23 minutes ago, Go Lordie said:

This comment was unhelpful.

Nobody asked you to read it.

Fair dinkum.

Like your was just was

But maybe it wss as ineeded some myrth. Thanks heaps GL.

Enjoy the replay.

PD did you apply this conclusion to the myriad of other similar posts to mine.

If not please go away.

1 minute ago, Sir Why You Little said:

The sad part of this presser is that Goodwin really believes what he is saying. He is a genuine guy.

The main problem is he needs to be Coached

For Simon it is 100% Defensive

People on here wer saying it in ‘22 even when we we winning (ugly)

We were very good at restricting opposition scores,but we very rarely scored heavily.

It’s been a slow burn ever since

Some good facts here.

Time to change it around, get back in the box and take feedback from all the assistants.

Nathan Jones, what level AFL coaching accreditation does he have?

Retired, one year on telly and now managing our midfield.

This appears every bit of a “good old boys” appointment, a monumental stuff up and a disgrace.

I don't usually drink but I've gone to the a league game and sitting amongst 3000 others with a beer, somewhat therapeutic.

On the plus side, imagine how much money Grill'd is saving on free burgers!

Nathan Jones. Our midfield is currently spectacularly bad, Nathan.

Got anything?

i go to most games but left just after 3/4 time today as I couldn't watch it any more.

1. I keep hearing people say that JVR is the next big thing and he is just young and needs time like all tall players. If you watch him carefully his running patterns are all over the place and he rarely leads. Not much credence there. He cannot take a mark - this has been the same for three years. Today's fumbles were comical if they were not so tragic. He is always getting pushed under the ball. He has played 44 games exactly as many as Harry Sheezel for North and which player would you prefer? He Is not AFL standard in my view and persisting with him is wrecking our forward line.

2. Viney doesn't seem to have much nous - bombs the ball wherever when he actually gets it.

3. May keeps messing up kicks and was so loose today - this has been a problem for a while.

4. Jack Billings should not have been drafted.

5. Matt Rowell obliterated Clayton Oliver today - who tried but was 2 metres too slow. I think his peak has gone.

6. Fritsch should be dropped and given an ultimatum - put some effort in or never play again.

7. If there is a game plan it is not detectable from the stands. So the players are either not following the 'plan' or it is dysfunctional or both.

8. I have thought it was ridiculous extending the senior coach's contract a few years ago. He is inflexible and if there is a plan it is too complex for the skill levels of the players to actually execute. He favours certain players who are not up to it in my view. And I am sick to death of the excuses that are given.

9. I have been a supporter since childhood - went to the 64 GF. So I have seen a lot. At present, we are a bottom four side and a number of teams that have been down there are passing us by quickly - Adelaide, North, Hawthorn, GC, etc. The coaching staff have wasted the early draft picks that helped us win in 2021. Those players are ageing and seem to be somewhat disinterested by the body language one sees from the stands.

Conclusion: They should gently tell the coach his time is up.

7 minutes ago, William said:

i go to most games but left just after 3/4 time today as I couldn't watch it any more.

1. I keep hearing people say that JVR is the next big thing and he is just young and needs time like all tall players. If you watch him carefully his running patterns are all over the place and he rarely leads. Not much credence there. He cannot take a mark - this has been the same for three years. Today's fumbles were comical if they were not so tragic. He is always getting pushed under the ball. He has played 44 games exactly as many as Harry Sheezel for North and which player would you prefer? He Is not AFL standard in my view and persisting with him is wrecking our forward line.

2. Viney doesn't seem to have much nous - bombs the ball wherever when he actually gets it.

3. May keeps messing up kicks and was so loose today - this has been a problem for a while.

4. Jack Billings should not have been drafted.

5. Matt Rowell obliterated Clayton Oliver today - who tried but was 2 metres too slow. I think his peak has gone.

6. Fritsch should be dropped and given an ultimatum - put some effort in or never play again.

7. If there is a game plan it is not detectable from the stands. So the players are either not following the 'plan' or it is dysfunctional or both.

8. I have thought it was ridiculous extending the senior coach's contract a few years ago. He is inflexible and if there is a plan it is too complex for the skill levels of the players to actually execute. He favours certain players who are not up to it in my view. And I am sick to death of the excuses that are given.

9. I have been a supporter since childhood - went to the 64 GF. So I have seen a lot. At present, we are a bottom four side and a number of teams that have been down there are passing us by quickly - Adelaide, North, Hawthorn, GC, etc. The coaching staff have wasted the early draft picks that helped us win in 2021. Those players are ageing and seem to be somewhat disinterested by the body language one sees from the stands.

Conclusion: They should gently tell the coach his time is up.

I agree with everything you said W, except I stayed to the really bitter end. I don't know why but we did.

They had no pride or courage today.

I couldn't discern any game plan at all.

Edited by Hellfire Dub

1 hour ago, Hellaintabadplacetobe said:

Currently I would argue we are the single most pedestrian team in the comp when we don't have the footy.

You could also argue we are the worst with footy in our hands.

It's actually embarrassing to see where we are at as a club right now so soon after a flag.

Feels like we’re playing a massively outdated brand of football, of which we’re rubbish at executing anyway.

The best sides at the moment are all incredibly clean with the ball in hand and highly efficient in disposal. I guess this also affords them the ability to enter F50 cleanly and directly - not wide and high.

16 minutes ago, William said:

He has the tools but needs someone to coach him! He is our #1 key forward now so it is easy to defend against him when he is still playing on talent alone. We will kill his career through coaching and development neglect just like the many who have come before him.

19 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

L L L L W L L L L

Cheers.

112 point turnaround from round 23 last year

But the sycophants on here will tell you the problem is loading, injuries, umpires and any other excuse but we will make the finals so keep quite.

This reminds me of Collingwood in 2021. They were performing way below what the capability suggested. Bucks tried to change but it just didnt work. There was no bad blood between Bucks and the players, but he was probably like Goodwin ... a little too close.

I hope they move swiftly to terminate contract, we cannot afford to muck around.

Can you bring in a new coach mid season? i dont think i have seen that happen before.

1 hour ago, Mel Bourne said:

There is something deeply amiss within the culture of this club.

My ‘trust me bro’ theory - this group know they’ve missed their window & it has infected the mood within club.

48 minutes ago, DiscoStu17 said:

Another positive is that it is the Derby this week.

So one of the W.A. teams will still be bottom, at least this week. Probably.

If the game is tight even the losing teams percentage will improve, we will be bottom

8 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

But the sycophants on here will tell you the problem is loading, injuries, umpires and any other excuse but we will make the finals so keep quite.

9 pages in and as far as I can see everyone is in fierce agreement.

P.S. Not sure that’s the correct use of sycophant.

Just now, Strawberry Fields said:

9 pages in and as far as I can see everyone is in fierce agreement.

P.S. Not sure that’s the correct use of sycophant.

Maybe a little harsh but true with me..

1 minute ago, Hellaintabadplacetobe said:

If the game is tight even the losing teams percentage will improve, we will be bottom

Shhhh!

That’s why I said “Probably”

My uninformed gut instinct sees coach gone, jones gone - probably more

Seriously skilled fwd coach in, even if only to help develop Roo, Turner, Jefferson and whomever else - individually and as a unit

Serious mid field nous in

Replace coach. We need someone good who will attract talent , like Longmire

Now

If that doesn’t help I’m trading Petracca and kozzi for lots of picks

We are going to need those picks

Again, uninformed view

I’ve been off Goodwin since early 2022 (far earlier if I am honest)

Grateful for the flag but past performance not an indicator of future - need to look forward and be ruthless

Appears unsalvageable

3 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

He’s the only player that looks like a half competent league footballer at the moment.

Most certainly, he deserves more space in which to run and prepare, suggesting that he could come up the ground in a roving role nearer to centre, more possible when both Lever and Judd return, providing another target for Lever (where both can kick to a target) and also a paired backline clearance unit with Judd to our ongoing benefit. This would better suit Tracca and Oliver to improve the backline/midline feeds into forwards, provided the latter can find space from combined mobility and kick far better than what is currently on display. Such an array is versatile and can incorporate 'assistances' right along the field from TEAM members, decoys and credible optimists. Windsor and other flankers could well assist and diversify the progressions, thus reducing the readability of the plays by opponents. Remember the Premiership? Bang, Bang, Bang is our outcome.

48 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

The sad part of this presser is that Goodwin really believes what he is saying. He is a genuine guy.

I feel the same.

I've never warmed to him, but I think he's a genuine person and I admire his refusal to resort to public tantrums in difficult times.

It is, as you say, sad to see him front the media after such a bad loss and talk as if he is still in charge of an exceptional side.

51 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

The main problem is he needs to be Coached

For Simon it is 100% Defensive

People on here wer saying it in ‘22 even when we we winning (ugly)

We were very good at restricting opposition scores,but we very rarely scored heavily.

It’s been a slow burn ever since

Gawd... if the coach needs to be coached we really are PARRKED!

We got thrashed by a better team this week.

I want to be clear what I mean.

The team that thrashed us this week is better than the team that thrashed us last week.

Dreadful response across the board by the players and coaches. Lack of leadership on the ground and off the ground.

I woke at 3.20am my time to watch that game and I think I showed more commitment in doing that than 80% of the Melbourne players in that team.

I didn't watch a minute of the game as I was playing footy today.

What the actual [censored] happened??