1 minute ago, Roost it far said:

I tend to agree that playing Fritsch away from goal is counter productive. Problem is is he good enough one out from the goal square?

Yes.

3 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

I tend to agree that playing Fritsch away from goal is counter productive. Problem is is he good enough one out from the goal square?

Fritsch is a great mark and uses his body well in the contest but we can’t be bombing it in on top of his head. Play a talk on him and the ball goes to ground he’ll win out, play a mid / small on him he’ll beat them in the air.

25 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

Its hard to determine whether Goody has put in the wrong strategy or whether the players failed to execute yesterday.

We dont know what the complete strategy is yet as we have yet to see it working. Week 1 was wet footy and yesterday was a complete shambles. 

I do think that the errors of last year will not be repeated. We will persevere with this new gameplan and by his admission there will be some teething problems. 

Honestly, I can look past the skill & execution errors as players find themselves in unfamiliar situations in pressure scenarios and will often stuff up. However these are professional's and are paid as such. They are also mature players with years of experience. So i would expect that teething issues will last 3-4 games before we start to see it gel and work. The 1st milestone is what we reach Round 6 with. Right now 1-5 :0-6 beckons. Winning the next 2 will be an absolute miracle, because they are better than North. To me 2-4 is borderline and constitutes reassessment after the bye round. Anything worse i just cannot see how he stays. 

I reckon 100%, the players failed to execute.

I guarantee you, Goody was not directing players like Viney, our Vice Captain and 200+ gamer to bomb blindly to a forward outnumber on slingshot.

Midway through the third, we were generating multiple slingshot opportunities and then squandering those opportunities that most teams would turn into scores.

It looked a lot like the first half of last year when we failed to take our opportunities on turnover.

Prior to that stretch in the 3rd quarter though we'd failed to beat North for scores from stoppage and by the end of the game, they murdered us from scores from stoppage.

I don't think it's a matter of a different voice. It's a mindset thing, which I hope Shand cab help our guys with. Because as @Roost it far said, when under pressure, our older guys revert to old bad habits, like bombing long to the contest.

I'm 99% sure, the instruction from a stationary slow entry is to chip it around between wing and half forward until a forward can get enough room on the lead or we just keep maintaining possession with shorter kicks.

Our older guys bomb it long to the top of the square ala 2021-2023, and our younger guys like Lindsay or better ball users like Spargo look for shorter options to hit up and maintain possession.

It was obvious in the third quarter the difference in ball use from some of our older players, who at this stage, seem unable to change their engrained ways.

9 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Fritsch is a great mark and uses his body well in the contest but we can’t be bombing it in on top of his head. Play a talk on him and the ball goes to ground he’ll win out, play a mid / small on him he’ll beat them in the air.

I tend to agree but what forward set up are we actually trying to instil at the moment. If the idea is 2 talls deep and the rest further up the ground which led to the first Jefferson goal last week are we then replacing a deep tall with Fritsch? There is an argument that you play JVR, Fritsch, Pickett, Chandler, Spargo, Melksham and Petracca/Langford as our forward line. However if the ball kept getting bombed in guys like Combden would have an absolute field day. 
I still feel our problem remains we’re not sure how much we remain a contest and defence team playing a forward half territory game or a transition team. Thats the balance we’re still trying to find. Again if players fall back to bombing it long we’re in trouble. Against GWS I thought we looked much better at finding that balance for 3/4. Interestingly it was losing contest in the last quarter that ultimately cost us the game. 

Edited by Roost it far

Suns have opened up slight favourites. Get on us this week.

In - Fullerton, Langford, Woewodin, Johnson, Brown

Out - Jefferson, Sharp, Howes, van Rooyen 

B - Lever, McDonald, Salem

HB - Lindsay, Petty, Bowey

C - Langdon, Oliver, Rivers

HF - Langford, Johnson, Spargo

F - Fritsch, Fullerton, Chandler

R - Gawn, Petracca, Viney

I - Sparrow, Turner, Henderson, Woewodin

23 - Brown

Like many of you I was there yesterday and was certainly bitterly disappointed with what the guys put on show. North were terrific and are clearly on an upward spiral now. We won’t be the only team put to the sword by the Roos this year. 
In spite of this, I just want to emphasise to all the doomsdayers how important it is that we Demon faithful stick by the club and turn up in droves at the G this week and beyond.
More than ever, supporters need to get behind the players and coaches, especially  when things look grim. We will turn it around!! To what extent I’m not sure but I think most of us were expecting this year may be a bit of a rollercoaster ride with new players and updated game plan. Key players missing have not helped either. 
Understand the negative sentiment towards yesterday's performance but it’s footy and a really hard and even comp. We looked great week one against GWS. It can turn around really quickly but not if we implode. Vision of that clown giving to the team as they left the field made me sick. That isn’t support and prefer he take this rubbish elsewhere. 

Please! If you are able, get to the G. Get behind them and please let the Chicken Little vibes go. Enough.

At this point what do you even do?

If Goodwin is still the head coach you know the season is an automatic write off.

if Gawn has personal issues and isn’t 100% in the game then take a week off

Backline: probably keep the same 7, desperately need May, Windsor and McVee. Sestan? Hore? Adams? These are not afl footballers any more than Howes isn’t.

Midfield: How do you fix the lack of run and skill??? Langdon midfield failed its first test, guess he goes back on the wing. Want to see Chandler and Henderson on ball more rather than Sparrow.

Forward line: Don’t love the 3 bigs and Fritsch but what else can we do? Seen more than enough of Sharp.

Out: Jeffo, Sharp, Woey
In: AJ, Laurie, Langford 

We desperately need skilled hard runners and 3 of our best in Pickett, Windsor and Judd are unavailable. (And Kolt)

Im going to go positive

When fit play Windsor, Lindsay Langford, Thorstrup, Chandler. JVR, Turner.

Likely two of Oliver Petracca and Kossie will go at seasons end. That should give us good draft picks. That’s 10  promising young ones. I might have missed a few.

Some selective recruiting to fill leadership hole they leave. 

Find out how long Max wants to play for and set a plan for him going forward, with proper support.

Edited by 48 Year Now

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

It was obvious in the third quarter the difference in ball use from some of our older players, who at this stage, seem unable to change their engrained ways.

Agree - trying to get creatures of habit to 'unlearn'

And, as we're on this topic.....ffs, we are sloooowwwww

1 hour ago, SthSea22 said:

In - Fullerton, Langford, Woewodin, Johnson, Brown

Out - Jefferson, Sharp, Howes, van Rooyen 

B - Lever, McDonald, Salem

HB - Lindsay, Petty, Bowey

C - Langdon, Oliver, Rivers

HF - Langford, Johnson, Spargo

F - Fritsch, Fullerton, Chandler

R - Gawn, Petracca, Viney

I - Sparrow, Turner, Henderson, Woewodin

23 - Brown

Nothing to enthuse about Brown’s game at Casey

1 hour ago, Big Gun said:

Like many of you I was there yesterday and was certainly bitterly disappointed with what the guys put on show. North were terrific and are clearly on an upward spiral now. We won’t be the only team put to the sword by the Roos this year. 
In spite of this, I just want to emphasise to all the doomsdayers how important it is that we Demon faithful stick by the club and turn up in droves at the G this week and beyond.
More than ever, supporters need to get behind the players and coaches, especially  when things look grim. We will turn it around!! To what extent I’m not sure but I think most of us were expecting this year may be a bit of a rollercoaster ride with new players and updated game plan. Key players missing have not helped either. 
Understand the negative sentiment towards yesterday's performance but it’s footy and a really hard and even comp. We looked great week one against GWS. It can turn around really quickly but not if we implode. Vision of that clown giving to the team as they left the field made me sick. That isn’t support and prefer he take this rubbish elsewhere. 

Please! If you are able, get to the G. Get behind them and please let the Chicken Little vibes go. Enough.

Appreciate the sentiments here....but you know there will be less than 25k on Saturday. We simply are not an attractive team or brand. 

13 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

B: Sharp, May, Adams

HB: Sestan, Turner, Windsor

C: Langford, Petracca, Lindsay

HF: Chandler, Petty, Henderson

F: Fritsch (last chance), Johnson, van Rooyen

FOLL: Gawn, Sparrow, Viney

IC: Campbell, Fullerton, Langdon, Salem

SUB: Laurie

Swap Petty and Turner, send Fritsch to Casey and bring in Oliver who I can’t see in your side and I think you may have it.

Not another game?

I need a week off to recover from yesterday

GC will smash us

We'll lose Lever and Jeffo this week to injury at a minimum.
May won't be back this week, neither will Windsor, leaving us woefully shallow depth wise.
Fritsch has been needing a spell since last year, but he won't get one because our injury list is so extensive.

Out : Lever, Jefferson, Woewodin, Howes
In : Langford, Johnson, Campbell, Adams

after round 2, perhaps treat this game as a mulligan....as bad as it was.  That said, there are a few things you cant ignore.  Effort, (or lack there of) in some cases was poor, skill was another, lack of adherance to game plan - and if our list of "outs" wasnt so long a few players in the team now would be running around at Casey. 

Woewodin was out of his depth.  Spargo seemed a mile off the pace of the game (understandable - although why rush him back), Sparrow was MIA and Sharp just got lost. That said, some possible considerations (not all), although there is no way Goody will make this many changes

- Fullerton in for Jeffo

- May in for TMac

- Adams in for Howes (needs to go back to Casey)

- Langford in for Woewodin (need to go back to Casey)

- Windsor (if fit) to come in for Spargo (like Spargo but hes not ready)

- Melk in for Fritta (go back to Csey and get some form)

- AJ in for Turner (pure balance and Turner can also get some form and fwd craft)

Edited by BScotti

With the cumulative injuries and Pickett's suspension it will be a tough game to win.

Personally I'll be happy if some of our players find form.

I think Goodwin made a mistake not blooding Jefferson and experimenting with the gameplan in the last 6 matches of 2024. Many argued that we were still a chance of playing finals but most knew the season was shot.

Liked the Casey gameplan even though they could not execute. It is the future

We have a lot of pre season champions, once the real stuff starts the pre season guns are lost in action.  We don't look tough or strong and Gold Coast will pull our pants down.

Who is going to carry this club on their shoulders, Maxy has had that role without much support.

Ins: Langford, Johnson

Outs: Woewodin, Jefferson

I’d be doing the least amount of changes possible. The week after we’re likely to get May, Windsor and Pickett back and the week after that McVee and Melksham. If Lever doesn’t get up I’d give Adam’s a run. 

Edited by Roost it far

We were the team that overthrew the “throw dogs” and conquered “free kick Bulldogs” and were cheered for it by opposition fans. Now we are back to being pitied and the laughing stock of the competition. 

Good times… 

God help us if we put in another half hearted performance when urgent response is required. 

Edited by VNightCityLegend

The time has come for Fritsch. Been carrying him for far too long. Now that the goals and score involvements have dried up his lack of impact with or without the ball is being completely exposed.

Other than that I am not as negative on our prospects this season as others seem to be. Arguably our three best ball users in Kozzie, Windsor and McVee being out is really obviously exacerbating our connection problems. When Kozzie and Judd in particular are back I feel as though our ball movement will improve quite a lot. Credit to Bowey, he had that one howler that cost us a goal but aside from that his kicking is quite reliable.

The last thing I want to comment on is the lack of one percenters. We really don't work for one another and smother, shepherd, block for our forwards like this group was doing regularly when at their best. The 2021 physicality was on both sides of the footy. Angus was the best at it and celebrating those little things that are actually extremely important but often forgotten about. We are always under pressure when disposing of the footy cause nobody is even trying to block and buy their mate some more time. Need to get this mindset back ASAP.

I'd urge everyone on here to watch the Netflix documentary "The Turnaround" which is based on a baseball team in the states that bought in a high profile, high cost player that struggled, and was copping it from fans at the ground and online and continued to struggle. One fan started a movement through social media to give him a round of applause and positive feedback every time he came out to bat, despite the fact he wasn't playing well - and he responded by fairly quickly rising from his slump to lead the league in hitting home runs and took them to the finals. It's a good watch, with a good message.

We should be mindful we've had a one-off bad game at a venue we don't play at often/well -> I'd like to think any players who feel they're struggling, reading social media comments (as I'm sure they do) don't get too down on themselves and perpetuate their form lines - perhaps how we frame our thoughts might have a part to play (not saying you have to be a happy clapper).

Looking forward to the team lifting this weekend and having an afternoon in the sun.