19 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

Lever back means Disco up forward I reckon which prob means AJ is out.

Yep agree with that and Petty backs up in the ruck!

8 minutes ago, binman said:

Mcvee

And people been potting him 🙄

19 minutes ago, binman said:

Mcvee

I think you are correct. I can remember Cameron getting about 4 metre start on the RHS in the third. Took a one handed mark under little pressure, he missed. But had little influence before that and again very little after . But it’s the only time he got clear air . That I can remember. Going from memory watching live.

38 minutes ago, binman said:

I'd be shocked if melk doesn't go around next year.

And disappointed.

Well that was a pleasant surprise and the boys should be happy with that result and would loved to have listened to Fagan talking to his group after the game when you play like millionaires when the game is on the line that's what you get, as for our players I enjoyed watching the difference some of the younger players, Lindsay, Langford, McVee, Windsor, Melksham who can dispose of the ball with a quick motion and decision making compare that with Gawn, May, McDonald etc who hold up the ball.

It also showed up the skill level between the sides I still cannot understand how layers kick the ball so damm high when transferring or when there is a loose man who has to wait for it and it ends up holding the play up but overall it was a good second half and good to see them pushing to the end hope that is the standard from now on.

The design of the Lions jumper at the back looked like they were showing their bum crack.

Does that Jaspa Fletcher ever go to ground?

Clarrie and Lachlie had a good honest duel.

Clarrie and Trac look for each other.

Lindsay played really well.

I wonder if the kids will need to be managed at some stage.

1 hour ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

I was expecting it to either be a harsh reality check or a game similar to last week and it was shaping up as the latter all afternoon... until all of a sudden it wasn't! Incredible scenes. Even when Trac missed at the end, I was expecting heartbreak. At least a Brissie goal to make us nervous. Enter Harvey Langford, the hero against Freo at one end and the hero against Brisbane at the other

We saw what Brisbane are capable of with their fast ball movement through the middle. It could have easily blown out. A lot of their goals looked so easy and they kicked pretty well.

So credit must go to Goodwin and the coaching staff. They clearly stuck with their plan to stifle Brisbane's free flowing run. It didn't always work but we forced turnover a lot. We largely had plenty of players dropping back to assist in defence as well.

Kudos

1 hour ago, Fork 'em said:

Tell me ... Who shut down Charlie Cameron?
That guy needs some extra recognition.
Was near unsighted.

McVee. Anyone that prevents us having to listen to John Denver deserves coaches votes.

Didn't see this coming at all. Honestly thought we would struggle to beat any above average, let alone very good, teams this season. And at about 20 minutes into the first quarter I thought we were in huge trouble - as in ten-goal loss trouble. Brisbane seemed to be finding players forward of centre with ridiculous ease.

The most pleasing thing for me, which I think Goodwin hinted at in the press conference, is that we saw a problem and adjusted - those easy marks dried up. They still got us several times with the 'slingshot' from half back, but it wasn't devastating.

Also pleasing to dominate a team as good as that in the last quarter, albeit still having problems with accuracy.

Loved Turner, Lindsay and Langford's games. Bowey's scorching hot form continues, as well, which is delightful to watch.

3 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

What the problem is he is not a defender. He is a winger, he always worked up and back and defender when he had to and attacked when it was time.

Playing him at half back is stifling his natural attacking game.
Not every player can just be an attacking half back, and we are paying him there to the detriment of the whole team and Windsors growth and development.

Agree Centre best but wing otherwise very good Windsor summary.

I forgot to mention that Zorko is a grub.

24 minutes ago, Fritta and Turner said:

I forgot to mention that Zorko is a grub.

Agreed always going to or coming from trouble!!

22 hours ago, Demon Jack said:

Gawn's late clunks were huge.

Certainly pivotal

To the AJ detractors, did having a competitive beast backing Max up make this possible.

2 hours ago, Fritta and Turner said:

The design of the Lions jumper at the back looked like they were showing their bum crack.

Ha ha I thought the same!

10 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

You a hibee or a jambo, Kiltie?

😂😂😂 @Rab D Nesbitt

I follow the St Mirren Saints in the Scottish league. My heart's with the Paisley Saints as my great uncle played for the Saints before being whisked off to WWI.

Interestingly, rugby is bigger in Scotland than soccer. In Scotland, there are more golf courses than rugby fields and more rugby fields than soccer pitches. When I first came here, I called them 'rugby ovals'. The Scots laughed at me saying only an Australian with your cricket would call them rugby ovals.

But honestly, AFL and the Dees leave them all for dead. What a great game. What a great club.

In Europe, no work gets done over July and August to take advantage of the weather and summer school holidays. My word the weather is terrible in the UK. So my wife and I are heading back early July for 2 months. Can't wait to see the Dees live.

20 minutes ago, Dee in a Kilt said:

😂😂😂 @Rab D Nesbitt

I follow the St Mirren Saints in the Scottish league. My heart's with the Paisley Saints as my great uncle played for the Saints before being whisked off to WWI.

Interestingly, rugby is bigger in Scotland than soccer. In Scotland, there are more golf courses than rugby fields and more rugby fields than soccer pitches. When I first came here, I called them 'rugby ovals'. The Scots laughed at me saying only an Australian with your cricket would call them rugby ovals.

But honestly, AFL and the Dees leave them all for dead. What a great game. What a great club.

In Europe, no work gets done over July and August to take advantage of the weather and summer school holidays. My word the weather is terrible in the UK. So my wife and I are heading back early July for 2 months. Can't wait to see the Dees live.

The Buddies? Very good. They have a very physical side right now. Aidan Johnson wouldn't look out of place up front or as a central defender.

You don't like the weather but you're coming back to Melbourne in July? The south east corner of England gets really good summers so you could always flit down there. Embra is a lovely city to live in though. Absolutely dripping in history. Do they still do the torchlight procession up to Calton Hill around Hogmanay when they burn a viking longship?

1 hour ago, monoccular said:

Certainly pivotal

To the AJ detractors, did having a competitive beast backing Max up make this possible.

No.

See Maxy's last quater heroics in our three consecutive wins for evidence.

3 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

McVee. Anyone that prevents us having to listen to John Denver deserves coaches votes.

Ha ha.very funny!

As we're currently in the midst of the two Sir Doug Nicholls rounds I have a question somebody could maybe answer. At the start of the live telecasts on Fox / Kayo they pay their respects to elders past and present. I'm pretty sure it was a common thing to pay respects to elders past, present and future / emerging. Any reason for the change?

Edited by Rab D Nesbitt

3 hours ago, Fritta and Turner said:

Yeah was gonna mention on the gameday thread, it was shocker.

I thought every Lions player kicking while being tackled was doing so with their dacks down.

I reckon Melksham is probably for his size...he' not huge...one of the strongest players in the competition.

That win was quite exhilarating will we won’t we, can we can’t we, they seemed to be able to score at will whereas we had to work much harder for any gains. Then I noticed a subtle change come over the game and we started punishing their turn overs as we spread and hit targets up at will. I thought that’s more like it but where has it come from, all of a sudden we were the hunters and they were making unforced errors we were still missing our shots but getting more of them. Jake Melksham put in a pearler and Max and the rest of the team lifted and continued to lift right up til the siren sounded. I recognised when the change occurred but didn’t understand the root causes. Thanks Binman and the other posters that have a greater understanding of strategy and game plan for pointing out what changes the coaches and players initiated and how well it worked, it changed the momentum of the game and we are the benefactors.

9 minutes ago, layzie said:

Yeah was gonna mention on the gameday thread, it was shocker.

I thought every Lions player kicking while being tackled was doing so with their dacks down.

It’s funny layzie but my youngest daughter texted me at the start of the game that the Lions jumpers looked like “bum cracks” we all had a good laugh via text.

5 hours ago, Bay Riffin said:

what rough patch ?

He’s not as assured with his disposal this year. Probably due to positional change and second season syndrome. He’ll come good I’m sure.

9 hours ago, binman said:

Its ridiculous the coverage of the game on TV has basically been unchanged for 30 years.

I only get to watch matches online and agree with this 100%. There are plenty of examples in other sports where you have access to instant replays, other camera angles etc. i.e., making it a truly interactive experience.

Another thing I really miss is that back in the day, I have to confess that I might have partaken in the odd less-than-fully-AFL-authorised video stream. And what I miss from those days is that there was a running comments section. And because it tended to be the same small group who were watching it became like a group of mates going to the footy ... that was in the back all day/how was your week/my wife knows his mum's hairdresser and he's not happy at the moment etc. etc.

That the AFL is unwilling to incorporate the range of technologies that online broadcasting offers is a massive fail - and will see them left behind and marginalised.

Edited by bing181