3 minutes ago, Dannyz said:

First time watching Logan Morris closely after hearing we are linked to him and I can see why. Very dynamic movement and plays above his height. Similar to Melksham in some ways.

Already re-signed

So proud and such a great well deserved result...great for the club, great for the players, great for the fans and great for Goody!! GO DEES!!!

So proud and such an important win up there against reigning premiers. Hope we can ride this wave for a bit now, looks like good things are happening.

Milkshake so important to our team, love that he's impacting so much and god he's a great "round the corner" kick for goal, best guy to take those kicks in my opinion! The only other one I remember that I was that confident seeing line up for one of those was Ben Brown.

2 hours ago, Megatron said:

Offensively maybe so but he toweled up Lohmann. He’s a dangerous forward and I barely noticed he was playing until he got subbed out

Just watched the game again and (Windsor) he was pretty poor. His kicking was atrocious

Bowey was outstanding. Repeatedly left his man to attack the footy and played with smarts.

Our general kicking at goal was very ordinary

Raynor should get weeks for his high hit on Lindsay in the last qtr. Same action saw Viney miss 2 weeks with concussion.

Edited by jnrmac

2 hours ago, binman said:
  • Anything else that helps fans understand the game, one of the most complex elite sports in the world

Get some commentators that truly describe the game and tactics, rather than just shouting player's names (Brayshaw) or babbling on and failing to draw breath (Taylor).

Or when they do describe the game, just mansplain (Brereton).

41 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

What the problem is he is not a defender. He is a winger, he always worked up and back and defender when he had to and attacked when it was time.

Playing him at half back is stifling his natural attacking game.
Not every player can just be an attacking half back, and we are paying him there to the detriment of the whole team and Windsors growth and development.

I am not convinced Windsor's disposal is that good anyway. I guess they are trying to launch off HB but its not working at the moment. Whether his foot is an issue, or lack of pre-season or basic kicking skills it's hard to say.

He's a good young talent so I hope he starts to come good soon

Reflecting upon our last quarter dominance, the role AJ played is interesting. I personally don't think AJ had a good game at all in terms of his impact play-by-play, with only 5 disposals for the game. However, his role helped create two things:

His running and physicality made the Lions think twice at stoppages and was a major factor in us keeping he ball inside our F50 for long periods, despite him not winning a lot of the ball.

Gawn's last quarter dominance. He was fresh. I haven't seen game time numbers, but AJ taking 2nd ruck duties while also playing a forward role meant Gawn could sit back in a defensive position, read the game and take a breather while we locked it inside F50.

I remain unconvinced about AJ's general viability an as AFL footballer, but if he can keep doing this he has to say in.

I didn't watch he game until late last night. though early on with those easy misses from set shots, it was groundhog day.

The big difference was the 4th qtr. Best 4th we have played and by that I mean we actually played out a 4th qtr for the fist time this year.

overall the team looks better and working together for a common goal.

30 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

I am not convinced Windsor's disposal is that good anyway. I guess they are trying to launch off HB but its not working at the moment. Whether his foot is an issue, or lack of pre-season or basic kicking skills it's hard to say.

It was certainly a ? on his draft profile. i remember it on draft night. He does have speed though and great athleticism and a will to compete.

Also his kicking comes good when he is going for goal as he has kicked some absolute rippers. Perhaps a confidence thing.

You give him a mulligan as he's a 2nd year player and they are still prone to inconsistency which is exacerbated through lack of pre-season.

51 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Raynor should get weeks for his high hit on Lindsay in the last qtr. Same action saw Viney miss 2 weeks with concussion.

Definitely should get time off, but it was against us do it will not count

6 minutes ago, 640MD said:

Definitely should get time off, but it was against us do it will not count

Do we know the extent of Lindsay’s injury?

48 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

I thought he was a decent kick last year, but this year he has been a bit wayward, but that couls as you said be lack of pre season/conditioning/Foot.

Also could be the perceived pressure of playing in the back half of the ground where mistakes can cost more.

3 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Wasn’t aware he didn’t touch the ball the entire second half until my mate told me.

will have to watch it again but he maintained pressure on them with his pace and i cant remember any 'run in' goals out the back.

his last 3 games were over 20 possessions so looks like an aberration. and hes learning a new position.

2 hours ago, BDA said:

Windsor going through a rough patch but he's super talented and will come good.

remember its not long ago we were starting to write off bowser and look at him now.

patience people

what rough patch ?

3 hours ago, Brownie said:

We're still as coherent as a Donald Trump press conference at times but geez that will give the lads a huge jump in confidence for themselves and each other.

Now Moderators.

Awhile back I did 2 weeks in the Demonland clink for replying to a comment like this.
Was nothing malicious just pointing out some hypocrisy in the statement, just like I could do here referring his predecessor.
Was told political commentary would not be tolerated even though my comment was a reply yet stuff like this continually gets let through.
How about some consistency.
Near as bad as the umpiring around here at times.

Edited by Fork 'em

3 hours ago, 640MD said:

There was vision of Lizzy and his dad on the TV. And I am too deaf. At the end did his dad say he was telling his Don to stay at the Dee’s and then Kossy looked at him with a very strange look

Or was I hallucinating with glee

Pleased to read others views

Found it

Kozzy and Kevin on YouTube

About his dad designing the jumper

Dad said he Kevin loves the club,

Very good video. I think he will need a huge bait to think about leaving. IMV he will stay.

OK I may have posted a little too quickly and full of emotion after the game with some of my comments on page 1. Nevertheless, I regret nothing.

That was our best win since we knocked off Port early last year and probably the most surprising one since we knocked off the Crows in 2017 (Goody's first season). I was expecting it to either be a harsh reality check or a game similar to last week and it was shaping up as the latter all afternoon... until all of a sudden it wasn't! Incredible scenes. Even when Trac missed at the end, I was expecting heartbreak. At least a Brissie goal to make us nervous. Enter Harvey Langford, the hero against Freo at one end and the hero against Brisbane at the other!

In terms of the season it surely has huge repercussions. 3-7 is basically lights out, but 4-6 makes things interesting. Beating Brisbane at home surely gives the players belief they can beat anyone and I'm sure Goody is driving this notion. We have two winnable games and then could knock off Collingwood, if that happens the lid will well and truly be off. Unfortunately this performance will be cancelled out pretty quickly if Sydney win next week. Either way, I'm pretty pumped that the season is still alive as a fan.

Individuals? Well it's all coming together all of a sudden. We're getting our best team on the park. Our old guys are still performing at a really high level (even May looked pretty good yesterday). Trac and Clarry are starting to find form, the younger brigade of Bowey, Rivers and Kosi are starting to hit their prime years and its showing, and role players like AJ and Disco did their part on the day. McVee is starting to find touch after injury and Fritsch played like a man possessed as sub. I absolutely love Xavier Lindsay, was expecting him to be a bit on the vanilla side when we drafted him but he's the complete package, and it wasn't Langford's best game yesterday but he still bobbed up when he was needed.

Negatives? The Sharp experiment is surely over. I like his effort but he's a real momentum killer. He is basically Billings-lite. Spargo shouldn't be playing. Windsor was playing some good footy but his kicking is becoming horrendous. He can be so much better than another Jayden Hunt. As a team we're still missing too many chances. Petty, Petracca, Spargo, Pickett and of course Sharp missed easy ones just off the top of my head. That's what made Melksham's game so important. He nailed absolutely everything.

I thought Goody was cooked after zero 5 but I reckon he's well on the way to salvaging his coaching career.

[censored] yeah the Dees!

Edited by Bang Bang Bang

3 hours ago, Brownie said:

We're still as coherent as a Donald Trump press conference at times but

I wonder why you would use that analogy when Biden pressers were as coherent as senility itself.....just saying!!!

Tell me ... Who shut down Charlie Cameron?
That guy needs some extra recognition.
Was near unsighted.

Edited by Fork 'em

4 minutes ago, DeeBlood said:

I wonder why you would use that analogy when Biden pressers were as coherent as senility itself.....just saying!!!

Careful man.
Might find yourself in solitary with no avenue to appeal 😐

Edited by Fork 'em

2 hours ago, old dee said:

Sadly he is very near the end. Perhaps he can squeeze out another season while we search for replacements. Sadly they are not currently on our list.

I think Fritsch will replace him seamlessly. I actually think that’s the role they’re working on Fritsch taking.

28 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

Now Moderators.

Awhile back I did 2 weeks in the Demonland clink for replying to a comment like this.
Was nothing malicious just pointing out some hypocrisy in the statement, just like I could do here referring his predecessor.
Was told political commentary would not be tolerated even though my comment was a reply yet stuff like this continually gets let through.
How about some consistency.
Near as bad as the umpiring around here at times.

Amended. Should be safe unless BT does a Basil

2 hours ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

True. We have this year and that's it I reckon. Beyond that he should be part of the coaching group - to help create/encourage more of his type of play. Lowering the eyes. Goalkicking practice. Simple things, really. But he can influence. And we should still be on the lookout for more forwards.

I'd be shocked if melk doesn't go around next year.

He looks as fit as ive ever seen him, he us driven and he plays a role that doesn't involve the sort of running other foreards might have to do.

17 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

Tell me ... Who shut down Charlie Cameron?
That guy needs some extra recognition.
Was near unsighted.

Mcvee

1 minute ago, binman said:

I'd be shocked if melk doesn't go around next year.

He looks as fit as ive ever seen him, he us driven and he plays a role that doesn't involve the sort of running other foreards might have to do.

I hope you're right!! I thought the same. He really does look in ripper nick - and yes, not playing a style of footy that takes the typical wear and tear on the body. Would be huge to have him around for one more year.