Posted
35 minutes ago, Doug Reemer said:

16k at a Saturday Prime Time Home game.

I was there. If you weren’t whats your excuse? Want other clubs to respect us and stop saying we don’t turn up? Get off your [censored] and stick fat!

Can't speak for others, but I was just avoiding you.

• Haha 17

Posted

I'm in Sintra, in Portugal, and it's a bit cloudy here today. If I head to the airport now I might make our next game. 

Posted

I've never seen the mcc that empty. 

Also I noticed people who attend every game and sit in the same seats wernt there either.

It was freezing cold. But at least the rain held off

Posted
41 minutes ago, Doug Reemer said:

I was there. If you weren’t whats your excuse? Want other clubs to respect us and stop saying we don’t turn up? Get off your [censored] and stick fat!

As a member of 37 years & an [censored] who attends every week, gotta say I hate this talk

Posted
20 minutes ago, Jibroni said:

I live 800kms from the MCG but I understand why some choose not to go. But under 20k was a shock to see.

It rained alllll day, stopped at about 5:30. And it was freezing.  I’m using my attendance as part of my insanity defence. 

• Haha 5

Posted
4 minutes ago, deegirl said:

It rained alllll day, stopped at about 5:30. And it was freezing.  I’m using my attendance as part of my insanity defence. 

Character building, I'd call it!

Posted

i was there - it was so cold, and my friend who i go with each week and were discussing that it seems crazy that mfc vs gw$ isn't played during the day, as opposed to prime time

i don't think crowd noise has anything to do with our success

in fact, judging by the end of the home and away season in 2021, perhaps we thrive in silence

Posted
2 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Character building, I'd call it!

I thought a 'character building' was a heritage listed property with no door on the toilet and a colony of possums living in the badly bricked-up chimney cavity.

Posted

I went tonight, and I rarely go. Sat there like a loser by myself, and sadly left early like one too. I went in part knowing that the crowd would be awful, and I had to do something, also knowing that the last hopes of the season were on the line. We can all feel the low morale, it's no fun when your team is on the way down and serves up rubbish at random.

Posted

The team is fighting for a finals spot, and their so-called supporters can't be bothered getting along to cheer them on. 

If you only buy a membership to get access to finals tickets, or attend only when you know you're going to see a win, you're not a true supporter. 

Posted

Look there are plenty of people with valid reasons for not attending. And there are equally as many people who just sook it up and don’t turn up when it all gets a little too hard. 
It took me 1.5 hours to get to the game because of the lack of trains again. I can’t feel my toes. But I made it my mission to get to the game because it’s important to support your team even when it’s not the most comfortable experience. 

We have an overall impressive supporter base who have stuck it out thru absolute hell. But there is no doubt that when the going gets tough a lot of our supporters don’t get off the couch. 
It is embarrassing and hard to defend when you get this crowd on a Saturday night for a must win game. 

Posted

First game I've missed all season due to a close mates 40th.

I'll always support the dees through thick and thin, but there's more to life than footy.

Posted (edited)

I can be negative but this really irks me. 

Coll would have got no more than 35k to that and have double our membership base - 17k is disappointing but tbh about par. 

Richmond for all their might got 20k a few weeks ago against this same opponent, in the middle of the day when kids can actually attend. 

It was absolutely icy, forecast hail, rained all day, and more importantly the team were beyond disgracefully bruise free last week. 

Dees supporters are smart and can see the demise. 

This is a positive in all senses except commercial - the reason Collingwood fans always show is because they have [censored] for brains and have nothing else in their life of such importance. It's why they're disgusting when winning. 

Edited by fr_ap
Posted
36 minutes ago, wobbie said:

I went tonight, and I rarely go. Sat there like a loser by myself, and sadly left early like one too. I went in part knowing that the crowd would be awful, and I had to do something, also knowing that the last hopes of the season were on the line. We can all feel the low morale, it's no fun when your team is on the way down and serves up rubbish at random.

You are always welcome in the cheer squad bay, particularly at a match with so few attendees 🤗

Also there’s no shame in being at the footy by yourself.

Posted

We came down from Brisbane for this game. Still trying to defrost.

Seriously reconsidering our ability to make sane life decisions!!!

How do you you people do this every other week?

Posted

We drove in tonight but no parking at G not even for permits, long walk grand kids were stoic, six of us made it in but to be honest it was freezing cold and we had a brilliant first quarter but kicked ourselves out of it when we couldn’t score at more than 50% accuracy rate, Giants scored at 65% and they beat us out of the middle. By the time we got back to the car we were icier than when we got there but very poor crowd.😪

Posted
53 minutes ago, wobbie said:

I took myself as well, no shame in it! Literally everyone I know piked.

I think the crowd has very little if any impact on the result but I just hate the way it looks on prime time TV viewing and to the other King dic clubs who love to sink it in. It's a bad look on a Sat night and I can't imagine why we'd be demanding these time slots if we don't at least get 20-25k to a game like this. 

Posted
1 hour ago, BoBo said:

Severe mental illness and not earning enough money will do it. 

Happy you’re able to go but some of us struggle every day just to survive. 

Much love mate, hang in there.

Posted

We have fickle fans and some of the comments here are proving it.

It was a disgraceful turnout regardless of how cold it was and who the opposition was.

Fixturing it as a sat night game does not help but there should have been 20K minimum tonight.

Posted

I arrived in Melbourne on Thursday night and made it to the G tonight (wearing a second pair of pants under my red and blue match day pants).  Shivered alongside the rest of the Demon Army and headed home after helping pack up to watch our first Olympics Gold!

Posted
2 hours ago, Doug Reemer said:

I trust you attend all interstate matches. If not… what’s your excuse?

Or do you just ride your high horse to matches at the ‘G.

How about Marvel and Mordor… do they fall in the guilt-free zone?

Posted
1 minute ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I trust you attend all interstate matches. If not… what’s your excuse?

Or do you just ride your high horse to matches at the ‘G.

How about Marvel and Mordor… do they fall in the guilt-free zone?

Seriously WCW this is such a poor comment.

I attend all interstate games but for alice springs because it is too expensive and never miss a marvel game. But i would never ask that of most supporters.

What I do expect is that our fanbase shows up for a season defining home game at the G.

Don't defend our club for the sake of defending the club. We deserve ridicule for how poor the attendance was tonight.

Whtat is the excuse of the 50k so called members who didnt show up?