1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Who’s responsible for 8 out of the last 9 last quarter fade outs?

The players

I should have mentioned that as invisible as JvR was in the forward line, he was terrific in the ruck and won most of his contests. It's a shame because I want him marking in front of goal. He had two chances at FF and blew them both then marked strongly in defence, 120 metres from goal.

We had nothing from Jeffo who I have not seen much of but I can understand the doubters on that showing.

Until those big forwards start holding two or three marks a game and convert we are going to struggle. When Lever returns Turner should go forward. Strong mark and beautiful kick. But until then it's grim times.

20 minutes ago, Nasher said:

As I said in the match day thread, the only way the Kozzy trip non-free can happen is if the multiple umpires in the vicinity weren’t watching the play. It’s plain incompetence and just lucky it didn’t affect the result in the end.

I dunno mate. It was a big moment in the game. And they took down the other end and kicked a goal.

You need reward for effort and we were on too at the time.

5 takles inside 50 for the game. 4.8 from set shots. 1.4 from inside 30m. 7 goals from 48 inside 50s at 14 % efficiency. 1.4 to 6.4 from stoppage. We won total clearance by +11. Rince and repeat.

Players continue to shrink when kicking for goal. It's like they expect to miss.

No fitness..... JvR, Jefferson, Sharp, Fritta and Clayton all should be in the VFL to find form. Clayton needs to do a mini preseason for 5 weeks for his own sake.

On the positive, Langford was very clean today. Looks the goods. New game style is more enjoyable to watch.

30 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Damn shame, played so good for 3 quarters. Missed Petty, Viney and Melksham..no doubt about that. We were a man down with Jefferson, he’s not ready. Langford will be a star.

I think we win the game if those 3 played. Dominated 3 quarters in every department bar the scoreboard due to horrendous goalkicking and some staggering ineptiude from umpires.

The Kozzy trip non decision is hard to believe 4 umpires can miss that but just as bad the free against Fritta for pushing CJ when he was clearly pushed into him by Sicily which gets you a suspension if someone gets hurt.

The 4th quarter was just so predictable.

19 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Gotcha…I wasn’t able to see the game live,

Yep, that's pretty apparent.

19 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

which is probably fortunate, as i have seen the same game so often

🤦

24 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I hate having a go at any one player, but for the love of god can Fritsch stop smiling and joking after missing gimme set shots? Every other player is filthy with themselves and he thinks it’s a joke.

This attitude should never be rewarded.

I am afraid he is no longer worthy of a game. He doesn't contest, tackle or chase. He hangs out the back hoping for the cheap and now his 1 wood, accuracy has gone) Go to Casey and stay there until he shows some willingness to contribute (he may be there a long time).

It's not just that The Trip - as it shall henceforth be known - was an egregious howler, it was the timing. We had some momentum at the time, just a little, but we needed reward for effort. A goal then, and would have been onwards and upwards.

Turner should've gone forward in the 2nd quarter.

Endeavour was fine, skills were deplorable.

Langford and Lindsay were great. Kolt should not have been sub.

Fritsch if you can't nail regulation set shots you're no use to us.

43 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

From the trackwatchers, it seems like there is no proper goalkicking practice, just the players practising boundary-line shots etc at their own pace and for fun.

The shots that need to be practised are the ones from 20-40m out, straight in front or in a slight angle. And they need to be practised A LOT!!!! Including by our captain!

I could be imagining it but the one Fritta missed after the qtr time siren I feel like he struggled because he couldn’t swing round and play on off his line

When Hawks had a set shot between 15-45m out, even on an angle, I felt they we more likely than not to kick the goal.

Whenever we had a set shot from the same distance, especially around 30m out, I had no confidence we were even a 50/50 chance

2 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Yep, that's pretty apparent.

🤦

You are obviously very easily satisfied

Today’s game has been played multiple times over the last 3 Seasons…

It doesn’t work….

+13 clearances
+5 centre clearances
+13 cont
+15 tackles

All key stats to win, If you didn't know the score you would have thought we were a monty.

Sucks to lose games like this, Hawthorn were off and it really was there to win.

I feel like Weid, Shache and Jeffo are the same player. AND of those 3 Weid was the best which is saying something.

JVR has lost his way but will come good i think … too much talent not to. Good in the ruck at least.

Fritsch is just badly out of sorts. His radar needs to be taken back in for a service.

For right now playing all three is almost like going into a game 3 men short.

14 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Did you see the Score?

Had them on toast, that is pure Comedy

You realise we led just before 3/4 time, plus had 4 more scoring shots than them to 3/4 time. We. Had. Them. On. Toast.

if you're gonna have a pop at least show you have a feel for the game.

We've completely changed the way we move the footy.

Just now, Adam The God said:

You realise we led just before 3/4 time, plus had 4 more scoring shots than them to 3/4 time. We. Had. Them. On. Toast.

We have had multiple entries into the 50 for 3 Seasons for atrocious returns

You have a Team on toast when you maximize opportunities

The entire Football Department needs a serious shake up. Not fit enough and not mentally tough enough….

1 hour ago, DiscoStu17 said:

I don’t hate Weddle or anything but he should have been cleaned up by Rivers in the last quarter

he had every right to go for that ball, and didn’t need to stop and do the nice thing.

Weddle was available to us in the draft but we picked Jefferson. ahhh bugger

41 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

We have made NO ground in improving our forward line since the 21 GF.

It’s time for Goodwin to go. He has had multiple yrs to fix the problem which an auskicker could see and NOTHING HAS WORKED.

And please someone anyone tell me whytf we don’t have a recognised forward coaching our forward line ffs. ITS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE.

Don’t disagree & are the reasons why haven’t been able to trade in any key fwds due to cap pressure? Were our picks used to get players like Windsor , Langdon , Lyndsey, Mcvee, when u kick 7.14 it dosent help, Oliver is struggling yet on a Long contract which I hate as club is locked in, Jvr development impeded by having to play ruck? I thought Turner was a fwd option yet played defender with petty & melksham out. Goodwin locked in and too much to payout.

2 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Today was still a fair bit of long down the line but it came with some switching and prodding and creativity at times too.

We were also playing the best outside running side, why would you try to take Hawthorn on at their own game?

Adapting back to a more contest and skinnier style was logical. And we created enough scoring chances that we could’ve been up 75-50 at 3/4.

The plan was good. The ball movement around the back and middle fine. The ball movement inside 50 was ugiy. The finishing diabolical.

1 minute ago, Sir Why You Little said:

We have had multiple entries into the 50 for 3 Seasons for atrocious returns

You have a Team on toast when you maximize opportunities

The entire Football Department needs a serious shake up. Not fit enough and not mentally tough enough….

The game plan generated enough chances through 3 quarters to be 20 points ahead. But the players missed very gettable goals. Thats not on the coaches

reckon our fitness is a much bigger concern than the game plan. We wilted badly again in the 4th quarter today.

4 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

You are obviously very easily satisfied

Today’s game has been played multiple times over the last 3 Seasons…

It doesn’t work….

We are playing a completely different game style than 2021-2023 and most of 2024.

Goalkicking accuracy is a completely different problem to game style.

Binman! Do you now see where my negative attitude stems from? Your two CPF's had blinders again. Sorry but I could not help myself. To all those who think we have a good team need to open their eyes. We need at minimum a 2 year rebuild of our forward line. Jefferson, JVR and Fullerton will not take us into finals ever.

1 minute ago, BDA said:

The game plan generated enough chances through 3 quarters to be 20 points ahead. But the players missed very gettable goals. Thats not on the coaches

reckon our fitness is a much bigger concern than the game plan. We wilted badly again in the 4th quarter today.

Of course it’s on the Coaches, it’s been the same return for 3 seasons

That doesn’t excuse the players at all, but this is a gameplan flaw. It happens regularly

Fitness is way off….

Edited by Sir Why You Little