• Author
40 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Or ...another posit.... they do some( practice ) ...go ok....then.in their minds they've done enough.

Until game days when we know otherwise

You think they don’t know how terrible they are in front of goal? Maybe they have ā€œdone enoughā€ in terms of accuracy during training sessions but like I said, gameday is a whole different thing. How do you think they should train for that? Not rhetorical, it’s a genuine question.

Ā 
24 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

You think they don’t know how terrible they are in front of goal? Maybe they have ā€œdone enoughā€ in terms of accuracy during training sessions but like I said, gameday is a whole different thing. How do you think they should train for that? Not rhetorical, it’s a genuine question.

I've posted how I trained. Only a " suburban boy" back then ... but a couple of guys who had mentored me knew their stuff. ( both very well known vfl players of the day .. both exceptional forwards )

Me and a mate...sometimes just me.. A football and a park with sticks. Set routines... positions kicked from. Positions around arc...and I used 30m and 50 m ( 45 tttt...lol ) ( not dissimilar to basketball shooting practice in idea ) .. 2 to 3 times a week. And hour ago go. Rain or shine.

The point of which is to kick without thinking... you just do...it becomes second nature.

Later when older .. 25-30 .. just once a week... but i was only amateur, had a job.. wasn't paid squillions as my ONLY gig !!

That's my respectful genuine answer.

Practice Practice Practice

Edit...an advantage of a mate... took turns... didn't have to fetch ball as much and could also practice 'on the run marking or pickups ...kicking etc.

I never took my selection as a given..

Edited by beelzebub

And genuine thanks to anyone who posted on any of the training reports. I read them all at least three times, just so I absorb it all

Thanks each n every one

• Author

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

But goal kicking practice is almost WORTHLESS unless a complete appraisal of technique, biomechanical appraisal, open and discreet analysis is done. Otherwise the same mistakes will occur until remedied!

How is it that you know this works but the professionals on big money don’t? Ie. if this really is a solution, why don’t the experts put it into practice?

Another question. How can Ross Lyon complain. About the umpiring. But we never do Cos we always gry the very best umpiring decisions don’t we

It's damm simple low ball drop, kick straight over the man on the mark and kick through the ball no running in an arc, christ all the have to do is watch how the best in the league did it Hudson, Dunstall, Lockett etc it also helps if you are not kicking from outside 50 you will kick more than you miss.

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

I've posted how I trained. Only a " suburban boy" back then ... but a couple of guys who had mentored me knew their stuff. ( both very well known vfl players of the day .. both exceptional forwards )

Me and a mate...sometimes just me.. A football and a park with sticks. Set routines... positions kicked from. Positions around arc...and I used 30m and 50 m ( 45 tttt...lol ) ( not dissimilar to basketball shooting practice in idea ) .. 2 to 3 times a week. And hour ago go. Rain or shine.

The point of which is to kick without thinking... you just do...it becomes second nature.

Later when older .. 25-30 .. just once a week... but i was only amateur, had a job.. wasn't paid squillions as my ONLY gig !!

Edit...an advantage of a mate... took turns... didn't have to fetch ball as much and could also practice 'on the run marking or pickups ...kicking etc.

The poster boy of goal kicking accuracy. Time to get down to training Bub. It’s all too easy šŸ¤”šŸ„“

Ā 
4 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

The poster boy of goal kicking accuracy. Time to get down to training Bub. It’s all too easy šŸ¤”šŸ„“

It's not easy... that's the point ;)

1 minute ago, beelzebub said:

It's not easy... that's the point ;)

Yep, suburban footy, albeit very good, is not professional football. If the answer was easy clubs would kick straight. Aaand not think, just do.

I’m sure you could engineer the mechanics to straight kicking for goal.

13 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

Yep, suburban footy, albeit very good, is not professional football. If the answer was easy clubs would kick straight. Aaand not think, just do.

I’m sure you could engineer the mechanics to straight kicking for goal.

Are you to suppose kicking.. the very essence of the game changes ??

Many suppose the modern game requires modern 'imagined' solutions ?? It doesn’t

The fluidity of the game has increased tempo.. but kicking a [censored] ball hasn't really changed one iota.

A few 'new' techniques has come in.. but the ought to be "classical" drop punt , set shot...hasn't.

There are any number here who will have been taught and practiced the same shtick .

I chose to ignore the sanctimonious derision..

Oops !!

Thank you to all the report writers. In my strange brain I am reading them as preseason sessions.

2 hours ago, 640MD said:

Another question. How can Ross Lyon complain. About the umpiring. But we never do Cos we always gry the very best umpiring decisions don’t we

To be fair this is what goody did bring up daicos focus after kings bday

"It was certainly pretty clear post halftime, early especially, that they (the umpires) were watching some of the holding in and around the ball," Goodwin said.

"I’m not sure what transpired at halftime, but obviously the free kicks were pretty evident early in the third quarter."

He was also asked if he thought the umpires brought up the issue at halftime to look for the holds around the ball.

Goodwin said he wasn’t too sure but hopes they weren’t looking at just one player.

ā€œI don’t know what transpires in those breaks with the umpires and what they discuss, but hopefully they do it for every player," he said.

7 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

I feel like no one really gives a fat rat’s about training anymore, which is fine. I’m still gonna attend and although I’ll probs end up talking to myself in these threads, it’s all good, I talk to myself in real life, too šŸ˜…

PS: Spargs has been told if he gets through Thursday’s training he’s good to go for Saturday.

PPS: Fish (WV28) was particularly buoyant today and when I said I hope to see him running around in the seniors soon he beamed and said, ā€œYou never know, right?ā€ And if I’m not mistaken, he winked. I read that wink to mean You will see me out there soon! Or he could’ve just had an itchy eye or something.

Love your work GW. I thought Verral had a cracking game last week and hope he gets a chance. IMO he is the 2nd best tap ruckman at the club. RE Sesto was he only throwing balls or allowed to do some running (asking for a friend Jane)

50 minutes ago, roy11 said:

To be fair this is what goody did bring up daicos focus after kings bday

"It was certainly pretty clear post halftime, early especially, that they (the umpires) were watching some of the holding in and around the ball," Goodwin said.

"I’m not sure what transpired at halftime, but obviously the free kicks were pretty evident early in the third quarter."

He was also asked if he thought the umpires brought up the issue at halftime to look for the holds around the ball.

Goodwin said he wasn’t too sure but hopes they weren’t looking at just one player.

ā€œI don’t know what transpires in those breaks with the umpires and what they discuss, but hopefully they do it for every player," he said.

No need to be so abstract

Call the spade a [censored] shovel

2 hours ago, Nietaphart said:

image.png

6 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

And that’s a psychological problem, not physical.

Also a problem that you can't really train, it's an in-game issue.

Presumably they're doing what they need in terms of psych work, mindfulness yadda yadda.

7 hours ago, picket fence said:

we practice soccer

No, we don't practice soccer. It's part of a recovery, minimal-load session to compliment running laps, time in the pool or on an exercise bike etc. etc. It's way of facilitating recovery while keeping players fresh physically and mentally.

Plenty here commenting on how short our injury list is. Structured and managed recovery is a key part of that.

• Author
1 hour ago, Older demon said:

Love your work GW. I thought Verral had a cracking game last week and hope he gets a chance. IMO he is the 2nd best tap ruckman at the club. RE Sesto was he only throwing balls or allowed to do some running (asking for a friend Jane)

No running. Didn’t even take his tracksuit off. Just throwing balls to the others. Goody had a long chat to him and he seemed really happy after that.

12 minutes ago, bing181 said:

No, we don't practice soccer. It's part of a recovery, minimal-load session to compliment running laps, time in the pool or on an exercise bike etc. etc. It's way of facilitating recovery while keeping players fresh physically and mentally.

Plenty here commenting on how short our injury list is. Structured and managed recovery is a key part of that.

So we recover with zero injuries and play soccer pretty well, but are [censored] with what we should be better at AND I might add get very well paid for not achieving!!? Right I think I get itšŸ˜µā€šŸ’«

5 hours ago, beelzebub said:

As Gary Player, one of the greatest golfers ever, was heard to say ā€œ the more I practice, the luckier I getā€.

Of course he wasn’t burdened by AFLPA tiredness rules, or social media appearances.

And presumably players can choose to do whatever they wish in their time off. If they really, really wanted to kick better I am sure they could. Maybe they would just like to.

17 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

The fact that they were kicking accurately this morning tells us that it’s kicking for goal in-game that’s the problem. And that’s a psychological problem, not physical.

I think the best way to overcome that psychological issue is repeated practice so they build confidence and ingrain their technique.

Ā 
1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I think the best way to overcome that psychological issue is repeated practice so they build confidence and ingrain their technique.

Agreed, repeated practice is the key but it has to be repeated practice with good/restructured technique otherwise you just get good at being bad.

20 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

I feel like no one really gives a fat rat’s about training anymore, which is fine. I’m still gonna attend and although I’ll probs end up talking to myself in these threads, it’s all good, I talk to myself in real life, too šŸ˜…

PS: Spargs has been told if he gets through Thursday’s training he’s good to go for Saturday.

PPS: Fish (WV28) was particularly buoyant today and when I said I hope to see him running around in the seniors soon he beamed and said, ā€œYou never know, right?ā€ And if I’m not mistaken, he winked. I read that wink to mean You will see me out there soon! Or he could’ve just had an itchy eye or something.

I care. Thanks GW..