Posted

I think the question is WHERE IS KATE ROFFEY.  We need to hear from her.  Dees supporters are hurting.   Really need some voice to calm and restore sense of control.  There is still blue sky.  We need to hear it.  No BS though.  At the moment, it feels like we are in free fall.  

Posted

I just want her to deliver a home base. She's been on the board long enough now to have made more headway with this project. Thats her area of expertise and specialisation. If she can't deliver this then not sure what the point of her on the board is.

• Like 14
Posted

Reminds me of every boss I have had. Face is everywhere when there is credit to be taken… goes dark when any issues arise. 
Just a classic [censored]! 

• Clap 3

Posted

To sum her up, I was at the King's Birthday awards ceremony last year where she received an award. Everyone is very humble and happy to be there and dressed in black tie for the governor. She struts in, in a bright red suit like she was the best thing on the planet. I just reckon that says a lot about a person and who they actually are as a leader.

Posted

It’s hard to say. One could assume Goody only wants Football Dept people addressing these types of issues with the media. If you talk to her about footy, it becomes pretty clear her depth of knowledge isn’t great. Lots of motherhood statements. Her lack of presence in this case is understandable in my eyes.

On the other hand she tooted her own horn quite a bit at Club functions when she came onboard about her ability to successfully negotiate contracts with Gov and Enterprise. In that aspect, she has been an abject failure, setup by her own grand standing. Backed up, I will add, by lots of current board members who will probably do as they normally do and throw her to the sharks if things don’t improve on all fronts.

Posted

She seemed pretty chuffed to be standing in the race clapping the players off on Saturday night.

She was essentially appointed/elected(?) on a platform of delivering the home base - goodness knows what the status of that is currently. Caulfield racecourse seems dead in the water. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Ugottobekidding said:

So much [censored] has hit the fan this year and nobody has heard a peep out of the chairperson or board. Not much leadership going on in this club. Hopeless bunch.

Geez your game starting this particular topic on here..

*ducks for cover*

Posted

I must admit to feeling a little bit dissapointed that we've heard rumors of Clarry being traded, Trac wanting out, Viney being chased hard by north, all while we're losing games and the wheels feel like they're falling off and we have embarrassingly small crowds  and we've not really heard from Roffey, Pert or Richardson at all. I am sure they're all doing enormous work behind the scenes, but publicly i think it would have shown some strength and stability if the leaders of the club got out there a little bit more. 

Mind you after the SEN interview with Goody and Pert i can definitely see the argument that he could make things worse rather than better.

Posted

Yawn, there’s not much to be said right now, and particularly not in regards to unsubstantiated trade rumours.

I’ll judge the boards handling of the footy department based on reviews and changes at the end of the year.

The home base issue has been disappointing but we never had full control of our destiny there.

Posted

It's completely fair to question the board, who has failed to deliver us a home base, a platform on which they were elected and have been very vocal on. Progress has been made, but it seems slow.

I also understand that sometimes fans just want to hear from the 'leader' and be reassured, but frankly there is nothing Roffey could come out and say that would truly ease the angst amongst the supporter base. If she says anything, you'd have half the supporters saying she's just paying lip service, and the other half saying she should concentrate on running the club not making statements. It is a no win scenario.

I do think that Pert and Richardson could certainly do some media in relation to our on field performance and what the focus is going to be heading into 2025. Whereas I prefer the board deal with board matters such as a home base, not football matters like our game plan or list management.

Posted

I think the critics of her for not communicating with the members are way off.

We heard heaps from her after the grand final to the MCG premiership celebration through to the pre game festivities of round 1 2022.

Posted
45 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

Kate & the Board have been virtually invisible this year. Very disappointing.

Whilst admitted they haven't been vocal, which may or may not be a good thing depending on view point.
I do regularly seeing Roffey at the player gates on the field after games, so confirming she is visible. 

Posted (edited)

Could have, sorry should have been more vocal over the Maynard / Brayshaw incident. Was pathetic from the whole club.

Only one person in the whole club flew the flag over this. Thank you Jack Viney. 

Edited by Dee Viney Intervention
Posted

What other Club Presidents have you heard from lately?

John Olsen

Andrew Wellington?

Luke Sayers?

Mark Korda?

David Barham?

Kylie Watson-Wheeler?

Grant McCabe?

Andy Gowers?

I could go on... and on... and on...

• Like 15

Posted
5 minutes ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

Could have, sorry should have been more vocal over the Maynard / Brayshaw incident. Was pathetic from the whole club.

Only one person in the whole club flew the flag over this. Thank you Jack Viney. 

We had an elimination final to prepare for. What would the board being vocal about that incident achieve? Certainly wouldn’t have changed the outcome. 

Posted
1 minute ago, waynewussell said:

John Olsen

Andrew Wellington?

Luke Sayers?

Mark Korda?

David Barham?

Kylie Watson-Wheeler?

Grant McCabe?

Andy Gowers?

Do any of these clubs have at least 2 generational talents potentially on the trade table after 2 straight sets finals exits and then missing out on the finals altogether?

Posted
Just now, Redjacket said:

Do any of these clubs have at least 2 generational talents potentially on the trade table after 2 straight sets finals exits and then missing out on the finals altogether?

Potentially!

Posted

Fans who wanna see/hear from Kate: what do you expect she’d say… publicly?

If she was to publicly reassure everyone, as sure as the sun rises in the east she’d be howled down and labelled delusional, accused of trotting out the same old cliches, just as Goody is.

Did it ever occur to anyone that just because you don’t see or hear from her publicly doesn’t mean she’s sitting around twiddling her thumbs?

She’s a club president, not a coach.

Posted
18 minutes ago, waynewussell said:

John Olsen

Andrew Wellington?

Luke Sayers?

Mark Korda?

David Barham?

Kylie Watson-Wheeler?

Grant McCabe?

Andy Gowers?

If I was a shameless sycophant I’d likely say… “Geez, this guy gets it.”

But I’m not, so… great point you make, WW. I bet I’m not the only one who had to google some of those names. 

Posted (edited)
31 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

We had an elimination final to prepare for. What would the board being vocal about that incident achieve? Certainly wouldn’t have changed the outcome. 

My expectation would be that the football department focus on the elimination final and the board make a strong statement about the incident. I would also have liked a response for the “justice has been served comment from McCain. No it [censored] wasn’t.

Further to that I would have expected a response from the club the following year that had a player medically retired by the AFL 2 days after the final list lodgement date. Leaving us a player short on the list until the mid season draft. Anything from the club on that. Same as the training base ……..crickets.

And at the next game  against Collingwood we have players hugging and joking with the [censored] post game.

This whole incident from beginning to end was pathetic from all involved players, football department, board and most of all the AFL.

Edited by Dee Viney Intervention