40 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Serious question, do people actually want us to lose on Saturday so then you'd think action would be taken?

Yes

2 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

Yes

As bad as we're going, the players would have to flat out protest and not try for us to lose. And even then it might be hard to lose. We'll win by 50+.

I honestly think it would take more effort to lose than what it would take to win. If we lose then he'd probably be sacked on the spot. It is beyond comprehension that it would happen. It would demonstrate that he has both lost the players and quite literally doesn't know how to coach.

Edited by praha

‘You can’t get consumed’: Goodwin feels the blowtorch after shattering loss

Scott Spits

By Scott Spits

July 31, 2025 — 12.22pm

Simon Goodwin says he feels “incredibly supported” by Melbourne’s board as the club grapples with the fallout from losing after giving up a 46-point lead at three-quarter-time against St Kilda last Sunday.

The Demons coach presented to the board barely 24 hours after the dramatic scenes at Marvel Stadium in which the Saints notched a miraculous win after Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera’s heroics, kicking the match-winning goal after the siren.

Demons coach Simon Goodwin presented to the club board this week after the gut-wrenching loss to St Kilda.CREDIT: AFL PHOTOS

But a defeat to last-placed West Coast at Marvel Stadium on Saturday would be catastrophic for Melbourne, who are 13th with just six wins this season.

“I feel incredibly supported by the board. I have for nine years. We’ve been able to go through these challenges before with clarity and strength and stability to create success,” Goodwin said on Thursday.

“In 2019 we finished second last, and two years later, we won the flag. So you can’t get consumed [by outside] noise. All you can do is be really clear about your strategy, clear about your process, understand the challenge, be clear about it, and go about the process to build the next great team.”

Goodwin said Monday’s board meeting was previously planned. It included presentations from the coach and former All Blacks performance head Darren Shand, the consultant who ran the club’s football review at the end of last year.

Legend says Demons coach could be axed after loss

AFL great Matthew Lloyd says Demons coach Simon Goodwin could be sacked if Melbourne loses to West Coast in round 21.

Goodwin reiterated that the list was in transition after the drought-breaking 2021 flag. He has coached the Demons since 2017 and is contracted until the end of next season. This masthead reported that a payout of nearly $1 million for the final year of his contract would not stop Melbourne from parting ways with the premiership coach.

“We’re a different team to what we were. We’re a new team,” said Goodwin.

AFL 2025

AFL investigation finds car in social media post was not Goodwin’s

“We reviewed the whole last quarter, clearly it was unacceptable. If you look around, if you looked into the rooms after the game [there was] devastation from the players, and I can only imagine from our supporters and everyone involved.

“We knew it was unacceptable.

“Every moment matters, every contest matters, irrespective of the scoreboard. And that’s the type of approach that we need to develop. Otherwise, we keep having inconsistencies.

“Sometimes when you have moments like you had on a weekend in [the] last quarter, it exposes things quicker, so you can do something about it quicker.

“This could be a moment that we look back [that] has been incredibly helpful for where we want to go.”

Melbourne supporters have expressed extreme frustration with the loss to St Kilda. Goodwin was the target of a social media post on Sunday night that sparked a report by the club to the league’s integrity unit.

An anonymous account posted a picture of a car in a car park, with the words: “I’m currently waiting outside Simon Goodwin’s car: Don’t fret Melbourne fans you won’t need to worry any further.”

Security officials at Melbourne Stadium were alerted. The car in the photo was not Goodwin’s, and the car park was not at Marvel Stadium.

Goodwin said the AFL and police had dealt with it, and he wanted to move on from it.

“Your family hears about it, that’s for sure,” he said.

“That’s in the hands of the AFL and the police. Clearly, we don’t want to see that in our game, but I don’t want to make that the focus of today. I want to make the focus of today about our footy club and about what we need to do.”

Amid significant confusion about what precisely teams can do after a 6-6-6 breach when a free kick is paid, Goodwin said the Demons had sought AFL clarification.

“On a reset clearly they’ve got to reset the field. That was the first thing,” Goodwin said.

“The ruckman has to stand mark, but the players inside [the centre square] can pretty much go wherever they need to.

“There’s a bit of technicality in that. I think every club has probably taken note of it.”

46 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Serious question, do people actually want us to lose on Saturday so then you'd think action would be taken?

The answer is yes if the board had leaked to the media that his career was riding on this result. There would absolutely nothing to gain by beating West Coast by 14 points with probably 20 more scoring shots. And let’s face it, beating West Coast is basically an automatic 4 points for every club. Even Richmond belted them the other week

But given none of us knows what’s going on, I’m totally ambivalent about this result. A win basically achieves nothing aside from the Turner’s, Lindsay’s, Windsor’s and Langford’s singing the song for a rare time.

We will beat West coast because they are a shockingly bad football team

beating them should not in any way gloss over where we are at.

Watch the 'leaders' go half arsed on Sat

Bombing it long

Tackles that don't stick

No pressure on the opposition ball carrier

Not blocking or protecting space

Wonder what the young 'uns are thinking?

Edited by jumbo returns
And, we're a 1.08?? Lolz

51 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I don't mind his positivity. Being negative helps nobody.

But I don't like that he says we are a different core, because fundamentally we are not. We refuse to play a different midfield mix from 2021. The only difference is now Kosi plays there, and that's only because he is so good he's forced our hand.

We lost on Sunday with a very similar set up, and we all know that if Lever and May were available, they would have played and we would be largely unchanged in key roles since 2021.

In the first three quarters we played Windsor in the midfield and did well, only to sub him out and lose the last quarter with Gawn, Viney, Trac and Clarry playing midfield. Even when the game was there to lose, Kosi was rotting on the bench FFS!

Until Goody lets go of the nostalgia of the team that won him a flag, we won't move forward.

I don't think there is any need to try to give the 4th quarter a positive spin. Spare us that Simon!

14 minutes ago, YearOfTheDees said:

‘You can’t get consumed’: Goodwin feels the blowtorch after shattering loss

Scott Spits

By Scott Spits

July 31, 2025 — 12.22pm

Simon Goodwin says he feels “incredibly supported” by Melbourne’s board as the club grapples with the fallout from losing after giving up a 46-point lead at three-quarter-time against St Kilda last Sunday.

The Demons coach presented to the board barely 24 hours after the dramatic scenes at Marvel Stadium in which the Saints notched a miraculous win after Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera’s heroics, kicking the match-winning goal after the siren.

Demons coach Simon Goodwin presented to the club board this week after the gut-wrenching loss to St Kilda.CREDIT: AFL PHOTOS

But a defeat to last-placed West Coast at Marvel Stadium on Saturday would be catastrophic for Melbourne, who are 13th with just six wins this season.

“I feel incredibly supported by the board. I have for nine years. We’ve been able to go through these challenges before with clarity and strength and stability to create success,” Goodwin said on Thursday.

“In 2019 we finished second last, and two years later, we won the flag. So you can’t get consumed [by outside] noise. All you can do is be really clear about your strategy, clear about your process, understand the challenge, be clear about it, and go about the process to build the next great team.”

Goodwin said Monday’s board meeting was previously planned. It included presentations from the coach and former All Blacks performance head Darren Shand, the consultant who ran the club’s football review at the end of last year.

Legend says Demons coach could be axed after loss

AFL great Matthew Lloyd says Demons coach Simon Goodwin could be sacked if Melbourne loses to West Coast in round 21.

Goodwin reiterated that the list was in transition after the drought-breaking 2021 flag. He has coached the Demons since 2017 and is contracted until the end of next season. This masthead reported that a payout of nearly $1 million for the final year of his contract would not stop Melbourne from parting ways with the premiership coach.

“We’re a different team to what we were. We’re a new team,” said Goodwin.

AFL 2025

AFL investigation finds car in social media post was not Goodwin’s

“We reviewed the whole last quarter, clearly it was unacceptable. If you look around, if you looked into the rooms after the game [there was] devastation from the players, and I can only imagine from our supporters and everyone involved.

“We knew it was unacceptable.

“Every moment matters, every contest matters, irrespective of the scoreboard. And that’s the type of approach that we need to develop. Otherwise, we keep having inconsistencies.

“Sometimes when you have moments like you had on a weekend in [the] last quarter, it exposes things quicker, so you can do something about it quicker.

“This could be a moment that we look back [that] has been incredibly helpful for where we want to go.”

Melbourne supporters have expressed extreme frustration with the loss to St Kilda. Goodwin was the target of a social media post on Sunday night that sparked a report by the club to the league’s integrity unit.

An anonymous account posted a picture of a car in a car park, with the words: “I’m currently waiting outside Simon Goodwin’s car: Don’t fret Melbourne fans you won’t need to worry any further.”

Security officials at Melbourne Stadium were alerted. The car in the photo was not Goodwin’s, and the car park was not at Marvel Stadium.

Goodwin said the AFL and police had dealt with it, and he wanted to move on from it.

“Your family hears about it, that’s for sure,” he said.

“That’s in the hands of the AFL and the police. Clearly, we don’t want to see that in our game, but I don’t want to make that the focus of today. I want to make the focus of today about our footy club and about what we need to do.”

Amid significant confusion about what precisely teams can do after a 6-6-6 breach when a free kick is paid, Goodwin said the Demons had sought AFL clarification.

“On a reset clearly they’ve got to reset the field. That was the first thing,” Goodwin said.

“The ruckman has to stand mark, but the players inside [the centre square] can pretty much go wherever they need to.

“There’s a bit of technicality in that. I think every club has probably taken note of it.”

Did he really use the 2019 season as a reference point? Simon you are really lost mate.

1 hour ago, dees189227 said:

I never want to lose, but unfortunately for Goodwin and the players, if they win nothing changes in the eyes of supporters and the general AFL.

If we lose...

3 hours ago, Superunknown said:

Mmmmm I’m not sure demonland operates on reputation like reddit

My reputation is probably in the dunny but I can tell you I don’t care at all. I guess some do though

Wait, we can downvote people?!

20 hours ago, Cassiew said:

You made an account to “tell me off.” Well done. Not going to waste my time with a sock puppet account.

Actually that’s kinda sad. Trolling.

You surely can't be this thin-skinned right?. He made no personal attacks towards you at all. He was about as balanced as they come.

Edited by Hopeful Demon

Saw this in an article on AFL.com and had to laugh. Unbelievable.

"They trust each other, they trust the process, but clearly on the weekend they got it wrong,” Goodwin said of his players.

31 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

Watch the 'leaders' go half arsed on Sat

Bombing it long

Tackles that don't stick

No pressure on the opposition ball carrier

Not blocking or protecting space

Wonder what the young 'uns are thinking?

I don't know if they'll go half arsed as such but I'm sure many will get this... When your heart aligns with your mind and you hit the go button... and that carrot is oh so near you WILL try that extra bit because just maybe you might get it.

But... if you're at a lower ebb, any elements of doubt or disillusionment , then you will not be at that 100% no matter how much you think you are and you will second think those extra efforts. Even if you want to often that micro hesitation is sufficient for you to fail.

This is a game of micro-moments. Thousands of them. If we aren't totally switched on and 'in the moment' and dedicated to the contest we won't have to try to lose. We will have before the 1st bounce.

We've seen the club drop the ball all too often.

Yeah...its only the Weagles....and that's the first mistake !!! I would let dare to be so cocky atm that this is some slam dunk. We do Soooooo well with those !!!.

But its ok.. Simon has it in hand. There were decent learnings from Sunday, even from the last qtr; something to add to the pile.

Edited by beelzebub

42 minutes ago, BDA said:

We will beat West coast because they are a shockingly bad football team

beating them should not in any way gloss over where we are at.

The only real gain we can make from winning this weekend, is doing it with a new mix of players / meaningful positional changes.

As you say West Coast are terrible, they are as close to a 'free hit' as you will ever get in AFL, and they have no incentive to win having asked for draft assistance.

If we don't take this golden opportunity to try something new, and actually give some younger players opportunities, then I am afraid that all this talk about change and progress is a load of BS.

And no I am not suggesting we drop all the senior players, but for the love of god can we see one of Windsor, Langford, Lindsay and Rivers at every single stoppage or centre clearance? Can we give Viney a full game as a defensive small forward? Can we put Petty back to play his natural role and give Jefferson more game time? Can Laurie finally crack a game?

At this point in time we keep hearing that the club is going to make significant changes at the end of the season, and of course that means to the playing list (as well as the FD), but how can meaningful list decisions, hard decision, be made with so many players on our list having so little exposed form in different roles or even at AFL level?

I will take no joy winning by 10 goals with the same old players playing the same old way.

Just now, John Crow Batty said:

Goodwin’s biggest failing IMO is not putting the fab

2 hours ago, frankie_d said:

If you want your mind blown:

at 1:00 minute in - "there was (sic) things in the last four minutes that we really liked..."

I am beyond speechless.

Actually the pressure from our boys was very good in the last few minutes if we discount the long conga line of errors from usual suspects like Oliver, Petty et al before that last minute nightmare.

28 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Saw this in an article on AFL.com and had to laugh. Unbelievable.

"They trust each other, they trust the process, but clearly on the weekend they got it wrong,” Goodwin said of his players.

Would have preferred the 'we' pronoun there.

He should watch Simpson on AFL 360 last night and see how coaching contributed to the last minutes confusion/fiasco.

21 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Very good question 'Mono'.

Answer: If he has met his KPI's and acted to fix any under performance he stays. If not, he goes.

To determine that The Board had to monitor performance vs KPI's and give guidance and feedback during the year.

imv recommendations by Shand had to be included in Goodwin's KPI's.

Given the article earlier says The Board will: examine whether changes recommended then were properly implemented this year", suggests they weren't included as KPI's or the Board hasn't monitored performance. Otherwise they would already know. It is inexplicable to me that the Board doesn't know how he has performed vs KPi's nor given periodic feedback.

So the right reasons are a considered and objective assessment of his performance. Without that, I fear a knee-[censored] decision to quell the noise and dare I say protect their own backsides.

I've mentioned this to you before @Lucifers Hero. You'd do a much better job, and for the right reasons, than most Board members.

Vote 1 @Lucifers Hero .

2 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I've mentioned this to you before @Lucifers Hero. You'd do a much better job, and for the right reasons, than most Board members.

Vote 1 @Lucifers Hero .

Thank you.

The answer is the same: The politics is not my go.

8 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

"There were things that we really liked in the last 4 minutes of the game" - Simon Goodwin.

The More You Know Nbc GIF by For(bes) The Culture

I'm thinking our team must be close to signing up as consultants for NASA. There have certainly been enough learnings for them to be smart enough by now.

Either that or they were all really really really stupid before all these learnings.

Either way Mr Goodwin deserves an extended pat on the back for bringing so much intelligence to the team.

If only he taught them how to play [censored] football

3 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Just imagine that presser but with ...

Screenshot_20250731_110944_Google.jpg

Sounds like you need a new head coach Brian!