Fantastic news.

Kozzie is a star for our club both on and off the field and worth every penny.

While it's currently the biggest AFL deal, I think in the next two years or so we're going to see even larger contracts and people will quickly forget, or stop caring about, the renumeration terms for kozzie.

It wasn't long ago it was being touted that H. Reid may receive 10yr $20m offers. TDK and NWM allegedly in the $1.4-$1.5 range per year. It's a new landscape with the increasing TPP and as an AFL.com article mentioned in will also be the new normal for clubs to have at least 3 players on $1mil plus each year. More than happy for Kozzie to be one of ours.

Edited by Random Task

59 minutes ago, Colm said:

Well at this stage the concussion terms haven’t changed. We are still paying for Gus so we know all too well that it can and does happen. Petty hasn’t been as good since he did his foot, Spargo was out for a year and probably hasn’t returned to previous form. ACL injuries and so on.

Also I can’t remember if it was @Dannyz or @goodwindees who said earlier in this thread that was a growing number of people within the club that were becoming tired of having to bend over backwards for Kossie. A bigger contract on more money may increase tension should he continue to flirt with other clubs in the future. We’ve seen with Clarry that a bigger contract can be a burden when things aren’t going as well.

I’m over the moon we have signed him and if the decision was down to me I would 100% do it, but a 9 year contract on big money is not without risk.

…

We are just not used to having star players are we?

6 hours ago, DubDee said:

Hey Jonny Ralph

Unfathomable means incapable of being understood.

Just because you don't understand something doesn't make it a mistake.

The massive risk was losing him, he is the one player we cannot replace in the middle or up front.

Journos were banking on 12 months of Kozzi stories beating up in the Demons and then adding Clarry and Trac wanting to leave. But we got our [censored] together and they are having a sook

To be fair, it seems that Ralphie can’t fathom a hell of a lot. He’s a bit like that little guy in the Princess Bride.

7 hours ago, DubDee said:

This is how the Sun reported the Grundy 10 year disaster deal btw.

Grundy makes monster Pies deal official

He was set to the hottest free agent in the game. But Collingwood isn’t taking any chances with Brodie Grundy, with the superstar ruckman confirming he is staying at the club.

The only thing that surprises me is they say it with a straight face

PS we never should've helped Collingwood out of that terrible contract. I remember seeing the back of the paper when he signed and laughing my [censored] off.

7 hours ago, DemonJack 14 said:

Absolutely fantastic Kozzy has signed long term ! So Important for the club

Listened to below link from AFL media this morning. Can’t believe there take ! More interested in talking about how this is going to make it hard for Kozzy to get of Melbourne now with this deal. Than actually comending Melbourne for providing him the support and security that he is happy to call Melbourne the club and city home for the rest of his career .

afl.com.au
No image preview

LISTEN: SF loss a Giant motivator, what Kozzy's deal coul...

Join Michael Whiting and Nathan Schmook for AFL Daily

Absolute gronks

6 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Freo supporters over at Bigfooty are like a dog at a bone re: Kozzie:

"All good, we'll just trade for him in 2 years and Melbourne can pay half his salary....haha.....lol "

Let it go guys. Go now put your eggs in the Chad Warner basket.

Yeah. Good old Fred. He’s a destination club for sure.

Besides Peter Bell, has any player actually returned – and stayed there?

Chris Tarrant?

Trent Croad?

Josh Carr?

Rory Lobb?

Lachie Neale?

They are on fire! The only reason Jacko isn’t here, is that there isn’t any mid-season trading at the moment.

I tend to think that players from other clubs will see MFC players happy to commit long-term to the club and read into that the positive environment here.

6 hours ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Ralph would make the parish priest look happy.

Not sure what you’re saying here?? How?

5 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

What is it that worries people, is it the length or the price?

If it's the price, well that will become a normal contract for A graders soon enough, if it's not already.

If it's the length, ask yourself this, do you think Kosi would be getting delisted in the next 9 years? Out of a list of 46 players, would he ever be so poor that he would be considered a 'list clogger'?

He's good enough to play midfield, but later in life could easily transfer his skills to half back, or even just remain as a deep forward pocket.

Charlie Cameron won a flag at 29, Elliot is 32 and in arguably career best form. Burgoyne was a meaningful player until he was 38.

Pickett has knock on wood been very physically resilient thus far in his career. Even if his speed drops off with age, his physical strength and his ball use won't. His skills will still serve him well into his early 30s.

Life is full of risks, but if you take no risks you get no rewards.

The reality is that players of his quality come around rarely, and when they do come around, they rarely want to go play for smaller clubs. If you happen to get lucky and draft a star, then you need to move heaven and earth to keep them. Teams win games, but stars win flags.

Jaded I am nervous about giving my answer but will give it a try. First off I am very happy Kosi has extended his contract. But the length of the contract is crazy in my eyes and it joins a list of other players that have been given too long a contract in my opinion.

Right now we are paying a player who is retired due to concussion we have another player who is probably only a couple of head knocks from joining them. We have our two highest paid players performing well below what the value of their contracts are. Yes there are reasons for this but that’s the risk. And if all these players love the club as much as we are told would they not sign for a year or two less in Pickett’s case. I mean a five year extension on the two years that Pickett had remaining is still a bloody long contract. I hope Kosi continues to improve never has any issues and it’s a win win for player and club.

I will now brace myself for the incoming.

26 minutes ago, ANG13 said:

Jaded I am nervous about giving my answer but will give it a try. First off I am very happy Kosi has extended his contract. But the length of the contract is crazy in my eyes and it joins a list of other players that have been given too long a contract in my opinion.

Right now we are paying a player who is retired due to concussion we have another player who is probably only a couple of head knocks from joining them. We have our two highest paid players performing well below what the value of their contracts are. Yes there are reasons for this but that’s the risk. And if all these players love the club as much as we are told would they not sign for a year or two less in Pickett’s case. I mean a five year extension on the two years that Pickett had remaining is still a bloody long contract. I hope Kosi continues to improve never has any issues and it’s a win win for player and club.

I don’t want to make you feel bad.

But it’s almost an either/or…

A contract this long and expensive (now) or trade him to Freo for ND12, ND17, and ND20 this year or the next.

So I am happy to be ‘crazy’ if you’re happy to ‘sane’ with your outcome.

25 minutes ago, ANG13 said:

We don't know if Gus had a front-end or back-end contract, and that can make a difference. The same goes for Oliver, Trac, and Gawn. As I said before, I'm not big on long contracts, but it is what it is. As for the media commentators, who cares? If Kossie wasn't happy, he would not have signed the deal, no matter what was offered. If he wanted out, he would get out.

1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

Nothing is without risk. Not extending him is a risk. Giving him 2 more years and then he’s a free agent is a risk. Losing him is a massive risk.

Success takes balls. We waited for years and years to have legitimate stars at our club. We got them, we secured them, and that’s on being a good successful club. Period.

Yes but a 9 year contract exposes you to more risk. Just look at the amount of pages that have been written on here questioning the length of contract extensions we have to Trac, Clarry and Viney not to mention Gus. All their contract lengths have been brought into question at different stages for different reasons, given that it’s not unreasonable to be a little nervous at a 9 year contract even if the overwhelming feeling is of shear joy that we have Kossie signed on for life.

The filth winning their last flag not long after a salary dump in the trades of Grundy and Treloar shows that even if these long contracts don’t work out there can still be a path to success. But it leaves very little wriggle room for bad luck or other decisions that don’t work out as hoped.

Success might take balls but getting more decisions right than wrong and having luck on your side certainly helps too.

From the afl.com story:

Signed until 2032
Noah Balta (Rich)
Luke Davies-Uniacke (NM)
Connor Idun (GWS)
Max King (StK)
Aaron Naughton (WB)
Connor Rozee (PA)
Sam Taylor (GWS)

Signed until 2033
Hayden Young (Frem)

Signed until 2034
Kysaiah Pickett (Melb)

I’d take Kozz over just about all them, maybe Rozee but he’s a downhill skier for mine.. apparently Mac Andrew can extend out to 2034 if he plays enough games but I’d have Kozz over him too.

7 minutes ago, Fromgotowoewodin said:

From the afl.com story:

Signed until 2032
Noah Balta (Rich)
Luke Davies-Uniacke (NM)
Connor Idun (GWS)
Max King (StK)
Aaron Naughton (WB)
Connor Rozee (PA)
Sam Taylor (GWS)

Signed until 2033
Hayden Young (Frem)

Signed until 2034
Kysaiah Pickett (Melb)

I’d take Kozz over just about all them, maybe Rozee but he’s a downhill skier for mine.. apparently Mac Andrew can extend out to 2034 if he plays enough games but I’d have Kozz over him too.

Um I reckon we paid overs, but it is what it is and happy that he stays a Demon!

5 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Can you just run me through the players where a long term contract has backfired on the club, leaving out concussion as I think those terms will change again.

The Brisbane Bears poached Alastair Lynch from Fitzroy on a 10 year contract in 1993, way, way before long contracts were cool. I bet they were definitely spewing when in year 10 of 10, after 3 flags in a row and an illustrious career and with retirement imminent, he got rubbed out for 10 weeks for swinging hay makers at fresh air, supposedly aiming at Darryl Wakelin’s head.

45 minutes ago, Fromgotowoewodin said:

From the afl.com story:

Signed until 2032
Noah Balta (Rich)

‘No Night Games’ Balta is signed until 2032!!!??

4 hours ago, Colm said:

Well at this stage the concussion terms haven’t changed. We are still paying for Gus so we know all too well that it can and does happen. Petty hasn’t been as good since he did his foot, Spargo was out for a year and probably hasn’t returned to previous form. ACL injuries and so on.

Also I can’t remember if it was @Dannyz or @goodwindees who said earlier in this thread that was a growing number of people within the club that were becoming tired of having to bend over backwards for Kossie. A bigger contract on more money may increase tension should he continue to flirt with other clubs in the future. We’ve seen with Clarry that a bigger contract can be a burden when things aren’t going as well.

I’m over the moon we have signed him and if the decision was down to me I would 100% do it, but a 9 year contract on big money is not without risk.

I don't remember anyone saying that...in I don't know what context.

2 hours ago, DiscoStu17 said:

I think it means Parish priests never look happy. I have not known many but I tend to agree. Or I could be totally wrong!

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Um I reckon we paid overs, but it is what it is and happy that he stays a Demon!

I actually think the top 50% are paid too much pf.

2 hours ago, DiscoStu17 said:

Pretentious chronic smiling Cheshire Cat.

Anybody who thinks we paid overs needs to get a life. Kozzie is the only player in the last 30 years that is in Alan Jackovich or Geoff Farmer teritortory. He is only 24 and got his best footy ahead of him.

Players don't come around often like that. You can draft an A grade midfielder or exceptional forward but when you have someone who has an x factor that can't be replicated and other teams genuinely fear, you move heaven and earth to keep them.

Well done MFC this is a pivotal moment for the club and will be on the right side of history.

9 years is a long time and yes it is a risk, But it is a risk The Club had to take. What the Club must do now is make sure Kozz stays focused on his Job.

We have to aim higher and not get complacent,the Forward Line has to get more efficient around Kozzie

I want to see Kozz staring in September, that’s when he and the Club will earn the real money.

If Kozzie had left and was playing with LJ at Fremantle, that would have been a real downer, so we had to keep him.

My only concern is whether it hinders us recruiting better Forwards into the Club in future….

19 hours ago, Rocknroll said:

Who’ll be the first overpaid footy commentator to say we "paid overs"? Barrett? Kane?

Probably the same goose who would’ve lost his mind if we’d let him go to Freo.

Barret is another goose. Love the way he can turn any positive story about the Dees into a nasty little sledge

image.png

Edited by Rocknroll

So rapt with this news, the contract is fine for me, 9 years is long but he's only 23! The dollars will be fine too by 2030 it won't be that extravagant.

Locking him in for the next decade is so important, when clubs lure players from other clubs they would say "that's what you have to offer to attract players" well it's the same here, that's what you have to do to keep players. The move into the midfield this year has proved he can be one of the comps elite players not just a pinch hitter up forward.

Love ya Kozz and my kids were ecstatic that he signed too. Was worried they would find out what it felt like when Farmer left 😔

8 hours ago, Willmoy1947 said:

I don't remember anyone saying that...in I don't know what context.

I’ve just scrolled through this thread from page 30(twice). Can’t find the post that I was referring to. So I’ve either inagined it or it’s in another thread. I’m convinced I read it though as it stuck with me. However if I can’t find it then I guess I shouldn’t be claiming what other posters have or haven’t said in the past.