Oliver out could mean Riv back to midfield and Disco to the backline. Don't mind that

JVR has been extremely poor all season and playing a poor Tigers team last week was hardly the test for him. Lets see how he goes against Sandy on the weekend and if he can back it up (albeit a scratch match) then i think he is look in for the Hawks game.

I'd also like to see a Turner / Petty combination up forward.

Milkshake will likely play a negating role on McGovern.

Big test for TMac and May playing on Waterman and Allen. Allen is miserably out of form - i think May takes him. TMac to Waterman is a good match-up i think.

21 minutes ago, binman said:

Fascinating. No JVR - who gives Maxy a chop out?

I suspect it’s a direct response from our MC to you @binman , for having the audacity to suggest on the Pod, that you wouldn’t mind Max being rested from the trip to Perth.

1 minute ago, GS_1905 said:

JVR has been extremely poor all season and playing a poor Tigers team last week was hardly the test for him. Lets see how he goes against Sandy on the weekend and if he can back it up (albeit a scratch match) then i think he is look in for the Hawks game.

he is an emg, he will fly over with the team and wont be playing for casey

7 minutes ago, Deeoldfart said:

I suspect it’s a direct response from our MC to you @binman , for having the audacity to suggest on the Pod, that you wouldn’t mind Max being rested from the trip to Perth.

Yep, they decided rest smest- maxy can play 100% TOG and take every ruck contest.

Odd we are going so small, who is going to backup max, seems like the only option will be petty, better hope none of our talls get injured on the day

Edited by Garbo

99.5% of Dees supporters, members and fanatics had JVR as back in. Kicked 5 goals, led up strongly, back home in WA, ruck relief if needed.

But MFC selectors go with a 33yr old in his last year of footy with no form and coming back from injury. I love milkshake but it’s not the right call imv. McGovern will intercept everything

Have to trust the “ inside the four walls” decision but seemingly it’s a very strange call

@binman @george_on_the_outer can you explain it to me

Confused Always Sunny GIF by It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia

14 minutes ago, jaydenh10 said:

he is an emg, he will fly over with the team and wont be playing for casey

So he can talk to the eagles about how they’d love to get him back to WA ?!?!?!

43 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

No back up for Max (not even JVR)

Shortsighted IMO

Not really. Flynn struggles against tall men. Even Turner could give Max a chop out and not cop too much of a beating. Max dont need a back up against a ruckman the quality of Flynn.

4 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

So he can talk to the eagles about how they’d love to get him back to WA ?!?!?!

I mean…if he wants to go be apart of that binfire then more power to him.

Their disaster of a “rebuild” makes us look like a phenomenally managed club.

59 minutes ago, binman said:

Turner or Petty I presume.

So they wanted to get Turner back in the team, and he basically replaces Fullarton, but I think it could be Petty than takes the second ruck.

I don't necessarily have a problem with this, the problem I do have is playing Fritta and Melksham in the same forward half (unless Sharp starts ajd Melksham is sub?).

Expect our forward 50 tackles to plummet if Fritta and Melky are on the ground at the same time.

So who’s the 2nd Ruck??? Since Jackson left what have we done to support max apart from the Grundy debacle, do Jvr an emergency and want play for Casey, baffling

8 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

So who’s the 2nd Ruck??? Since Jackson left what have we done to support max apart from the Grundy debacle, do Jvr an emergency and want play for Casey, baffling

Turner an/or Petty I guess.

1 hour ago, Disco InTurno said:

Wow, no Roo…that’s a choice.

Think they got that right. A choice choice!! The forward line has functioned much better without him and we've won two on the trot. He's lumbering and not agile. Forwards must be agile...or dominant marks or both.

He's overrated.. Accurate yes,but useless at ground level and recovering from missed marks. Been carried for too long...Looking like Weideman Mark 2 for mine.

Danger game!!

Again, Reid and Waterman the killers!!

Naming Petty and Turner on the bench is playing selection mind games with the Eagles.

Melky over Roo is playing selection mind games with the fans!

Disco, taller than Van Rooyen, better hands, better ruck

Whilst I am not in denial that Oliver is not his A grade best self, he still is getting a fair few touches per game.

who will they replace him with?

Bizarre.

We are so incredibly reliant on Gawn that its not funny.

Also, someone please explain to me how on earth Harry Sharp continues to get a game? He adds nothing to the team even as a sub or when he's playing full time.

Give us something different at least.. Brown, Laurie, heck even Sestan who's been in excellent form.

Selection integrity is at an all time low.

For those surprised by Fritta being left in, go and watch the small video on shout-outs following the Richmond game. Maxy called out Fritsch's efforts on stopping oppo marks in the second half so I assume that's what has kept him in.

No backup ruckman, no midfield replacement for Oliver, yet another forward who doesn't kick goals and we're still carrying injured or unfit players. Goodwin never fails to disappoint with his bone headed selections.

20 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Bizarre.

We are so incredibly reliant on Gawn that its not funny.

Also, someone please explain to me how on earth Harry Sharp continues to get a game? He adds nothing to the team even as a sub or when he's playing full time.

Give us something different at least.. Brown, Laurie, heck even Sestan who's been in excellent form.

Selection integrity is at an all time low.

selection committee needs to be held accountable, show them all the door asap and never let them back in, im sure max is part of this group so he needs to do better. if i had a dollar for every time we have lost a game purely at selection i could buy the club and caulfield

4 minutes ago, binman said:

Petty I'd assume, he's actually not a zero in there.

6 minutes ago, poita said:

No backup ruckman, no midfield replacement for Oliver, yet another forward who doesn't kick goals and we're still carrying injured or unfit players. Goodwin never fails to disappoint with his bone headed selections.

Langford into the middle, Windsor to the wing. Petty/disco/tmac to pinch hit in the ruck when needed. Jvr hasn't kicked goals this year and 5 against a local footy standard vfl Richmond team is a good start but not sure who else you suggest to come in and kick goals. Turner and melk are an improvement to Fullerton.

I am often critical of our selections but this week they make sense to me.

Edited by Bates Mate

Sharpe's going to be the sub, what's the point in having a small endurance runner with no damaging weapons as a sub? Feel like we're missing a good opportunity to give Sestan or Laurie another crack.

I thought I heard that it was going to be wet on Saturday night in Perth, smallish team might be a master move.

Max shouldn’t be expected to work this hard against WC. JVR was the obvious selection. Turner can play at Casey. I’m presuming Melksham will be sub? I’d have played one of Culley, Brown or Sestan.

Edited by Roost it far