View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Love Max's reponse to being asked who he wants for new coach. Had suggested Captain coach but it didn't go down well.

Saw a tweet about Goodwin's impact on the league and thought I'd share it here:

"Let’s also not forget how he was the catalyst for a complete shift in the way the game is played right now, Melbourne played such a high hurt, contest dominant and defence led style that teams physically couldn’t compete with. So they had to change, and now this high transition, high rebound and turnover footy is so prominent in the league, all to counter what Melbourne were so dominant at".

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Max... you're a [censored] LEGEND !! 👏❤️

No issues with Langdon whatsoever. He isn’t an AI robotic construct. Of course he will feel disappointed as someone close to Goodwin on the verge of game 200. The media beat up around this is embarrassing. Then you see the podcast segment on SEN titled “is the lack of alignment a red flag for the next coach of Melbourne” 🤡

But, Gawn is right. Goodwin isn’t dead, he is just part and parcel in an industry where if you underperform as head coach of a footy club, you will be shown the door.

You quickly move on.

I’ve no doubt Gawn is still 100% invested and he will rally the group again to align with the new coach.

1 hour ago, BLWNBA said:

Brilliant, that's how you present a professional and unified club.

" I'm a supporter of the team. I'm a lover of the Melbourne Football Club. They've sacked people I've loved before and I've moved on and so have they. ... I'm a lover of the club. I'm excited for what is next ... Football doesn't wait for anybody. Goodwin sacked, I'm like geez my life is over ... I'm down in the dumps Tuesday morning and then we train Tuesday arvo ... and I come here today and I'm like 'I can't wait for the Bulldogs, I can't wait for what we do in the trade period. I'm really excited about what coach we get in'..."

"Football doesn't wait for anybody.."

Never a truer word spoken..

16 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Saw a tweet about Goodwin's impact on the league and thought I'd share it here:

"Let’s also not forget how he was the catalyst for a complete shift in the way the game is played right now, Melbourne played such a high hurt, contest dominant and defence led style that teams physically couldn’t compete with. So they had to change, and now this high transition, high rebound and turnover footy is so prominent in the league, all to counter what Melbourne were so dominant at".

I believe that this is the tweet:

He's just a great speaker max. Poor guy though is the spokesman for all our issues.

But laughed when he spoke about Ed & also how he texted goody about playing on darcy

It's so funny how the media flips the narrative once it's no longer polite to criticise Goodwin. Most of the people shedding crocodile tears were the loudest ones calling for change.

21 minutes ago, Demonland said:

I believe that this is the tweet:

Yep although I don't agree with his sentiment of 2021 being the AFL's most interrupted season. That was clearly 2020 by a big margin!

Edited by At the break of Gawn

I don’t disagree with Goodies sacking. For me the timing wasn’t right,

It’s a big “what if” …………..IF we win these last 3 games against these contenders, and do it in such a way that Goody was coaching us too play, no doubt the media would find a way too [censored] the MFC if it happens. Goodie did create a game style, as mentioned above, that no team could handle at the time, could he do it again, he was trying too that’s for sure.

Thanks Goodie your a legend.

11 hours ago, Pirlo said:

This is a very obtuse response. Many of us are disappointed that the players seem to lack ruthlessness and ambition, as evidenced by the past two years on and off field. Nobody wants Ed to lie, the issue is that he and other players don't seem to understand why this has happened.

17 hours ago, fr_ap said:

Er....yes, I would. Leaders of every...single .. organisation of any size are required to tell half truths or outright lies every single day. Like it or not it is a significant part of leadership - you aren't afforded the luxury of being able to speak your mind and you do need to tow the company line. Honesty is for internal discussions and definitely not for the vultures of the AFL media landscape. Very very very naive to think otherwise.

Seems folks do want Ed to lie. You must be “very very very naive” just like me, @Pirlo 🤷‍♀️

the most frustrating thing about this season is our losses to the bottom half of the ladder. north, bombers, saints twice, carlton and port. 6 games we should be winning - and that would have us in the 8.

19 hours ago, DubDee said:

But it is feeding the media which we could do without.

“Demons rift in playing group” BS article based on Ed’s comments

100% mate he just speaks from the hip!

Does anyone else (or probably just me) think that one of Goodwin's strengths also became one of his bigger weaknesses?

It seems to be pretty universal that he loved the players and they seemed to love him back but as he was so close to the players and looked on them so 'lovingly' that he was almost not then seeing their flaws and kept maybe viewing them at their best, such as they were in 2021. This to me explains why some players always came straight back after injury or that he didn't really move them around. He just kept looking at them thinking of their best and not what they were actually presenting now.

Even hearing that thought we were going to contend again next year has me thinking this, thinking that everyone would get back to their maximum and that 2021 would just happen again.

Just my 2c

Haven't read everything here, so apologies if this has been posted, but I thought this was a nice reflection on Goody and the evolution of the game, with some points we tend to forget about our dominant few years:

Credit to Du Bois
No image preview

History doesn’t repeat itself, but often it rhymes — Cred...

Simon Goodwin’s tenure as coach can, more than any other, be defined by a rule. Fitting for the coach of the Demons that this rule would be 6-6-6.

Maxy is far and away the best media performer currently playing AFL

he has a bright future post playing career

9 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

But would you classify us as a struggling club? Because I wouldnt..

I think that's the million-dollar question and what this all turns on. If you believe media reports, the Board thinks we are, at least to some extent - that we won't win a flag for the next 2 years, which would have rendered Goodwin's future untenable, so they've moved now rather than wait a year or three.

Personally, I don't know that we're much better at the moment than what we're showing - regardless of the list, there's been too much chaos and too much change. Whether that makes us a struggling club, not sure, but it doesn't help and won't help going forward unless we do something about it, regardless of who the coach is.

JV also supports the decision.

“Yeah we all built strong relationships with Goody over the last nine to 11 years, but unfortunately, we’re not sitting where we want to be as a football club, you know the club have to make tough decisions to try get us back into finals contention again.

“So we understand that as a playing group and [are] fully supportive of that.

brutal-industry-jack-viney-speaks-out-on-sacking-of-coach-simon-goodwin

Some here may say he is just towing the company line but if so he could have worded it very differently. Like Max, Jack saw the need for change.

Given Goodwin in 2021 said Jack was his favourite player, Jack's take on the sacking is significant.

Both leaders are heart and soul players, they wouldn't have enjoyed 2 years of bottom 6 finishes. They want to get back to finals again, as we all do.

5 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

JV also supports the decision.

“Yeah we all built strong relationships with Goody over the last nine to 11 years, but unfortunately, we’re not sitting where we want to be as a football club, you know the club have to make tough decisions to try get us back into finals contention again.

“So we understand that as a playing group and [are] fully supportive of that.

brutal-industry-jack-viney-speaks-out-on-sacking-of-coach-simon-goodwin

Some here may say he is just towing the company line but if so he could have worded it very differently. Like Max, Jack saw the need for change.

Given Goodwin in 2021 said Jack was his favourite player, Jack's take on the sacking is significant.

Both leaders are heart and soul players, they wouldn't have enjoyed 2 years of bottom 6 finishes. They want to get back to finals again, as we all do.

Im extremely buoyed to hear the views of club stalwarts. I , to be honest, was gobsmacked listening to Max. It was about 150 degrees ( nq the full half 😉 🤣 ) to where i expected him to be.

This bodes well. It says to me , providing it's good change, they will embrace and go with it.

Is there, has there been deep down , a yearning for something different? Were players a little torn between what they had and what they thought needed to happen? Thats not trying to disassemble anyone but we're humans. Sometimes we know something has shifted. We'd definitely stalled. The vibe was stale. Perhaps there was a will of some to push in another direction but felt awkward and constrained ? All speculative of course.

Sometimes circuit breaker trip .... because they have to.

I wish all parties well.... ( but I save the Lions share for us !! )

Going to be very interesting months ahead.

Thank you Simon for the memories and all the time and effort you put in. I think it was time and the right decision was made to move on. Now let's hope the right decision is made for a replacement.

1 hour ago, DemonOX said:

Give it a rest. I thought he did well in the presser and don’t forget he is stepping up to help the club in his position. Show a bit of respect.

On 07/08/2025 at 09:40, BLWNBA said:

Brilliant, that's how you present a professional and unified club.

" I'm a supporter of the team. I'm a lover of the Melbourne Football Club. They've sacked people I've loved before and I've moved on and so have they. ... I'm a lover of the club. I'm excited for what is next ... Football doesn't wait for anybody. Goodwin sacked, I'm like geez my life is over ... I'm down in the dumps Tuesday morning and then we train Tuesday arvo ... and I come here today and I'm like 'I can't wait for the Bulldogs, I can't wait for what we do in the trade period. I'm really excited about what coach we get in'..."

Maxy for Player Coach and President

20 minutes ago, chookrat said:

Maxy for Player Coach and President

Could save some coin if this were the case.