sure what day of the week it is at the best of times, and had filed this under 'not paying enough attention' haha

Loop earplugs have been a godsend. Takes some treble out while still being able to hear the guitars!

Seriously wish these were around in my 20s. Back then it was either $500 musician plugs or cruddy foam ones.

Edited by layzie

Just now, layzie said:

Loop earplugs have been a godsend. Takes some treble out while still being able to hear the guitars! Seriously wish these were around in my 20s. Back then it was either $500 musician plugs or cruddy foam ones.

They look great!! Yeah definitely not a thing when I was seeing bands weekly. It was nothing (bad I know) or those foam ones (not much better).

53 minutes ago, Demon4Life said:

Please fellow Dees read between the lines. The change in role is an excuse for the media and to not completely kill our trade hand.

We want him gone. He has wanted to go for 2 years. Can't say what escalated things prior to the meeting but you can use your imagination. Sad ending for a great but needs to and will happen.

Spot on.

Steven King would have to be a total [censored] to think that Clarry isn't our best midfielder when fully fit and focussed. You could argue that King should have told Jack Viney the same thing. Obviously King has been told that Clarry is beyond redemption.

And the stories of us taking on part of his salary clearly aren't made up, because no club would even bother to speak to Clarry if it wasn't the case.

Lamb may not have spoken to GWS directly, but he has certainly conveyed to Clarry's manager what the terms of a trade would look like.

3 minutes ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

They look great!! Yeah definitely not a thing when I was seeing bands weekly. It was nothing (bad I know) or those foam ones (not much better).

Oh yeah of course there was a 3rd option: Nothing. Which I think most of us did.

These are definitely worthwhile though and will be on special with Black Friday soon. Even just for peace and quiet from the kids 😜

1 hour ago, Neil Crompton said:

That is just not what he said. This is how false rumours get started.

He was asked (something like) what do you like about Collingwood? Oliver replied, "They are better than Melbourne, that's for sure". His meaning here is that the pies are a better team than MFC - which has been true for the last 3 years.

Still very poor form to put down the club that’s hes played his whole career at, I don’t recall any other player saying anything like what when asked the same question, if they say anything about there old club its usually complimentary even if they are just blowing smoke. He could have said any number of things without putting the Dee’s down

11 minutes ago, layzie said:

Oh yeah of course there was a 3rd option: Nothing. Which I think most of us did.

Speak up, I cannot hear you, what did you say ?

43 minutes ago, rpfc said:

I wouldn’t read too much into Lamb saying that we didn’t tell him to find a club. The intent was to spur his actions - he has just done it in a chaotic fashion.

It has meant that the club will find it difficult to get the kind of pick they wanted to get I would say.

That's right, players have to want to be traded.

42 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Fits with my own view that Clarrie was told in no uncertain terms he has to get fitter and run both ways; he may not get midfield time; and, he has to pull his finger out otherwise he'll be playing in a Casey jumper.

The meeting would have been part of an introduction to the player, with the coach outlining his game plan and the requirements of the roles to be played inside the TEAM. If Oliver took offence at that , just WHO is going to coach him !!!! Time he grew up !!!.

He signed the contract in the first place, then got to the point where he found it difficult to exert the self discipline required to remain an elite footballer.

Why in the hell are we having to pay part of his contract, when he is the one opting out. If he is prepared to go onto the open market (with no $$$ support from Melbourne then let him go.

MFC are not the ones putting on a "tanti ". As employers, they are setting the workplace culture just like in "the real world"

We aren’t paying anything of his salary if we are taking a F3

Take that to the bank

18 minutes ago, Very Jaded said:

We aren’t paying anything of his salary if we are taking a F3

Take that to the bank

Then its the pies or... he com....ar Nar

I swear some of these "Footy Experts" are retarded

59 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Still very poor form to put down the club that’s hes played his whole career at, I don’t recall any other player saying anything like what when asked the same question, if they say anything about there old club its usually complimentary even if they are just blowing smoke. He could have said any number of things without putting the Dee’s down

You obviously don’t listen to Max on his weekly radio spot. He constantly talks about our poor performance and how we’re not where we should be. He often talks about how good other teams are and his favourite players ( often not Melbourne players). He also often jokes about Entrecote! How is that not interpreted as ‘disloyalty’ or ‘putting down the club’ in the same way?

14 hours ago, bluey said:

Hope Clarry can survive, No Max or his missus doing his washing, making his bed,

How will he pay rent, pay bills, communicate with people.

No more MFC to hold his hand, sitting on a boat sinking stubbies, I pray he grows up.

Terms of endearment from an E C.

2 hours ago, Neil Crompton said:

That is just not what he said. This is how false rumours get started.

He was asked (something like) what do you like about Collingwood? Oliver replied, "They are better than Melbourne, that's for sure". His meaning here is that the pies are a better team than MFC - which has been true for the last 3 years.

You might want to listen again mate, he is asked (with reference to Collingwood) “what do you like about them?”

He replies, “what do I like about them? Ahhhhh, I like them better than Melbourne. That’s for sure.”

AFL trades wrap: Clayton Oliver takes brutal shot at Melbourne, three clubs involved in Starcevich move

3 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

You might want to listen again mate, he is asked (with reference to Collingwood) “what do you like about them?”

He replies, “what do I like about them? Ahhhhh, I like them better than Melbourne. That’s for sure.”

AFL trades wrap: Clayton Oliver takes brutal shot at Melbourne, three clubs involved in Starcevich move

It’s pretty much as explicit FU to the club without literally saying FU let’s be real here

8 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

I think Clarry's comment was meant in the Bill Collin's sense: "I like Leilani better than Kingston Town, that's for sure".

5 hours ago, Demonland said:

With Oliver we need to be careful that we don't end up in the same position the dogs found themselves in 2 years in a row. Paying for a guy who won't play and we have to pay big dollars. We may not get the best deal from GWS but it maybe better than being stuck playing big dollars for zero.