A simple recipe for a Demonland celebration later today:

1. Sustain the intensity;

2. Build our skills and decision making, on the back of the new game plan starting to come together;

3. Feed off the growing confidence and belief from the Brissie game.

Combine with:

1. arguably, the most in-form lineup we’ve fielded all season; and

2. Tracc’s 200th

I feel a celebration coming on!

Dees by 40, going away!

Edited by Deeoldfart
Typo

26 minutes ago, binman said:

I don't bet on the dees but if I did I would back us for a win today based on my assessment we are overs at 2.00.

Objectively we should be favourite - I'd peg us at 1.75 to win.

• Playing on our home deck and our opponents have to travel

• We have close to our best 22 team and our opponents are missing at least 5-6 of their best 22

• They ate missing tall fowhi h creates a structural problem for them

• Last year, at their best, they were one of the best transition teams going with a method we struggled to negate - this year they are below mid table for transition and are relying on winning contest and territory, which is our one wood

• We have won 4 of our last 5 games

• The Swas have lost 3 of their last 5 games

• We are coming off a win against the premiership on their home deck, with, in horse racing parlance, the lions franking that form last night (also helping my punting bank)

• The Swans, at home against a travelleing team, struggled to get past the blues, who do anything but frank the form getting smashed at home by the giants

Note: that doesn't in of itself means I think we'll win. Just means I think we a dees victory is more probable hence 2.00 is good value.

BUT I do think we'll win.

If we kick straight I'm predicting a 32 point victory

If I were a betting man (and disloyal) I’d back the swans after your assessment. You have now put a hex on us Binny. How could you?

8 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Plink straight and we win

Plink: the tensing motion a foot makes when kicking an AFL shaped football. If this is done correctly the player will plink in a straight line thus sending the football on the required path.

“He totally plinked that”

25 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Ah, you mean we're not dead yet? 😉

Alright Stan, give it a rest

Just now, leave it to deever said:

Alright Stan, give it a rest

Roger, thanks.

42 minutes ago, binman said:

I don't bet on the dees but if I did I would back us for a win today based on my assessment we are overs at 2.00.

Objectively we should be favourite - I'd peg us at 1.75 to win.

• Playing on our home deck and our opponents have to travel

• We have close to our best 22 team and our opponents are missing at least 5-6 of their best 22

• They ate missing tall fowhi h creates a structural problem for them

• Last year, at their best, they were one of the best transition teams going with a method we struggled to negate - this year they are below mid table for transition and are relying on winning contest and territory, which is our one wood

• We have won 4 of our last 5 games

• The Swas have lost 3 of their last 5 games

• We are coming off a win against the premiership on their home deck, with, in horse racing parlance, the lions franking that form last night (also helping my punting bank)

• The Swans, at home against a travelleing team, struggled to get past the blues, who do anything but frank the form getting smashed at home by the giants

Note: that doesn't in of itself means I think we'll win. Just means I think we a dees victory is more probable hence 2.00 is good value.

BUT I do think we'll win.

If we kick straight I'm predicting a 32 point victory

The punters would agree with you as on Betfair we are slight favourites so that’s the way the money is going on the exchange. Hopefully we get it done as to lose would feel a bit like we wasted our epic win last week!

It both surprises and annoys me how many Swan supporters there are in Melbourne still, and that get to games.

Hope we get a big turnout for us.

Edited by leave it to deever

10 hours ago, Stiff Arm said:

3 votes: M. GAWN

Bloody hope so. He is my Super Coach Captain.

I truely don’t understand the Lever in Tmac out selection. If it goes poorly we could cough up a loss here when we should win. Kolt’s form yesterday at Preston suggests that his demotion was necessary, I will put that down as a positive. Dees by 8 points.

2 hours ago, ghost who walks said:

whats plinking

My favourite use of plinking was during the gulf war (1991 edition), by US Air Force pilots constantly referring to 'tank plinking' instead of tank busting, no matter how many times command insisted on busting for a more appropriately butch manly-man term.

It also refers to flicking a bug away. I guess the closest thing to a definition would be 'effortless destruction'.

I for one would love to see us plinking the Swans this afternoon.

1 minute ago, FireInTheBennelly said:

If we lose this I may have to reassess my life plinks

12 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

It both surprises and annoys me how many Swan supporters there are in Melbourne still, and that get to games.

Hope we get a big turnout for us.

Why does it surprise you? Basically since moving to Sydney they have been winners including premierships.

Swans have a very good record again us down here. This one will come down to whoever wants it more I think. Either way it’s another glorious autumnal day for a game of football. I’d have preferred the 1.20pm start time though given the choice.

23 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Swans have a very good record again us down here. This one will come down to whoever wants it more I think. Either way it’s another glorious autumnal day for a game of football. I’d have preferred the 1.20pm start time though given the choice.

I hear you brother, I came to Indonesia just so I could have a 1.20 start this week.

Hopefully gawn can do better than last time he came up against Grundy.

Looking forward to seeing Langford & Lindsay continue to do there thing & what AJ can bring.

Hopefully melksham & pickett put on a show.

50 minutes ago, sisso said:

The punters would agree with you as on Betfair we are slight favourites so that’s the way the money is going on the exchange. Hopefully we get it done as to lose would feel a bit like we wasted our epic win last week!

I suspect we'll shorten and start equal favourites at 1.85.

2 minutes ago, binman said:

I suspect we'll shorten and start equal favourites at 1.85.

Sounds about right binman.

1 hour ago, DubDee said:

Plink straight and we win

More plinks than plonks would be great.

A plonk is a behind

31 minutes ago, old dee said:

Why does it surprise you? Basically since moving to Sydney they have been winners including premierships.

Just the number that have stuck by them. I also thought in Melbourne many would die off in terms of no new support in from young kids choosing at team. But maybe the trend of your dad's team still goes. At least that's what I did.

But they do pretty well. They would get bigger crowds in Sydney too, if the Scg had a larger capacity.

It's been a very successful move for the club and AFL. Being the first one, many thought it would fail. Although I'm sure there were a few dirty fans that haven't followed footy again.

Imagine if Melbourne was relocated to Tassie and called the Tassie demons. It would break hearts here. And rightly so.

I live in Wollongong and people here get perplexed that an AFL game at the Scg gets much larger crowds than NRL games.

Except State of Origin up here. This is crazy with the level of support and passion. It's like three grand finals.

Sydney at the MCG has often been a real banana skin game, hopefully today is not that day.

21 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

I hear you brother, I came to Indonesia just so I could have a 1.20 start this week.

I’m flying to Perth just so I can watch it at 1:20 too 😂

Our recent record against the Swans hasn't been great so despite them having some a few regulars missing we should not expect this game to be easy.

I went to see the Swans against Carlton last week at the SCG.

They don't bat that deep atm imo so if you can nullify a few key playmakers, we should win.

Heeney and Warner are probably the big threats so hopefully Viney and I suspect Clarry can keep them under wraps - both are super dangerous inside F50.

Blakey creates a lot of rebound in their D50 and I thought the Blues did a decent job of blocking his usual handball receives which robbed him of the chance to do too much damage.

21 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

what AJ can bring

I’m glad we kept AJ in the side - gives us a different look against Grundy in case he gets the better of Gawn

Although I doubt Gawn will lower his colours today…he is on fire

4 minutes ago, Nicko said:

I’m glad we kept AJ in the side - gives us a different look against Grundy in case he gets the better of Gawn

Although I doubt Gawn will lower his colours today…he is on fire

Grundy jumped into him with knees and feet and absolutely thrashed him last time they met. I suspect we’ll see a wiser max today. AJ will be important in the physicality wars.