View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

I’d be really curious to know what changes trac actually demanded within the football club that were driving his unhappiness or if it’s simply we aren’t in a position to contend and that’s what he wants to do.

It feels like things have just gone downhill since Gus retired for the MFC. That felt like the beginning of the end sadly

1 minute ago, Ted Lasso said:

I’d be really curious to know what changes trac actually demanded within the football club that were driving his unhappiness or if it’s simply we aren’t in a position to contend and that’s what he wants to do.

It feels like things have just gone downhill since Gus retired for the MFC. That felt like the beginning of the end sadly

We're more unlikely than likely to play finals in 2026 so he will jump ship to a team in the window, to look any deeper into it would be overanalysing

Just now, adonski said:

We're more unlikely than likely to play finals in 2026 so he will jump ship to a team in the window, to look any deeper into it would be overanalysing

I think to do anything other than look deeply into why one of the best players the club has ever had is desperate to leave would be ridiculous to be honest

This is the sort of situation that needs to be fully reviewed and understood to make sure we prevent it in the future.

You can’t become a destination club without understanding and admitting why you aren’t one, unfortunately just saying well he’s a selfish dog doesn’t help anyone.

Just now, Ted Lasso said:

I think to do anything other than look deeply into why one of the best players the club has ever had is desperate to leave would be ridiculous to be honest

This is the sort of situation that needs to be fully reviewed and understood to make sure we prevent it in the future.

You can’t become a destination club without understanding and admitting why you aren’t one, unfortunately just saying well he’s a selfish dog doesn’t help anyone.

I reckon he's leaving cause he thinks we're poo!

6 hours ago, Adam The God said:

I don't really care what anyone else thinks. I'm a Tim Lamb fan.

You’re a Flamb.

1 minute ago, Ted Lasso said:

I think that all clubs are having similar issues, players have started shifting from being club first players to self first players, just look how society is now days as a perfect example.

I don’t believe a club should significantly change for one player, if all 40 raised the same issue and nothing was done then maybe it’s a club issue.

Christian has been through heaps and to be honest I think it’s best for him and the club he moves on. He has displayed that he’s not happy for quite some time, with body language and selfish on field plays for the most part.

Gus was such a club man, but a club can’t be held together by just one man. Once you have poison in the water, the whole tribe drinking it down stream will go down with it eventually.

We should get people who want to be there, and have that type of brotherhood such as Brisbane state they have.

I believe once he leaves, and they adjust to fill the gap on field, then after sometime the club will build that culture and feed off it.

I’d love to see Gus come back in some sort of coaching role one day. He’s a wealth of knowledge and I’m sure would be very beneficial.

4 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

No doubt all the reasons we know. A few we don’t. And a few random factors like his girlfriend wants to live in Noosa. I feel like the club is well aware.

And I’m betting on the Suns making it work. The AFL will move heaven to get him there. The club seems to be handling it well.

If Trac went to Freo maybe we could get Andrew Brayshaw in and finally be able to put some players back into the 'Brayshaw's Mum' development program.

How we kept her off the soft cap books is a mystery almost as troubling as the Bellarine farms.

Tracc felt let down by the club and so did his family in relation to his injury. And Max telling him to stop complaining when he had a broken spleen. Facts.

He learned that while he was actually thinking he may die and was getting an infusion that was described as life saving, there was no contact from the club, only a tweet saying he would be back in six to eight weeks and thus realised that even as a generational talent for the club he was just considered cattle. Facts.

Edited by Norm Smith's Curse

Just to switch the narrative, what if May and Petracca aren't the problem? Just saying. Looking forward and all...

One part of a team obsessed with winning and success and another aspect of the team - laughed off as a bit naughty -turning up to preseason camp with corel cuts all over their feet and no shoes (media supported at the time)

Edited by Norm Smith's Curse

22 hours ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

The playing group is fractured. Buckley said as much and it's been rumoured for years.

Tracc will leave the club that posted he would be back in six to eight weeks while he was receiving a life saving blood transfusion without ringing him that night this season or the next.

That’s the one thing you have wrong. They are and have been a very committed playing group. Buckley said it …how would he even know …I would say that well known past players of our actual club would know a damn site more about our club than Buckley .

I'm not sure if there was much truth at all to Trac's own narrative about trying to improve the club and professionalism. It's actually very ironic because Petracca's professionalism was questioned for a number of years when he first got to the club and it was Goodwin that played a major part in getting his off-field professionalism 100% which turned him into such a powerful midfielder.

Since Petracca's trade request at the end of 2024, the club has sacked the President, CEO and Coach. I reckon Guerra is telling the truth when he said he was surprised, because the club has moved mountains after Petracca's tantrum at the end of 2024.

He’s a senior player, a man, highly paid, and he wants someone else to do the heavy lifting, no leadership.

Fix the club for me or else, what a [censored] bloke.

He’s betrayed us twice, that’s it.

Not thought about the thousands of children wearing number five.

Just all about him, all about stuffing his pockets.

30 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Tracc felt let down by the club and so did his family in relation to his injury. And Max telling him to stop complaining when he had a broken spleen. Facts.

He learned that while he was actually thinking he may die and was getting an infusion that was described as life saving, there was no contact from the club, only a tweet saying he would be back in six to eight weeks and thus realised that even as a generational talent for the club he was just considered cattle. Facts.

Some of your ‘facts’ are closer to unsubstantiated tripe than accurate accounts. These mythical ‘facts’ were successfully busted this time last year!

1 hour ago, KozzyCan said:

The character assassination of Petracca is starting to get a bit much. If a contracted player was unhappy at another club and wanted to come to us you'd all be rolling out the red carpet. I'm sure you'll all be doing just that for Sam Flanders. I'm sure no one thought anything less of May when he walked out on the Suns as a contracted captain.

Seems like this is being handled the right way. He informed the club of his wishes and was given the okay to explore his options with the catch that the deal would have to suit us.

I'm disappointed he's fallen out of love with the club but [censored] happens. He's still been a champion player for the better part of a decade and was one of the main reasons we won a flag.

This is a great post, mate. It’s a crucial push back for those of us who want to remember his time in red and blue fondly because of the profound experience we went through that fateful night.

AND also because we have to keep the conceit up that we would be fine if he stays because THAT IS THE ONLY EFFING LEVERAGE WE HAVE TO GET A GOOD DEAL.

And this scenario is also one of the few occasions where fan sentiment matters - if you spew venom at CP5 or demand the club get rid of him for his ‘lack of loyalty’ - then the club will be under pressure to accept 50 cents on the dollar.

So can we just cool down? See things the way KozzyCan sees things and you’ll be better off.

In life and in trade.

1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Paul Guerra

Animated GIF

MELBOURNE CEO Paul Guerra says the club was "surprised" when star Christian Petracca officially informed them of his desire to play elsewhere in 2026.

Guerra said the Demons would hold Petracca to his monster contract if they weren't offered a deal good enough to 'turn their head'.

"We were surprised to say the least, but it is what it is," Guerra said.

In an ideal world Christian stays with us, but ultimately it's his call to explore other options. He believes he needs a fresh start so our view is let's see what comes back from that.

"He has a four-year contract with the football club so if we don't get a deal that satisfies us, Christian will be playing as a Melbourne footballer next year

Ultimately, it's up to Christian and his team now to come forward with a deal that will satisfy us.

"We know what we've got and that's a quality footballer that has a four-year contract. For Christian to leave the football club, it has to be a deal that turns our head.

"He's a generational player for our club, premiership player, Norm Smith Medallist, second in our best and fairest this year, so it's going to have to be something pretty good.

"We'll do the right thing by the football club and if Christian comes back next year, great. If we've got a suitable trade that we've done, that's also great."

I know it’s early days and may end up being untrue but I don’t think Guerra could have answered that any better. Like every single word is perfect.

I’d rather he stayed. Don’t really care if he’s a prime donna or a poor kick, he’s still one of our best players and 30 is the new 25. Draft picks are so overrated and the ones we’ll be offered will be absolute rubbish by the time the compensation picks and bids come through. If it’s Bailey Humphrey or we can get Flanders and change from a trade I’d be listening but let’s wait and see.

But seriously, how good is that communication from Guerra!

7 minutes ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

I know it’s early days and may end up being untrue but I don’t think Guerra could have answered that any better. Like every single word is perfect.

I’d rather he stayed. Don’t really care if he’s a prime donna or a poor kick, he’s still one of our best players and 30 is the new 25. Draft picks are so overrated and the ones we’ll be offered will be absolute rubbish by the time the compensation picks and bids come through. If it’s Bailey Humphrey or we can get Flanders and change from a trade I’d be listening but let’s wait and see.

But seriously, how good is that communication from Guerra!

Agreed.

That’s a pretty clear line of communication, and impressively-devoid of spin/corporate-speak. Feels all the more honest for it.

While we’re still sussing Guerra out, he’s scored an early point for the handling of this situation so far.

35 minutes ago, bluey said:

He’s a senior player, a man, highly paid, and he wants someone else to do the heavy lifting, no leadership.

Fix the club for me or else, what a [censored] bloke.

He’s betrayed us twice, that’s it.

Not thought about the thousands of children wearing number five.

Just all about him, all about stuffing his pockets.

This is the growing narrative whether he likes it or not and I’m a little annoyed that most media personalities don’t take this narrative. They rarely pot the player leaving but you ally go after the club.

I knew from the moment we didn’t hear from Trac for a while after his injury that something was wrong. Whether his thinking to leave existed before or after who knows but I 💯 believe he is leaving due to Melbournes dip in form.

He doesn’t want to be part of the reset and rebuild - I’m glad to an extent as god knows what else happens behind the scenes.

What id give to win a premiership before he retires from what ever club he ends up playing for.

1 hour ago, Ted Lasso said:

You can’t become a destination club without understanding and admitting why you aren’t one

nail on head, all this talk of we should be finalist, we are a finals list, we want to play finals, it sounds like they're trying to convince themselves because the truth is we aren't otherwise we would be, and its now been some time since we were and so we need to start working out how we can be again and for the XX year in a row our net outs seem to be outweighing our net ins pre draft and drafting takes time and patience, and it is a 5,6,7 year process to reach the summit so how can we best position ourselves to get there

3 comments from me

How good was the new CEOs email and video from Tim lamb

I trust the club to get the right deal done if it comes to that

I feel like Gus Brayshaw was the glue that held the players together. Time for change if Trac isn't all in.

Can we split this into a trac thread only now? The only reason Clarry wanted to leave was because he was pushed initially.

Trac wants to go to Gold coast is my view and the PDA in Adel is designed to extract as much as he can from them

9 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

So given that Trac met with Melb the end of last week I would think that meeting wouldn't have included King given he would have been focused on the GF?

Just think it speaks volumes of his desire to exit if he hasn't even sat down with King.

Your guessing

7NEWS
No image preview

Christian Petracca makes rare admission about controversi...

The 29-year-old superstar has given an emphatic two-word response to the question everyone wanted to ask.

We’re is Tracs creditability, commits to the club & says the love he has for the club…. Would you want him back if a deal can’t be done

Edited by Demonsone