Rainy Sunday night in Stoke as I get on the tram for the first time this season. See you there 

May was last seen at Entrecôte with Milkshake.

Seemed fine when he went in…

On 16/03/2025 at 02:24, Demonland said:

Unconfirmed rumour from a mate that Steven May is out. No other info. Take with a grain of salt at the moment. 

Well done 

On 16/03/2025 at 03:44, dees189227 said:

I really hope people are coming in or they're at the bars because this is a dull crowd

The crowd will be tiny. ~15K 

On 16/03/2025 at 03:44, dees189227 said:

I really hope people are coming in or they're at the bars because this is a dull crowd

Imagine if we don’t clear 16K which is the number we got massively criticised for in last year’s game V GWS.

On 16/03/2025 at 03:47, DubDee said:

The crowd will be tiny. ~15K 

Quite a few on the train just now 🤞

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/1732890/late-change-may-withdrawn?fbclid=PAZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAaZljoitk2F05ozCRnXbunQkEmvPa1xY11sCOvlYp1lKsyDphE_QDWQzbX4_aem_sLMhIK1Fp_fqL1w0KraCgA

“May sustained a knock to the throat during training at Casey Fields on Friday, and scans have since confirmed a fractured larynx.

General Manager of AFL Football Performance Alan Richardson said the club would take a cautious approach with May’s recovery.

“At this stage, our medical team does not believe the injury is as significant as what Max Gawn sustained earlier in the year,” Richardson said.

“We will assess Steven further next week, which will give us a clearer picture of the recovery timeline.”

Edited by titan_uranus

On 16/03/2025 at 03:49, TheWiz said:

Quite a few on the train just now 🤞

didnt look shocking at the ground 35 mins out, as long as it picks up

We all know how hard it is to win a game at the Cats' home ground, GMHBA Stadium. Before yesterday, Freo had beaten the Cats there twice—by3 points in 2022 and by7 in 2023. Clearly, the Cats didn’t want to lose to Freo at home again. I believe they made special preparations for the game, aiming to put much more pressure on Freo. And it worked.

One key indicator was the number of tackles they made—58 by halftime and 89 by the end. Freo wasn’t ready for that level of pressure.

Unfortunately, we lost Gus and Nibbla, and I really missed them. Gus was one of our major tacklers (along with Viney), and Nibbla was strong in that area too. A good tackle can directly or indirectly cause a turnover; some players excel at it, while others don’t. I hope we can develop a couple of new players into top tacklers in the near future.

Go Dees, Go newbies!

When I saw the AFL headline - “star out for Demons” or words to that effect, I panicked. I was oddly relieved it was May - while it’s obviously not great, the difference between him and the next best available (TMac) is much narrower than the gap between next best if it had been Trac/Clarry/Max.

I’m going in to the match with an open mind and no expectations. Over a quarter of the team playing together for the first time is unprecedented I reckon. A complete annihilation is a possibility, but we have a strong enough nucleus, and the imports have enough maturity, that a strong performance is also possible. Looking forward to it!

On 15/03/2025 at 22:18, Little Goffy said:

Just hitting 28 degrees at 9am up in Sydney, and it is another of those days where the sun pierces your bones.

The in-laws arrive in about 30 minutes.

Oh, please, holy Demon powers, transport me to a chilly, sodden and windy MCG for an afternoon.

It's the humidity here in Wollongong that makes things tough.

Spent a few days in Brisbane once in the middle of January and experienced real humidity.

But Nsw seems to be emulating Brisbane lately.

Not to worry. It will be winter and grey in Melbourne soon so there's that 😀.

But I will say that nothing beats a Melbourne Autumn.

Especially one sitting on the member's wing in the sunshine watching a Dees player go streaming past on his way to score another major.

Who doesn't love footy. It's a game beyond compare.

On 16/03/2025 at 03:54, Nasher said:

When I saw the AFL headline - “star out for Demons” or words to that effect, I panicked. I was oddly relieved it was May - while it’s obviously not great, the difference between him and the next best available (TMac) is much narrower than the gap between next best if it had been Trac/Clarry/Max.

Also slightly less impactful given that Jessie isn't playing as well.

On 16/03/2025 at 03:58, leave it to deever said:

It's the humidity here in Wollongong that makes things tough.

Spent a few days in Brisbane once in the middle of January and experienced real humidity.

Trump that Darwin in the ‘build up’ before the Monsoon season. 

On 16/03/2025 at 04:03, Tarax Club said:

New Orleans in July….

On 16/03/2025 at 04:03, Tarax Club said:

Yea thanks Top cat.

I spent seven months in Arnem land on the edge of monsoons.

But at only 10 one doesn't notice the weather. Too busy collecting wildlife and flushing the frogs back down the toilet where they came from

On 16/03/2025 at 03:39, chook fowler said:

Irksome seeing Nibbler running around for the Cruds - going to be sorely missed 

It breaks my heart 💔

Edited by jane02
Edit