Oliver Trade Rumours

Oxdee

We would need Geelong's 1st and 2nd round pick plus their next year's   1st round pick. We could bundle up all these picks for an early 1 st round pick. However this is not going to happen because Geelong's 1st rounder is going to the Dogs for Bailey Smith. An alternate would be Oliver renegotiates his salary for less plus less time. We then can accept Geelong's @nd rounder and a future 1St plus a player. None of this is going to happen.

9 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said:

Alright then, that is it!

I am furious now! I was originally a big supporter of Gary Pert as CEO! I thought the Collingwood rumours were rubbish.

This is the final straw!

Brad Green needs to sack Gary Pert NOW!!!

I choose Clayton Oliver over Gary Pert!

Get rid of both of them. They are both shizen for our culture.

12 minutes ago, Garbo said:

One of the many things that I don’t understand about this why would we shop him round to cats who have the least trade capital, why would we not be shopping him to north or saints or hawks

Don’t think we did shop him to Cats. Cats have been lurking for some time, when Clarry had an initial meeting with Cats (which is what apparently surprised the Dees) Pert spoke to other clubs to see if there was a market.

Clearly Geelong is not our trade partner of choice.

23 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Apparently Pert acted alone & there are a lot of angry people inside the Club…

The B&F could be the highlight of 2024

There is absolutely no way pert didn’t consult the football department on this. Makes no sense as it doesn’t form part of a cohesive strategy. Unless the club comes out and says so I wouldn’t believe any other report 

1 minute ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Cats can offer us nothing except a salary dump opportunity. Maybe a future 1st and 2nd round pick. No players would appeal excepting for Holmes and he’s committed to staying at the Cats.  

Jhye Clark was drafted by Geelong to take over from Joel Selwood. Inside hard nut, two-way runner. 

I'd take either of the players drafted with their last two first round selections.

Just now, seventyfour said:

Jhye Clark was drafted by Geelong to take over from Joel Selwood. Inside hard nut, two-way runner. 

I'd take either of the players drafted with their last two first round selections.

Jhye Clark is a local Geelong boy and alongside Bruhn and Holmes would be seen as their emerging future midfielders.  Its likely to be a No.   

2 minutes ago, ChaserJ said:

Don’t think we did shop him to Cats. Cats have been lurking for some time, when Clarry had an initial meeting with Cats (which is what apparently surprised the Dees) Pert spoke to other clubs to see if there was a market.

Clearly Geelong is not our trade partner of choice.

Didn’t Pert call around GF week though? Does that mean Clarry met Geelong earlier than that?

7 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

We are the ones pushing Oliver out… not him wanting out. It seems that dees football department are willing to both take a salary hit and sub standard draft picks to get him out the door. Very depressing 

The question has to be why are they so desperate to get him out? What has he done? Maybe then.. we can except this?

Clarry’s  not a farmer, I can’t vision him driving a tractor or nutting sheep, let’s see what happens.7B6496FA-4B86-4D5D-A4A3-5CF5A1C825AC.thumb.jpeg.84fb86416dec5b23e4eb61e193ee14ee.jpeg

6 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Jhye Clark is a local Geelong boy and alongside Bruhn and Holmes would be seen as their emerging future midfielders.  Its likely to be a No.   

my mate goes for Geelong. He doesn’t know how the deal gets done but suggested Clark could be the sacrifice.  Injuries not been kind to the lad though. 

8 minutes ago, COOLX said:

We would need Geelong's 1st and 2nd round pick plus their next year's   1st round pick. We could bundle up all these picks for an early 1 st round pick. However this is not going to happen because Geelong's 1st rounder is going to the Dogs for Bailey Smith. An alternate would be Oliver renegotiates his salary for less plus less time. We then can accept Geelong's @nd rounder and a future 1St plus a player. None of this is going to happen.

Dream on, have you seen Oliver play in the last 18 months, we will probably get a second rounder the way we are going 

Reckon that Trac has requested this. Explains his decision to go overseas for the B&F, so as not to be called out for demanding “Clarry goes or I go.”…

just speculation, but the pieces are not disconnected…

1 minute ago, roy11 said:

my mate goes for Geelong. He doesn’t know how the deal gets done but suggested Clark could be the sacrifice.  Injuries not been kind to the lad though. 

Clark's a little plodder, wouldn't even quality as steak knives

28 minutes ago, DeeZee said:

These never ending dramas with our club are really bringing me down.

Love for the game is truly being tested big time.

I fear our membership numbers will take severe nose dive next season .

Just like this year. 

A move to Tassie is looking good.

AFL Bail out (again) - Tick
Training Base - Tick
Our own home ground - Tick
Government and AFL bankrolling - Tick
New Board and Footy Department - Tick
Sweet Draft picks - Tick
Media Hype and AFL Support - Tick
It's not a long flight 😁
(Just Joking, kinda)

19 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

If SWYLs intel Is right, the board must remove Pert today. 

I still favour a top to bottom review of the entire club by an independent third party at arms length from the board and CEO. Everything in the table.

Wasn't it Perts review in 2020 that lead to a flag in 2021

I’m honestly over everything.

Trade season used to be a highlight at Demonland - the last few years it’s just an opportunity for the entire football world to knife our supporters repeatedly in the chest, and stain the future season so much that there’s no enjoyment.

I haven’t even bothered to visit Demonland very much since we became ineligible for finals. 

Can’t even go to footy news sites or forums or socials without feeling like being kicked in the chest. 

Such a change from the euphoria of 2020-2023

It is possible that Pert believes his time is up. And so to help Goodie who may be playing the good cop, if nothing comes of it, he has opened up offers and facilitated Clarrys interview with Geelong. Just a possibility.

Edited by Damo

4 minutes ago, Damo said:

It is possible that Pert believes his time is up. And so to help Goodie who may be playing the good cop, if nothing comes of it, he has opened up offers and facilitated Clarrys interview with Geelong. Just a possibility.

I have a feeling you don't know Pert very well.

3 minutes ago, Damo said:

I think it's far more likely our club is simply poorly run than we're running some bizzaro scheme like this that yields no tangible benefit for anyone and only serves to make the club look shambolic.

1 minute ago, wonnabeeri said:

I have a feeling you don't know Pert very well.

Sorry, you obviously do. I should have run it by you.

1 hour ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Didn’t Pert call around GF week though? Does that mean Clarry met Geelong earlier than that?

Journos were talking about Geelong’s belief that Clarry could be levered out during the season, so they may been some degree of contact well before now.

Sammy Edmund suggested Clarry’s behaviour on Brownlow night wasn’t viewed positively. Not a long bow to surmise that the club gave him prompt feedback (or attempted to), Clarry didn’t appreciate this and subsequently met with Cats, which in turn led to Pert calling clubs later that week.

Edited by ChaserJ

If the playing group is fed up with Clarry then why would the media be rep with him for a training camp a few weeks ago?

A lot must have happened in the last few weeks.

Watch every media outlet and Geelong supporter say "no way will they pay overs for what he's been like recently" while in the same breath say "look how good our midfield is now that we've got Oliver". If he's good, then pay up.