View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Just now, Redleg said:

IMG_7945.png

Over the boundary and no free to Langdon.

Have seen this several times in other games by Daicos and never penalised.

A protected species.

6 hours ago, Ollie fan said:

Could be anything. For all we know he might have been saying, "this is up to us"

It wasn’t the talking whilst Max was talking it was the smug look or in my opinion disrespectful look he gave at the very end of the clip.

59 minutes ago, Redleg said:

IMG_7945.png

Free Collingwood... obviously..

59 minutes ago, Redleg said:

A protected species.

Understanding umpiring is actually very straightforward Red... its simple , it's black and white ....

1 hour ago, Redleg said:

A protected species.

Sure is - and yes he is good but still heavily overrated. Frankly, I prefer his brother

8 hours ago, Coolx2 said:

Could be anything. For all we know he might have been saying, "this is up to us"

da

can someone elaborate ?

What was May doing?

Not one small, not one medium, and not one tall forward has come in through trade or draft since 2021 to improve our forward line. Atrocious. Lamb and Taylor what are you doing? Four years developing JVR and Jefferson hoping they will be the answer will amount to nothing, they are C graders unfortunately. Back to the drawing board !

50 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Free Collingwood... obviously..

It ended up a Daicos free after Ed grabbed his leg. The umpiring was atrocious but that's not new. I thought we got a few gifts as well.

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

It ended up a Daicos free after Ed grabbed his leg. The umpiring was atrocious but that's not new. I thought we got a few gifts as well.

Funny you say that.... an expat mate of mine ( a Dee tragic too ) watches from his US home.

I mentioned the umpiring was ... well.. totally !%$@'d .. he also retorted.. a few came back too. The balance though firmly in their favour. He also saw what I saw... how often the umps were so super quick with their whistles they were practically prescient 😉

2 hours ago, Roost it far said:

It’s not clear on the video but how did Ed end up with his leg? He didn’t pick it up, Daicos must have swung it up somehow so Ed could grab it easily. No free, throw in.

2 hours ago, Greg Schneider said:

Not one small, not one medium, and not one tall forward has come in through trade or draft since 2021 to improve our forward line. Atrocious. Lamb and Taylor what are you doing? Four years developing JVR and Jefferson hoping they will be the answer will amount to nothing, they are C graders unfortunately. Back to the drawing board !

Even recruiting membrey would have given us a solid marking target

4 hours ago, Redleg said:

A protected species.

It’s a real rat act imagine if Langdon did that to the “ protected species” commentators and umpies would go right off. The club should prepare a dossier for the new footy boss.

8 hours ago, Gibberish said:

Horse highlighted this earlier in the season. Our last quarter in particular we were kicking it from too far out allowing the defense time to collapse and rebound easily. Old habits and all that stuff.

A bit frustrating to watch but also could be rectified with some good systems by the new coach.

It's also the hang time of the long bombs ... all of our players should should have realised by now that the opposition know where we are going to kick it and therefore defend the hot spot, en masse

And the hang time of the long bomb makes it even easier for the defenders

It's just dumb football and we often bomb it when not under any pressure at all. Just give it off, it's not rocket science

The new coach is going to gave to drill it out of our players. No easy task as old habits die hard

However, it was pleasing to see Oliver finally get back to the team-first mantra with his disposals (DE @ 87% is first rate for an inside mid)

Viney was better as well but a bit short on possessions. Petracca lifted late but was still too wasteful for a player of his class

The better teams have left us behind thus our W/L record and Ladder position

Is there any news on Culley? Small miracle he was able to walk off the ground after that landing, hope he’s ok

On 24/08/2025 at 07:11, DEE32 said:

If anyone gets the chance too, have a watch of the post game video of Chaplin and then Gawn talking after the game. Home in on Steven May and let me know what you think. Especially when Max is talking.

On 24/08/2025 at 07:56, Dr. Gonzo said:

I noticed that too

Bulldogs desperate for experienced defender. Get on the phone and make it happen.

On 23/08/2025 at 18:07, titan_uranus said:

Gawn said last night that he felt we were "in" 20 out of our 23 games this year (the other three being Round 2 v North, Round 2 v GC and Round 23 v Hawthorn).

I was thinking about that, and sort of think he's right.

By my count, at three quarter time this year we were in front 10 times - we managed to lose four of those (3 in the last 5 weeks).

Of the 13 games where we trailed at three quarter time, 10 of those the margin was 18 points or less (the three others were both GC games and Hawthorn last week).

An 18 point deficit isn't necessarily something you look at and think "we're on here", but IMO it's a gettable margin. But we only won 1 of those 10 games (Brisbane).

So there is probably something to be said for Gawn's comment.

(PS: this isn't a "we're close to being good again" argument. We've had this problem for 2.5 seasons now).

I'd argue we were in the North game too. The deficit at 3/4 time was 18 points and we'd butchered multiple inside 50s chances (see Viney), but were creating plenty of slingshot chances in that third quarter. We just [censored] the bed in the last.

23 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Interesting the criticisms of May, Salem and Petracca scattered through this thread.

I know the AF score isn't the be all, end all but the results are:

• 115 - Gawn,

• 106 - May,

• 104 - Petracca

• 103 - Naicos

• 101 - Oliver

• 100 - Salem

Methinks too many posters let their emotions override their objectivity when assessing our players.

I will be very surprised if Petracca isn't in the top 3 in the BnF and Salem in the 5 - 10 range. May hasn't played enough games to be highly ranked.

Yet people want them shipped out!

He had a couple costly turnovers, but in 1v1s May was still very good. I didn't really understand the May bashing this week.

That said, he shouldn't be a lock for 2026 and I said earlier in the year we'd be struggling this year if he was still in the best 22 by the end of '25. Lever, likewise.

I'd like to know what our time in deficit and average per game was.

Not that it's a like for like comparison due to the differing game styles but in our flag year I'd be pretty sure the time in front figure was high.

50 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

He had a couple costly turnovers, but in 1v1s May was still very good. I didn't really understand the May bashing this week.

That said, he shouldn't be a lock for 2026 and I said earlier in the year we'd be struggling this year if he was still in the best 22 by the end of '25. Lever, likewise.

Agree ATG a lot of criticism of our players some right over the top, I made the mistake of venturing onto the game day thread so much abuse of our players by so called supporters, must be a lot of brilliant ex- players posting on here I quickly left.

No player is faultless, they all take chances some pay off a lot don’t. I watched all the games on the weekend and although they were pretty close apart from Tiges and Eagles, there was some brilliance but I have never seen such mistake riddled games, constant turn overs, kicks to opposition, missed marks, Missed Goals, missed Free’s, frees paid incorrectly and so much Bombing into the forward line to outnumbered forwards. I was thinking maybe they are all trying to play our game style, the only time they looked good was when their transition game worked and none of the teams were fit enough to play burst footy for long periods, I hope their supporters weren’t as hard on that bunch of screw ups, not sure what the umpiring boss would have made of that mess.

32 minutes ago, layzie said:

I'd like to know what our time in deficit and average per game was.

Not that it's a like for like comparison due to the differing game styles but in our flag year I'd be pretty sure the time in front figure was high.

This year we were ahead 40 percent, level 4 percent and behind 56 percent, putting us 11th for time in front.

Our flag year we were around 67 percent time in front (1st). 2022 was the big outlier we were ahead almost 74 percent of the time, the best record of any team in the past decade. Def dont feel better knowing that.

38 minutes ago, Jjrogan said:

This year we were ahead 40 percent, level 4 percent and behind 56 percent, putting us 11th for time in front.

Our flag year we were around 67 percent time in front (1st). 2022 was the big outlier we were ahead almost 74 percent of the time, the best record of any team in the past decade. Def dont feel better knowing that.

I didn’t know that 2022 stat but I’m not surprised. We weren’t challenged for the first 10 weeks or so and just about every loss from that point on we got overrun in second halves (the Freo game and both finals stick in the memory). We no doubt had fitness issues in the latter half of the year and I think Geelong were well ahead of every other team that year anyway once it really counted.

Max on mmm this morning said do you reckon we stopped nick from getting the 3 votes.

Maybe that was one of the goals friday night