Getting away from different people react differentl ways to different insults, they, the media and the maggots are trying to splinter us, whereas at Carlton it's injuries, tough early rounds and bad weather.

7 hours ago, BDA said:

Trac's body language suggests he wants out. hard to blame him

This will be the interpretation of many and I understand it to a degree.

I think making judgements on players body language can be presumptuous and unnecessary. As many say this could just be Trac in the moment being genuinely upset and frustrated with the game and how it went and likely compounded by the recent form of the previous two games. I think we can all agree thats valid, understandable and we can all empathise for/with him.

If all of last years events with Trac didn't happen it would be a different conversation. But they did. The media did their job (as much as we hate it) of creating a lot of hyperbole around Trac and his commitment or potential lack there of to the club after everything that occured. The minimum that we know and understand is that he has waivered in his commitment to the club, questioned them on their responsibilities and has considered whether he should stay at the club or seek to move on.

It wasn't just last night that his emotions were obvious. After the previous two games he looked particularly dejected and while walking down the race after the St Kilda game he was one who stood out responding to the stupid Dees supporter berating the team as they walked off. The look on his face of disgust while most of the players ignored him or like Max just stared back blankly was a bit telling to me.

What I'm saying is my while its its fair to show emotion as a competitive player who wants to win and we rightly usually champion this, I can't help but see and sense some exaggeration in his body language even during the games. I just feel a sense that he's come in to this season still holding onto everything that happened last year and that this is all playing out on field a bit where he's making it known that he's not happy about the club.

I think Trac is an absolute professional and a leader but there's moments like last night where I too am sensing his frustration being more then just in the moment and potentially using this as a signifier to not being happy over all. I feel right now its more likely then not that he will seek a move at the end of this season.

The reality that it all turns around, that the obvious disconnect between players on field suddenly repairs and we see renewed/returned confidence in each other and the (ho ho) game plan is just so unrealistic at the moment. I do think the club needs to start looking at the next few years for this playing group. If hitting reset means moving unhappy players on then so be it.

Edited by Young Blood

On 05/04/2025 at 08:59, BDA said:

Trac's body language suggests he wants out. hard to blame him

Because he cares & wants success, he’s passionate & should be the next Captain

On 05/04/2025 at 15:55, Dr. Gonzo said:

They should be insulted, they're playing like garbage. Petracca has every right to be disappointed/frustrated, he's feeling the same as the supporters.

Tbh I reckon he's actually more frustrated with the coaches than the players. Imagine playing for a team where the coach is trying to limit damage rather than to go out and win?

Whatever happened to Goodwin's pledge to play more exciting football? It lasted as long as his Simon's sign-off.

On 03/04/2025 at 22:03, Demonsone said:

Jordan Lewis on the radio said that hodge was the most selfless player which was the culture at the Hawks & didn’t see this when he played for us, the selfless theme was highly spoken in 21 .. I guess the weight of the medals changed this?

Was Lewis selfless at the Dees ?????

50 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

Always keen to hear @Dannyz input on these (I might have missed it if he has already)

Clayton has [censored] many off, and whilst his standards have improved, the scars take time to heal.

Christian has grown apart from the club. It seems he has different interests now to what he once did when he was close with his teammates.

The club will look back and wonder where it all went so so wrong after having these players seemingly elated to represent the club and happy to commit on long term deals.

My two cents is that what happened with Gus has had a more profound impact on the entire club than we know. He was the glue that held the playing group together. A perfect team mate.

It will be such a Melbourne thing that we had two generational players in Oliver and Trac and we lose both for a half eaten pickled onion from the fish n chips shop.

37 minutes ago, Dannyz said:

Clayton has [censored] many off, and whilst his standards have improved, the scars take time to heal.

Christian has grown apart from the club. It seems he has different interests now to what he once did when he was close with his teammates.

The club will look back and wonder where it all went so so wrong after having these players seemingly elated to represent the club and happy to commit on long term deals.

My two cents is that what happened with Gus has had a more profound impact on the entire club than we know. He was the glue that held the playing group together. A perfect team mate.

Does it feel salvageable?

We’re going to have a new president, CEO and likely new Footy Manager and coach. Does that change things for the better or worse for those two?

If any of them and/or Kozzy do go, we can’t be getting pick 16 and a second rounder.

35 minutes ago, Dannyz said:

If The Brand wants success then he has to drive it. He's good enough and fit enough to play like Dangerfield well into his 30's giving him plenty of time to achieve further success when you look at our young list. Oliver either keeps his head down and keeps improving or he gets traded, whether that be for peanuts or gold doesn't really matter. There's only one version of Clayton this club can maintain. Whilst I understand the importance of Gus it was long enough ago for another leader to step into the void he left. We're embarrassingly short of leaders and that's something that needs to change. Bottom line as every loss happens its 2 people most in the gun and that's Goodwin and Richardson, you can probably throw Choco into that as well. The wolves are at the door and I really hope we have the leadership at board level to navigate the next 6 months. Buckle up folks cause here we are again.

6 minutes ago, Melb16 said:

Does it feel salvageable?

We’re going to have a new president, CEO and likely new Footy Manager and coach. Does that change things for the better or worse for those two?

If any of them and/or Kozzy do go, we can’t be getting pick 16 and a second rounder.

IF they went, Kozzie and Tracc are still high value, as to a flag contender they could make the difference.

Clarry with his high contract, poor disposal and baggage, is probably now in low demand.

Our FD or a new Coach might have some hard decisions to make.

1 hour ago, samcantstandya said:

Was Lewis selfless at the Dees ?????

His role was to teach, guide and get a kick, not to be selfless at the Dees

2 hours ago, Roost it far said:

If The Brand wants success then he has to drive it. He's good enough and fit enough to play like Dangerfield well into his 30's giving him plenty of time to achieve further success when you look at our young list. Oliver either keeps his head down and keeps improving or he gets traded, whether that be for peanuts or gold doesn't really matter. There's only one version of Clayton this club can maintain. Whilst I understand the importance of Gus it was long enough ago for another leader to step into the void he left. We're embarrassingly short of leaders and that's something that needs to change. Bottom line as every loss happens its 2 people most in the gun and that's Goodwin and Richardson, you can probably throw Choco into that as well. The wolves are at the door and I really hope we have the leadership at board level to navigate the next 6 months. Buckle up folks cause here we are again.

I think its safe to say Trac doesn't have the right qualities to be a leader. Yes, he sets high standards and has a thirst for success, but those qualities alone are not what drives a great leader. I really hoped he would step into the void Gus left, but the events of last year made it clear he misses the mark on a number of fronts.

May, Lever, Melksham all have some good leadership qualities - they are from perfect - but am surprised are not more present. Maybe they are behind the scenes who knows.

Then there is Jack Viney. The heart and soul player. He is getting absolutely hammered by the media and Demonlanders alike. Poor fella.

There is enough there to pull the playing group inline i think but they would be under immense pressure to keep everyone positive given the poor start.

14 hours ago, Demonsone said:

Because he cares & wants success, he’s passionate & should be the next Captain

You know what that's a great idea! He's obviously the most passionate guy we've got and is driven for nothing but success...make him captain dammit!

10 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

I think its safe to say Trac doesn't have the right qualities to be a leader. Yes, he sets high standards and has a thirst for success, but those qualities alone are not what drives a great leader. I really hoped he would step into the void Gus left, but the events of last year made it clear he misses the mark on a number of fronts.

May, Lever, Melksham all have some good leadership qualities - they are from perfect - but am surprised are not more present. Maybe they are behind the scenes who knows.

Then there is Jack Viney. The heart and soul player. He is getting absolutely hammered by the media and Demonlanders alike. Poor fella.

There is enough there to pull the playing group inline i think but they would be under immense pressure to keep everyone positive given the poor start.

Jack Viney can wipe his tears with all the $100 notes we are pouring into his pocket for not much in return

14 hours ago, Dannyz said:

Ta - always appreciated

Agree on Gus. Locker room glue

We need to be recruiting and fostering leaders like him

Testing times ahead

Edited by Superunknown

13 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

Ta - always appreciated

Agree on Gus. Locker room glue

We need to be recruiting and fostering leaders like him

Testing times ahead

I reckon the Kolt is the man that will bring that glue moving forward. Looks a natural leader to me.

4 hours ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

I reckon the Kolt is the man that will bring that glue moving forward. Looks a natural leader to me.

Do we know yet if he can play ? Jury still out for mine. Hasn’t had the opportunity yet to string some strong form together and seemed overwhelmed whenever I’ve watched him . Fingers crossed

I'm coming around to the idea of trading both for whatever the best deal is. I've got a nasty feeling the damage done by them can't be undone and the club needs some clear air. it's a damning indictment on a club that had 2 of the very best mids and now this. Look at how Richmond handled Dusty and compare that to our handling of Oliver. The mere fact we would let Petracca become so unhappy that he wants out publicly is shocking. This needed to be handled in house. We need a new coach, a new football director, new assistants, seemingly a new fitness guru, a CEO and a Smith and Green to be working on a solution. Thankfully we have a list with obvious talent, time is fast approaching when we need to start making hard decisions. I'd hazard a guess that this has started behind the scenes. This industry moves fast and if we make poor decisions now it's only going to get worse.

Petracca's actions on Friday night were a plea to other clubs to "come and get me" from this mess.

With the whole footy world to view on a Friday night selfish behaviour from a player that wants out.

The club knew what they were trading out in the off season to Essendon.

They have probably made a deal with Christian to play 1 more year until a suitable trade can be found to provide us with a way back into top 10 draft territory.

Kozzie might have the same arrangement also.

19 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Petracca's actions on Friday night were a plea to other clubs to "come and get me" from this mess.

With the whole footy world to view on a Friday night selfish behaviour from a player that wants out.

They have probably made a deal with Christian to play 1 more year until a suitable trade can be found to provide us with a way back into top 10 draft territory.

Wouldn't surprise me.

Succession planning would have been in place, can't be doing these things on the fly.

1 hour ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

I'm starting to think this was the plan. To recruit 2 guns and then ask Trac to stay one more year to mentor them and to arrange a suitable trade to get back in the draft.

I still can't see how it's Collingwood though. We won't want future 1st round picks.

1 minute ago, Flowergirl said:

I'm starting to think this was the plan. To recruit 2 guns and then ask Trac to stay one more year to mentor them and to arrange a suitable trade to get back in the draft.

I still can't see how it's Collingwood though. We won't want future 1st round picks.

Trac has the power/upperhand

He'll get to wherever he wants.

Can't say I really blame him atm.

If you were collingwood would you rather Rowell or Petracca?

I think Christian and his now new management are well aware we are not accepting anything other than a top 10 pick and another inside the 1st round.

Clubs didn't have time to arrange anything suitable in the short time frame during the season whilst this was playing on in the background.

They will now have had a full year to plan and make a proper proposal to us now.